We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect base for Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Vague de Saint Paul
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A perfect base for Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hotel la vague
This is rare jewel in provincial France. The price is reasonable, the beds are very comfortable the presentation of the rooms, perfect. Lovely soft towels and a large comfortable bed. A generous bathroom with a great shower. We were traveling by car and there was plenty of free parking. All the rooms look onto a garden setting. Many thanks to the young man on the front desk who helped us a great deal. From welcoming us, to searching the internet for the best place to park in the centre of Nice and giving us advice on being secure in the old town.
As we were leaving, he even helped us back out onto the road. Thank you.
Our only complaint was the restaurant. Prices are high and so were our expectations. We must have been there on a bad night. Although pleasant on the terrace our food took 45 min to arrive! Our fish was rubbery and not so tasty.
Overall a welcome respite from the bustle that is Nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    135
    42
    8
    4
See reviews for
48
256
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night and it was fabulous. Pristine, modern, extremely comfortable, cool air conditioned rooms, very friendly staff, quiet location, delicious food and everything you could need. Was a bit pricey but such a treat - probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Seren1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This 4 star hotel is more like a 5 star hotel.

The hotel is situated in the gorgeous prestigous hillside town of St paul De Vence. Although we were originally frustrated at getting lost trying to get to the hotel, this was immediately forgotten when we arrived. We were greeted by the friendlist staff memeber (if only we remembered his name!!!) who spoke perfect English and helped with our bags. He spent such a long time with us explaining the facilitlies available as well as recommending what to do in the very short time we were there. He suggested visiting the village of St paul which was the most extraordinary site imaginable. He also recommended a restaurant to dine at in the village and I would rate that meal as the best meal we had during our 1 month Euro holiday.

The rooms were beautiful and we had a view of the goreous green bushland. There is a wonderful pool with bar service, as well as a tennis court and petanque on site.

We didn't dine at the restaurant on site as were were only there for one night, but the menu looked delicious and v ery affordable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrCossey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris-Rome
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I would not hesitate to recommend the Vague St Paul to anyone looking for the perfect position to visit St Paul de Vence, the sea-side and the hinterland, but away from the touristic buzz, hence perfect to enjoy peaceful nights! The room was delightfully decorated with a spacious terrace over the beautiful gardens (gardens which are at the moment "decorated" with several pieces of art). The hotel and the restaurant staff was really professional, helpful and always with a big smile! The restaurant, next to the poolside, is superb and every mouthful was a delight. I didn't have time to sample the spa but it looked very inviting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mao75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We very much enjoyed our week stay at La Vague de St. Paul last month. The rooms were modern and clean, and the staff could not have been more kind and helpful. We just loved the restaurant, and had dinner there several nights during our stay. The price fixed dinners were beyond delicious (and we consider ourselves discriminating consumers) and a great value, as well. The location was ideal for taking day trips to Nice, Monaco, Antibes, Cannes, etc, as well as the walled city of St. Paul de Vence, where we dined when not at the hotel restaurant. We will definitely return if we ever find ourselves in the vicinity. One word of caution-the walls are thin, and voices and TV sounds can be heard if you have good ears.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrywynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We again had a perfect week at Hotel "la Vague de St. Paul". Excellent hotel, super location, clean, very nice people/attentice staff at the reception, bar, restaurant, pool bar, located close to Vence/St. Paul de Vence, Nice, Monaco, Juan les Pins, Antibes, etc. Quiet, but if you want to join the crowd, you just have to drive 10 minutes. We will certainly come again.
Only comment: Boil the egss at breakfast a bit longer for us Northern Europeans.

Room Tip: Any room is OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rob_verweij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a wonderful time in la Vague de St. Paul. Very kind people at the reception and restaurant, very clean and modern (the shower in the room was amazing!), superb spa, calm and elegant. The menu was excellent and the gin collection impressive!
We would certainly want to return there as soon as we can.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prisca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.9 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Messugues
Les Messugues
#8 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#6 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vague de Saint Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vague de Saint Paul

Property: La Vague de Saint Paul
Address: Chemin des Salettes, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Vague de Saint Paul 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Vague de Saint Paul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing