We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A find for simple travellers”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St-Paul-de-Vence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostellerie Les Remparts
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay. This is an old building and they refurbished some rooms, but 1) dont expect too much in terms of luxury and 2) quality of rooms are very different. The Rose and Cyclamen (no toilet) rooms are great, the Lilas room was less so. We stayed a couple of nights, and we dont have anything to complain, but there is definitely nothing luxurious about the place. If I could give 3.5 stars, I would :) The views from the rooms mentioned are simply stunning, also, they made parking so easy for us (even though it was still the hardest parking to find in the world)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chooun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

My sisters and I stayed in the Rose Room and thoroughly enjoyed it, once we got in. Reception is not manned for much of the time, and our phones didn't work for us to ring them to let us in. We would recommend getting the key code as well as the phone number when you book. Apart from that, our room was charming and had a stunning view, the food was good and the view from the restaurant lovely (once we found it). Being lodged inside the old village was a real bonus as the views are spectacular and the many ateliers an art lover's dream. When located, the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant.
Lyndel50

Room Tip: We liked the Rose Room very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lyndel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel. We had booked in advance and had received a code for opening the front door. There was no staff around when we arrived, but our key was in an envelope on the desk. The room was very nice, and had a wonderful view of the valley, as well as a nice bathroom.
We went out for a walk and when we returned we were surprised that there still was no staff in the hotel. The restaurant was closed, but there were plenty of other restaurants nearby, so that was no problem. We also had received a telephone number that we could have used if we would have had any problems.
In the morning we did find the staff and we had a nice breakfast on the terrace downstairs.
A bit impersonal since you don't meet any staff until last moment, but the hotel has a perfect location in the middle of the old town and from our room the view was very beautiful.
Since the town is crowded with daytour tourists in the daytime it is very pleasant to be able to exeperience it in the evening when it is quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kartul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Took a day trip to the beautiful village of St Paul de Vance, as were walking around stumbled on this restaurant which we later found out was a small hotel. We were attracted by the stunning views of the Provence countryside,but the food was equally good, my own sea bass was as good as I've ever tasted and the local wine was crisp and made a perfect companion to the whole lunch. The waitress who i think was half French half Italian was lovely and spoke good English to help us with some of the menu. A really nice experience and while we have not stayed at the hotel based on the restaurant i would certainly remember for another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This charming inn has 8 rooms all named after flowers. initially we had booked two rooms since we wanted separate beds. in translating a phrase in French that I didn't quite "get" it meant toilet down the hall. Not acceptable. so then we booked one room "marguerite" which had two beds (in the picture)

when we arrived at the hotel there was no one there. we had a code for the door and we opened the door went in and called out - nada

the keys were hanging there so after knocking to make sure we were not walking in on someone
we explored a few rooms.

after about two hours and several calls the sous chef appeared. the girl, Floride, that was in charge had been sleeping and that's why there was no one there.

The marguerite room was not adequate and we said no. we were told there were no other rooms

in short they placed an extra bed in the rose room which was more than charming and we spent the night there. I recommend the Rose room, breakfast was great, this place was next to the St Paul Hotel (relais et chateau $$$$$$) both restaurants we ate in one by the main fountain and another next to the hotel (this is the one Martha Stewart was leaving ) served very good food

So I recommend it but make sure of which room you are getting. P.S. the price was right 110 Euro

ciao and caveat emptor :)

Room Tip: The Rose Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starshine4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed one night in the hotel and had expected a more charming experience. Other than a Relais & Chateaux, it is the only hotel in the walled city. The service is mediocre and not particularly warm. The room barren and dull. The views are spectacular, but the village is closed at night. There were no restaurants or shops open in the evening which was a surprise. Finally, if steps are a problem at all, this may not be the place for you. Getting to the hotel is uphill with lots of steps and within the hotel it is all uneven steps.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 750Shasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed in this little hotel right in the village. The room was charming with a beautiful view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate dinner at their restaurant with a nice view. The food was excellent. We enjoyed our stay. We celebrated our aniversary here - a great place to do so! The difficult part was getting our car to the parking area. The streets are narrow!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jam6768_290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
658 reviews
0.7 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Messugues
Les Messugues
#6 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#7 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Les Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Les Remparts

Address: 72 rue Grande, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range: £48 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Les Remparts Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing