We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting!”
Review of Orion B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orion B&B
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We came to Orion B&B for a long weekend, to have a relaxing time. The location is very isolated and wild, which is very unusual and magical. I recommend coming in late Spring or Summer, to have the best time. There are woods all around this little area, that has a natural pool, a trampoline and table tennis to make it very child-friendly. The cabin was very well-decorated and stylish, basically just what you want a cabin to look like. We swam in the pool on the first day and it was nice, but it was covered in insects and tad-pols, but if you don't mind that kind of thing it's ok. I think it's a little unfair to charge for the sauna per person and in all of the previous hotels and B&Bs I've stayed in, you don't have to pay for any of the facilities. The cabin shook from time to time whenever someone moved, I don't know if that's a cabin thing or if it was just ours. Definitely try to spend time in the pool, reading or writing on the balcony, because we didn't get any wifi with our electronics (it isn't the place for that anyway) but just so you know. The breakfast was good, but I recommend you ask for what you want because all that's on the table is some coffee and bread. The service is good, there are always people at your service but if you don't actually need anything, you're totally independant.
We had an enchanting experience at this place and we shall definitely return. I think it's a little over-priced - prices per couple + 30€ per child, but worth it!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Blue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Orion B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Amazing place!
So relaxing and inspiring!
A perfect Love Nestle.
You can smell such a good wood fragrance, walking barefeet in the garden, naked in the dark after a Sauna - in January!
Only 3 houses so it's not crowded at all.
Ladies are really wellcoming and really have good taste.
Interiors are inspiring.
Massage is ok, not the best ever but ok. With 70 euro you can get a top one, but if you consider the place and the people it's ok.
Price wise: it's ok since we accept that we are not 20th and we can't get go in wood with a tent in January to feel the nature and jumping in a river without risking to get immediately sick!
Cheaper would mean non comfort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaPremAbha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed with Diane in September of 2013 and it was an unforgettable experience. After receiving a warm welcome, we were escorted through the grounds of this truly beautiful home - it's a mini-paradise. The natural pool, woodland and surrounding wildlife all added to the calming feel of the place.

The treehouse was amazing. Cleaned to the highest standard and built by genuine craftsmen. A great two-night's sleep too, waking up to complete silence was a welcome break from Cental London.

The restaurant just at the back of the woodland (overlooking St. Paul de Vence) was one of the best meals we've ever had the pleasure of enjoying (locally fished smoked trout) and was the icing on the cake really.

Only suggestion would be having the option of delivering breakfast to the treehouses in the mornings rather than a communal breakfast being compulsory.

First class stay, people and place.

Well done, Diane! - we'll be back :)

Ben W

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Benno767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had such a wonderful weekend in the treehouse so a big thank you to Diane and her family. The treehouse itself was perfectly rustic, the gardens and pool so relaxing (even if it was a bit too cold to actually swim!) and both of us came back to London feeling refreshed and relaxed. SO easy to reach from Nice airport (approx 20 min drive). We're only sad our own house isn't set in the trees! Would definitely love to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

15 minutes from Nice airport..and there we are: a peaceful, green, relaxing, charming, lovely place were we rested for 4 days. The tree-house we had (Sheri Khan) was perfect for us: a shaded terrace, a tastefully decorated bedroom, a nice bathroom, all comfort (even free internet connection..to be used to send picture of this great place to your friends and make them jealous). In the morning a genuine rich breakfast is served in the main building, a great place to meet the "neighbors" and share good tips for a daily trip. The natural pool...wow !!! Swimming in a natural pool and relax by reading a book in the garden. Highly recommended for nature lovers :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REGR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orionbb, Propriétaire at Orion B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

thank you so much for your beautifully written description of Orion - its tree houses - its pool - AND the atmosphere you co-created with us and the other guest around the breakfast table.

warm regards,

Diane, Katja and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a very special place.
We absoluted loved everything about Orion.
We stayed in the summerhouse for 2 nights and then 2 nights in a treehouse.
Enjoyed great yoga with Sandra.
Amazing natural swimming pool.
Would highly reccommend and hope to return.

Room Tip: All good both treehouses and summer house
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orionbb, Propriétaire at Orion B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Victoria and Family,

thank you for your gesture of appreciation in tripadvisor.
We have loved having you here and hope to be able to welcome you again.

warm regards,

Diane & the entire Orion team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were on honeymoon and booked this as a stop gap between Paris and Nice but we were mainly drawn to the tree houses! I was slightly prepared for roughing it but it is essentially the same as staying in a nice B and B-everything you need comfort and little extras as well (hair dryer kettle etc) it did
Feel a bit like camping but in a good way! The views are simply stunning-such a gorgeous location! The gardens/grounds are beautifully maintained and you feel very secluded-there were other groups staying at the same time as us but there were more than enough separate areas to relax around the pool, on the various lawns or on your own balcony. Absolutely magical being i the tree tops looking out at the mountains every night. Natural pool is gorgeous. So refreshing after the hot sun! It is essentially like swimming in a very clean lake and felt a lot nicer and cleaner than most swimming pools. We had a meal out at a restaurant which was more like a mans back garden near by (good food but a slightly odd experience!) there are a lot of very good places to eat in St. Paul mainly because it is such a beautiful village/walled town and attracts well-heeled visitors to some pretty swish hotels! Needless to say we didn't visit the two michelin starred eateries as the stay was already costing quite a lot! But Orion provide a communal fridge and crockery etc which they clean for you so you can pretty much self cater on a basic level. Breakfast was immense in quantity and quality. Was amazed that they had sourced gluten free bread crackers and brioche fir me (which is pretty un heard of!) We were without a car so found a couple of small shops in St Paul but the selection is limited. All in all not having a car was the only real problem. We got the bus from Nice as taxis are pretty pricey which dropped us off in the village. It's not too bad a walk but we had massive cases so had to rely on a taxi (25 euros for a five min drive!) I would advise considering hiring a car or factor in taxi transfers. Bus is do-able but in sweltering august heat hiking up a hill to find the bus back to nice was not brilliant! Oh and bring a lot if mosquito spray/candle repellents if you are prone to being bitten!
Would love to go back-it is pricey but a different and unique experience that you will remember as long as you are up for an adventure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
469 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Hotel La Grande Bastide
#7 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
518 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa St Maxime
Villa St Maxime
#5 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#10 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion B&B

Address: 2436 Chemin du Malvan, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range: £215 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Orion B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Bed And Breakfast
Orion Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing