We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. We did not spend a considerable amount of time on property but the time we did spend was nice and relaxing.

PROPERTY OVERALL: The Mas de Pierre property is nicely set on a hilltop in the Saint Paul de Vence area overlooking the valley below. It is comprised of several stone buildings surrounding a garden and pool. The property is very well maintained and has a beautiful terrace where meals are served. Overall staff was excellent. A free shuttle service is offered to the nearby town of Saint Paul de Vence and, if given the choice, a ride in the open air 1950s fiat is a worthwhile experience. There is parking on site and given the narrow roads and relative lack of parking, it's not a bad idea to leave the car parked. While we didn't use the pool, it looked to be well maintained and had plenty of cabanas available for guests.

ROOM: Our room (room 100), while small, was tastefully decorated with antiques (or good replicas). The room had a private outdoor terrace and a very comfortable bed. The washroom while tight was more than adequate and was also adorned with lovely furnishings. Our package included a bottle of Champagne and a plate of pastries on arrival. Both were very nice.

RESTAURANT: we had breakfast daily and dinner one night at the hotel. Breakfast was a buffet and eggs and omelettes were available to order. The buffet was adequate with fresh breads, croissants, fruit, salmon and yogurt. The dining room setting was phenomenal. Truly relaxing. Service was very good.

Dinner was served on the same terrace and was also lovely (save the smoking that takes pace outside). Food was fresh and nicely presented. While not the best meal of the trip, it was nonetheless very good and of a standard that would be expected of a hotel of this caliber. Overall, we were very happy with the restaurant.

SPA AND GYM: My wife and I both had massages at the spa. The spa, while small, was relaxing and well maintained. The massages (which were included in our package) were excellent. The gym, however, was the one notable shortcoming of the property. It was small and not well maintained (paint chipping, very limited equipment). There was no water bottle in the gym itself and on one of two days, there were no towels. As well, on the second day of our trip, the air conditioning was not working which is very noticeable when its 34C outside.

Overall,our stay at this hotel was very nice. It is a hotel very well suited to its location. The surrounding environs are calming and serene. While we did see some children at the resort, it is much better united for couples and people trying to enjoy some relaxation and quiet. Perfect for a long weekend getaway.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WhereItsWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReponseDirection, Directeur général at Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear WhereItsWarm,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at LE MAS DE PIERRE and to write such a detailed and overall positive review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the restaurant and the room. As for the small inconveniences that you experienced concerning the gym, we will do our best to not repeat them in the future.

One more time we would like to thank you for your detailed description of our hotel. I’m sure that anyone who reads it will find all information he needs and will wish to spend their long weekend gateway right here with us.

Hope to welcome you again in our property.

Kind regards
Christian Baumgarten
direction@lemasdepierre.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

After 6 busy days in Paris, Le Mas de Pierre was the perfect next stop. Perfectly manicured grounds featuring lush, sculpted gardens, freely-roaming white doves (wow!), pools and cabanas, rooms with loads of character and beautiful terraces, and to top it off, probably one of the most amazing restaurants we've ever eaten at. The service was flawless, they will even drive you to St-Paul-de-Vence in a vintage blue Fiat. A dream.. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 974Dax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReponseDirection, Directeur général at Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear 974 Dax,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at LE MAS DE PIERRE.

It gives us a great pleasure to see that your stay at our hotel fulfilled your expectations, and that you were satisfied in all of the aspects of hotel. We are sure that the vintage blue Fiat was the last detail that made your stay like a dream, so we hope to see you soon again, in order to repeat that experience.

We would be very glad to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Christian Baumgarten
direction@lemasdepierre.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I've been in total 5 times at Le Mas de Pierre. We started off with one night, then 2, ... this year spent a whole week. A testimony that the persistent delivery of excellent service pays off.

Service is one of the best one can find on the French Riviera:
- The staff calls you by your name (and it is not because I am a regular now: new visitors get the same treatment)
- The staff is diligent, responsive and efficient. I've never heard them saying No to any of our requests. THey always find a solution to any problem and if they cannot, which is rare, at least they tell you clearly why they cannot (instead of trying to convince you that you should not have such desire, which is what I often see at other places).

You really feel that the whole staff want you to feel well and mean it. Needless to say the "basics" of good hotels are all met: the rooms are comfortable, the cleaning is very good, the restaurant is good (without being top notch).

Hoping Le Mas de Pierre will keep up or even improve on these high standards.

Room Tip: If you travel in groups of 6 or more, you should check the availability of the Villa, which is in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dedmoroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReponseDirection, Directeur général at Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Dedmoroz,

We would like to thank you very much for your wonderful comment.

This is the kind of recommendation that every hotel would be proud to have. Just the frequency of your staying at LE MAS DE PIERRE speaks for itself. We appreciate very much all the compliments that you gave us and we can tell you that we will do our best to keep up like that and even improve.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in our property, for the sixth time, hoping that soon the number will be at least 10.

Kind regards
Christian Baumgarten
direction@lemasdepierre.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay. The staff was outstanding and the property was beautiful. We chose to remain on property rather then explore the area so I can't comment on how it would be to drive up the hill late at night. The food was outstanding however it was a fairly limited menu. We were traveling with two small children so it was especially complicated. They did the best to accommodate them but the menu is designed for sophisticated 5 star meals. The village of St Paul de Vence is lovely but you really only need a few hours there. The hotel offered a shuttle service which was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmesmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReponseDirection, Directeur général at Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Jmesmommy,

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment and to share your experience at LE MAS DE PIERRE.

We are very glad to know that you were satisfied with your stay at our hotel, especially that you were satisfied with our staff. We are always trying to do the best we can for our clients.

We hope to welcome you again at LE MAS DE PIERRE.

Best regards
Christian Baumgarten
direction@lemasdepierre.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had a really fantastic 4-night stay at Le Mas de Pierre for our honeymoon last week. We were treated extremely well by everyone! We originally booked a few months ago and took advantage of one of their early booking web discount offers and spoke to the hotel on the telephone at that time to discuss the differences between the rooms. We eventually decided to go for the Classic room, but when we arrived found we had been upgraded for free to a Privilege room which was really spacious and beautiful and included a private garden.

Upon arrival we were treated to a welcome coffee and basket of croissants, and were also given a bottle of red wine, flowers and a tray of miniature desserts - a really lovely surprise and a warm welcome. The food at the restaurant was delicious and the pool completely relaxing. The only thing we thought the hotel could look at introducing would be a snack bar menu with more simple and slightly cheaper food options than at the main restaurant. The hotel's free shuttle service makes it easy to go to and from St Paul de Vence. The concierges (particularly Sean!) and all the staff were so accommodating and friendly - we really felt they went out of their way to help us and make sure we were having a wonderful honeymoon. The gardens are spectacular and well-kept, which was not something we'd read about before so was a pleasant surprise. We would definitely recommend Le Mas de Pierre to others!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReponseDirection, Directeur général at Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear C O,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review for our hotel.

It gives us a great pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful experience at LE MAS DE PIERRE, especially since it was your honeymoon. Our staff is always trying to be helpful and friendly with the guests, and we are very glad that you appreciated that. Also, we would like to thank you for your recommendation.

We hope to welcome you soon back at LE MAS DE PIERRE.

Kind regards
Christian Baumgarten
direction@lemasdepierre.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay in April, it's a very nice place, BUT improvements need to be made. We ate lunch here twice and dinner once, it was the same menu for both which is silly. The cooking was very good , quite elaborate, but pricey for a light lunch, fine for dinner. Our room was comfortable, but the curtains needed fitting and finishing ! The gardens are very nice, but parts needed weeding and why did the lawns have to be mowed all through lunch one day, crazy. One day we reserved a table for lunch and watched from the garden as all the tables were given to non guests many of whom obviously hadn't booked as the sun made it's first appearance for Spring. We then waited as they made a table up for us on the perimeter of the outside dining area.
My wife gave up on a manicure half way through which she described as totally inept and cancelled her massage due to be given by the same person. The manager gave us a glass of champagne as apology. But in a well run place this shouldn't happen, it's amateurish. In short it could be very good but needs to be got hold of a shaken into shape by a professional who knows the hospitality business.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReponseDirection, Directeur général at Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Richard A,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I remember very well our discussion about the inconveniences during your stay.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at LE MAS DE PIERRE.

Kind regards
Christian Baumgarten
direction@lemasdepierre.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We booked a series of Relais Chateaux hotels as part of our car travel through the eastern part of France. Sadly our experience at Mas en Pierre did not meet our expectations. We do not want to sound churlish but the level of service was far below what we experienced at other hotels particularly those who promote the Relais Chateaux brand. If the purpose of Trip Advisor is to serve as a guide to others who will be soon spending hard earned money, then here goes. From our perspective there simply was not enough staff to serve the guests, or if there were enough staff, then they so busy assisting others that they forgot about us. Some quick examples, when we arrived we asked for a bottle of champagne to be delivered to the room so that we could take advantage of the beautiful grounds; this task became a struggle with us finally forced to go to the front desk, which led to not an order being placed because a carte du vin could not be found. Ultimately we prevailed. [Never in my life did I think I would ever write a complaint about not being served in a timely manner but age has its benefits or detriments, for others to decide.] Second, dinner was unsatisfying and we were cramped into our space because of what appeared to be a business convention. Service was rote and rushed Third, when we went down for coffee in the morning, we had to wait nearly 25 minutes for our coffee. For lunch we decided to eat at Chateaux St. Martin where we had a far different and better experience. For dinner, we went to the local market bought some food and ate in our room over looking the beautiful countryside, the best part of our time there.
Before writing this I did read other reviews where the issue of service was raised and the response of management. To be sure the hotel is beautiful, the pool and surrounding areas exceptional, but service is what helps define the true luxury of a fine hotel experience. Sadly the service did not match the surroundings.
So if you traveling to this area for other than a business trip, book at Chateaux St. Martin if you intend to stay at a Relais Chateaux.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank FlashNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReponseDirection, Directeur général at Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear FlashNewHampshire,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience at LE MAS DE PIERRE.

We are very sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel didn’t match your expectations.
Our F&B department is informed, in order to improve it in the future, because as you said – the service is what helps define the true luxury of a fine hotel experience. Nevertheless, we are glad that you liked the hotel and its surroundings.

In spite of this experience, we hope to welcome you again at LE MAS DE PIERRE to show you our expertise.

Kind regards
Christian Baumgarten
direction@lemasdepierre.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
1.2 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#7 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
313 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
537 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
Hotel Les Vergers de Saint- Paul
#8 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas de Pierre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas de Pierre Hotel

Address: 2320 route des Serres, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#2 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#3 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range: £166 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Mas de Pierre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Le Mas de Pierre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Mas De Pierre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing