We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very nice place. Best service and very beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Me and my wife had 3 nights here in May 2014. What a beautiful place. The best service - where they even park your car. A lot of very friendly personal to handle your requests. We came late night- and still were able to get some food in the bar. The breakfast is one of the best ones we ever had in any hotel. The garden and pool area are very very beautiful. Smells so good too. So, go there! Kids would even be ok to bring. And the location is very good to explare the south of france - being just behind Nice and Cannes. Close to most things in the area: Vence, Grasse, Mougins, Nice, Antipes, Cannes - and even Monaco and St. Tropez... Just came home to freezing Denmark today.. want to go back and do it all again.

Room Tip: We had direct access to garden - so we could go in and out that way too - which was great too. There...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThorAngelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
There are newer reviews for Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this most beautiful property on my own as my husband was unable to join me at the last minute . Originally i wanted to stay at their sister property in the centre of St Paul de Vence and as that was closed was offered a room here and was very pleased . Much more spacious grounds and a quiet balcony overlooking lovely gardens and the hills. So quiet even had birds visiting my balcony. The distance to the village is compensated by the peace and quiet and the staff were very obliging to drive me in and out of the village with 5 minutes notice. I can't wait to come back !!!
A hint - use their transfers - same price or less and they accept credit card
Dr Irene

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank DrIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReponseDirection, Directeur général at Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear DrIrene,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We would be very glad to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Best regards
Christian Baumgarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My fiancée and I spent 3 nights at Le Mas de Pierre in August 2013. Having researched a number of hotels in St Paul de Vence, Le Mas seemed to to have the best balance in terms of location, setting and spa & pool.
We arrived mid-morning and our room was not yet ready so the staff very kindly relayed one of the breakfast tables and brought us coffee and croissants whilst we chilled out and enjoyed the views.
We booked a standard room with a balcony which was typically French and perfect for our short stay. We had stunning views overlooking the perfectly manicured grounds and the hills of St Paul.
Since we were both quite tired from travelling we decided to spend the first day relaxing by the pool. This was shortly ruined by screaming kids who were jumping in and out of the pool. At one point we couldn't even swim without being splashed. In the end we decided to go back up to the room to rest. Unfortunately, the noise by the pool continued for our three day 'restful' stay and the staff couldn't have been ruder when we mentioned to them very politely that it was too much.
St Paul de Vence was beautiful and we had some amazing meals in the town - La Colombe D'or was most memorable and If it is available, ask the hotel staff to drive you in the old fiat 500. We had one meal at Le Mas de Pierrce which was excellent.
Overall we had a lovely stay but we will not be going back any time soon.



Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank eh9388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReponseDirection, Directeur général at Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear eh9388,

Thank you for taking the time to write on TRIPADVISOR.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our property.
We know about your remarks concerning the children playing around the swimming-pool during the summer holiday season. This is why we decided to open a brand-new building "La Bastide des Fleurs". This building gives access to an independent swimming-pool "adults only". The rooms will be tastefully decorated, spacious and dispose their reserved long chairs by the pool.
Reservation is possible on our web-site or by phone!
I hope to welcome you soon back to "Le Mas de Pierre
Christian Baumgarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A beautiful "old style" house , very nicely kept and decorated .
The garden is pretty big , not as big as i thought from the pictures on the site but enough space to walk around a little. Flowers & fruits around.

The room was very nicely decorated with a nice balcony : view on the garden and the pool , the room we had was not big ,if you are traveling for sometime and have more than 1 big luggage it's a little hard to find place you may need to upgrade your room (as we were told the upgraded room is 10m2 more).

From the website and other sites we thought that there was 2 restaurant at the hotel , however be aware that there is only 1 restaurant and it's a fine dining one so if you stay there for sometime you may want to make plans in advance on where you can go have a bite without having to do it in a fine dining restaurant.

The menu of the restaurant need some more choices to my taste , it's a small card .
However to the credit of the restaurant , i asked for something that wasn't on the menu and they did everything possible to do something and it was very good :) , the service is good and the waiter is very friendly .

Day and night friendly staff at the Hotel and always ready to help.

Saint Paul de Vence is accessible by foot if you like to walk , there is a "hard" way up to go but if you are not in a hurry and have good shoes it's nice.
If you prefer the hotel can bring you to saint paul and pick you up , just need to ask.

Overall a nice experience in a very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff (just need a little more choice for food)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A_Cats_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReponseDirection, Directeur général at Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear aureliaca...,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on tripadvisor!

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will inform our F&B departement concerning your remarks. Please know that we allways use fresh products on a daily base. We will work on the offer and try to bring a larger choice as soon as possible!

Kind regards

Christian Baumgarten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have stayed in several Relais et Chateaux and this hotel is on beautiful grounds and our room was beautiful. That is all I can say on the positive side. We were a group of 2 mothers and 3 daughters who are well traveled and were only spending 2 nights during a family/friends trip to the South of France.

First. The staff was generally rude and dismissive. On arrival I was told rudely that it would not be possible to have a rollaway bed added to my room for my daughter who had decided to join our group at the last minute from London. However, the bellman and chamber maid were able to find one and accomodated us after much to do.

Second. We ate dinner at the fancier of the two restaurants poolside and the waiter brought my daughter the wrong entree e.g, salmon instead of sole, something like that, and then argued that she ordered what he brought. Fortunately, she speaks French and argued with him until he brought the correct entree. 5 minutes later at a table nearby another couple was in an argument over the exact same thing (same entree' etc.) with the same waiter and the waiter called them ugly Americans. They were in fact French and got up from the table and left the restaurant.

Third. After dinner the 25+ year olds wanted to go to St. Paul de Vence to a nightclub or anywhere for some nightlife because the hotel is in a remote countryside setting, and the hotel staff would not help them in any way, either with recommendations or with finding any transportation for them and they were stuck at the hotel for the rest of the night with the 50+ year olds.

Fourth. I thought the hotel had made a reservation for us at the Grand Hotel Cap de Ferrat for lunch, and when we arrived there, we had no reservation and were not allowed to dine in the pool area which is where the views are the best and the reason for going to Cap de Ferrat.

All in all a terrible experience for our group. The hotel was not up to the usual Relais et Chateaux standards and quite a disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReponseDirection, Directeur général at Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Elizabeth C,

Thank you for taking the time to write on tripadvisor.
I am very surprised about your remarks as we have very few negativ comments concerning the staff. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss these issues.
Please know that a member of the management of "Le Mas de Pierre" is constantly "on the floor", to find a solution during your stay. Unfortunatly you stayed with us 5 months ago, but I am sure to find a solution to show you the best of " Le Mas de Pierre" during your next stay.

Kind regards
Christian Baumgarten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We spent 2 days here for a small business meeting. Staff extremely friendly and relaxed, present but not intrusive, they seemed to know exactly what we needed all the time. We all commented on how at-home we felt. The setting is marvelous, the fountains, gardens, terrace, etc. Rooms and hotel in excellent condition. Slight disappointment regarding the food, there is the same menu for lunch and dinner and while we all adored the petits farcis, we were disappointed by the other starters and there was not a huge choice. The meals we had in the village compensated. Would definitely recommend the hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Kara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We loved spending 4 nights at Le Mas de Pierre. Our intention was to come to the south of France to relax and unwind. This is a great hotel to do a little R&R! We were instantly impressed when shown our room. The large covered and very private balcony was overlooking the pool and French provincial countryside. The bedroom and bathroom were very large and nicely appointed.

The grounds of the hotel and the facilities for guests are great. The garden is well manicured and contains fruit trees, vegetables, herbs, roses, lavender and all sorts of lovely plants. There are some really great sculptures dotted throughout. There are also doves in a large cage which fly freely around the garden during the day. It's lovely to see them basking in the sun! The heated pool is fab and the best part is the spa/sauna/steam/hamam facilities that are of no extra cost. Go to the fitness center and head downstairs to find the sauna, steam room and hamam for maximum relaxation and maximum luxury!

The food at the restuarant, La Table de Pierre was definitely fine dining. The best and most consistently impressive food I tasted in France. The meals were expensive, but deservingly so.

We had 2 downsides to share about our stay here.
The first was that our 'king-sized' bed was just 2 single mattresses pushed together. We were informed that all the king beds in the hotel are like this after we asked about it at reception. I don't really think that's very 5 star. Other 5 star hotels in France have king sized mattresses and I was expecting the same at Le Mas de Pierre.

The other annoyance was that there is only ONE restaurant at this hotel. We were led to believe that there is a fine dining restaurant, and a bistro. The website and recorded answering machine message both indicated a second eatery, but when we arrived we asked about the bistro only to be told it no longer exists. That means you are forced to eat at the the expensive fine dining restaurant, as the nearest restaurants in the town of St-Paul de Vence are a 25 minute walk uphill. We ordered room service on 2 nights so as not to spend too much money in the restaurant, and also the menu at the restaurant is quite small and could become repetitive if you eat there every night of your stay.

That being said the room service menu was very good, and the food delivered to the room was very nice. We also ordered room service for breakfast every morning, as it costs the same amount as having it in the dining room. Having a large balcony overlooking the French countryside as a dining room suited us much better! The breakfast delivered was delicious and comes highly recommended from us!

Overall I would recommend this hotel to others who are seeking a quiet place to relax in the French countryside and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooglepuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Paul-de-Vence
1.1 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
469 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
518 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Le Mas Candille
Le Mas Candille
#1 of 14 in Mougins
936 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#7 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas de Pierre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas de Pierre Hotel

Address: 2320 route de Serres, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#2 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#3 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range: £169 - £513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Mas de Pierre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Mas de Pierre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Mas De Pierre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing