We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice B&B in a quite neighborhood, run by very friendly owners”
Review of Le Mas du Chanoine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Mas du Chanoine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed for three nights in this beautiful small B&B. The rooms are spacious and very nicely decorated. We had a room on the ground floor with a nice garden in front. The garden is perfectly maintained, with various kinds of fruit trees. The breakfast is superb, with freshly baked pastry, and jam prepared by the lady of the house with the fruits of the garden. Very nice swimming pool with a nice view on the valley. Very friendly owners. Perfectly located, not too far from the coast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tien_GRIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale B, Propriétaire at Le Mas du Chanoine, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

We appreciate your opinions on Mas du Chanoine and the quality of our breakfast we strive to vary every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

This most attractive B & B offered clean and comfortable accommodation. We could find no fault at all. Pascale and Yves were superb hosts going out of their way to assist us. Their garden is beautiful and a delightful place to relax at the end of a tiring day of touring the beautiful countryside in the vicinity. We have the happiest memories of our three days at this well run B & B.
John and Jill

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnacau2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale B, Propriétaire at Le Mas du Chanoine, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Jill and John,
Your kind message encourages Yves to continue to take care of our mediterranean garden. After spring flowers that you have seen, it is now roses, agapanthes, lavender that bloom. The cicadas are singing in the pine over the swimmingpool.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed with Pascale and Yves as the last stop on our month long wanderings thru England, Scotland and France, and we couldn't have chosen a more wonderful place as our finale! As mentioned in previous reviews of this inn, the attention to detail is extraordinary. Our room overlooked the pool and onward to the old St Paul de Vence on the adjoining hill. Absolutely beautiful!! The breakfasts in their lovely courtyard were delicious and always provided creative new options. The entire feeling of the place is welcoming and delightful. Do not hesitate to book with these wonderful people....!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandMGBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The time we spent in St-Paul-de-Vence and Le Mas du Chanoine was the highlight of our two-week trip to France. The walled village of St-Paul-de-Vence is a delightful place to explore and discover. And Le Mas du Chanoine is a tranquil refuge from the crowded streets of coastal communities. A wonderful combination!

Le Mas du Chanoine is a lovely B&B. The suites are spacious, clean, quiet and tastefully appointed. The grounds are similarly spacious and inviting, with lemon trees, orange trees, a pool and a small bowling alley. Our hosts, Pascale and Yves, made us feel comfortable and welcome. Prior to our arrival, they made dinner reservations for us. Upon our arrival, they greeted us, introduced us to their children and provided information and suggestions on sights to see and places to dine. And during our stay, they provided delicious, nutritious breakfasts - including local delicacies prepared by Pascale.

We have no hesitation in recommending Le Mas du Chanoine for anyone visiting the Cote d'Azur.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale B, Propriétaire at Le Mas du Chanoine, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thanks Randy and Margie,
We are satisfied that you appreciated our French specialties : French bread perfumed with flowers of the orange trees, madeleine, ...
Hoping to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This B&B is appropriately placed on a mountain, because it's as close to heaven as you can get. We stayed with another couple in late September 2013. The place is conveniently located near the walled city of St Paul.de Vence, but far enough to permit easy accessibility, tranquility, and parking. The grounds of the property, including the pool, we're meticulously maintained. The rooms were extremely clean, comfortable and well equipped with all modern conveniences. Pascale and Yves were the most gracious hosts imaginable. They were very helpful, attentive and charming. Pascale is an incredible cook and the breakfast every morning was delightful and delicious. You could not ask for nicer hosts or a better place to stay in Southern France.

Room Tip: We saw 2 of the 3 rooms, and they were uniquely different. Both had their own features and advantage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My wife and I spent 3 great days at this B&B outside of the walled town of St Paul de Vence.I was in October at the end of the usual season. The owners, Pascale and Yves were beyond helpful. They speak very good English and we were able to engage in frequent discussions not only about local sightseeing, restaurant selections but we were able to meet the family and understand their lives as well. The facilities are outstanding. The rooms are very large and impeccably clean. They have Nexpresso coffee machines and little in room snacks and the best wifi I have encountered in hotels or B&B's.Breakfast in the mornings was excellent and I get the sense that they would try to accommodate preferences quite well. I have never been to a better B&B when one considers the quality of the facilities and the warm, engaging hosts. The high ratings from previous guests are well-deserved.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CambridgeHondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Pascale and Yves home at the top of a hill with a large yard, pool and gardens is peaceful and very comfortable oasis. Pascale runs the 3 room B&B with attention to detail and an effort to make the whole experience the best - she succeeds!. The breakfast was fantastic with great coffee however you want it. The room was very nice with great beds, quilts, etc. Their house is open to you and very quickly one is comfortable wandering into the kitchen for a chat or seeking advice on the surrounding area. Both Pascale and her husband Yves were fantastic hosts and very interesting people. They even put on a cocktail hour for us and the other guests one evening which was great.
I particularly appreciated being able to come home in the afternoon, grab a cold beer from the fridge in my room, have a swim and lounge by the poolside reading.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonGoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale B, Propriétaire at Le Mas du Chanoine, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at the Mas du Chanoine. Since your visit we had several persons who made a bicycle ride to the Col de Vence and appreciated a lot. You have to come again to do it !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
657 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa St Maxime
Villa St Maxime
#5 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel les Bastides de St Paul
Hotel les Bastides de St Paul
#11 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
330 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa St Paul de Vence
Villa St Paul de Vence
#2 of 17 in St-Paul-de-Vence
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas du Chanoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas du Chanoine

Address: 831 Chemin de la Bastide Rouge, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range: £133 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Mas du Chanoine", a 17th century "Relais de Poste" facing the fortified village of Saint-Paul de Vence, will welcome you in the heart of the French Riviera.We offer three elegant and sophisticated rooms, surrounded by a landscaped garden with colors and scents of Provence. Located in the main body of the house, each suite has a separate entrance from the garden. The spacious rooms are tastefully decorated in the Provencal tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Mas du Chanoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing