We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week not enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A week not enough”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from this campsite after a week with Canvass holidays. First of all the caravan we were in was absolutely clinically spotless. Everything we needed was there. We didn't have one with a decking but really wish we had got one. Went for a/c and were very glad about this.
The site was clean, safe, quiet at night after 11. No all night parties. Lots of families from around Europe.
Lots of entertainment during the day at the pool and at night. The kids loved every minute.

The only negative that stopped me giving it a 5 was the on site restaurant. Great for a drink but the food really was poor. Burnt steak, burnt pizza!!, very grey kids nuggets, a disappointing twist to a great weeks holiday. Saying that we only are there once and probably only would have done only maybe once more even if it were excellent as we either cooked or ate out most nights.

A great week. Thanks canvass.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RelfyRamsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    182
    93
    29
    16
See reviews for
343
77
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Would recommend the campsite for families although it can get a little noisy at night and early morning. Pools are good and facilities adequate. Great location for exploring S France.
Being our 4th park holiday, 2nd time with Alfresco (Thomson last year and Eurocamp before that) this was our worst experience by far. Main complaint being the lack of parking on the pitch despite not being told of this either on booking or at any point prior to our stay. Alfresco were v unhelpful in not offering an alternative mobile (despite a number becoming available soon after our arrival) or alternative parking on any of their other pitches which were free, we therefore had to park in the night car park every day some walk from our pitch. Alfresco were not interested in helping us at all and the rep used no initiative or pragmatism to find a compromise. Other problems included an unclean mobile on arrival having to wash up all the utensils and crockery, out of date information in the Alfresco reception (the rep had to ask Eurocamp for some information for us). Also we had to contact the rep by text at 9pm on last night to find out about our departure procedures as there had been no contact for a few days and it appeared that we would not have been contacted had we not done so. Not sure if this experience is poor due to Alfresco's break away from Thompsons but this is not the great experience we have had in the past 3 years at other locations. Level of customer of care was very poor and disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RS_GB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays at Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

We understand that many customers will want to park their cars close by, we do advise in our brochure/webpage what type of parking to expect on your chosen pack, for Douce Quietude we advise that some parking is off pitch as I understand that for some emplacements you have to park close by.

I am sorry you felt you did not receive the usual level of service, we do regularly monitor customer so thank you for your comments.

Many thanks, the Al Fresco team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just returned from Douce Quitude, what a find stayed with Alfresco our rep Hollie was amazing she was so helpful and always smiling. The site is fantastic for families the entertainment was fantastic the noise wasnt bad at all nothing more than you would expect for a holiday resort. Our mobile home was very clean and spacious. We would definately return, Well done Hollie amazing holiday

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Goodness me, this is probably the worst campsite we've ever visited. 'Douce Quietude' it most certainly is not. Indeed, the evening entertainment starts at 9 to 9.30 pm and literally blasts a large part of the campsite with unnecessarily loud noise every night. We have young children who were kept awake until 11pm every night with cheesy Europop and the likes. It is so loud and awful that it isn't even possible to relax outside with a drink. It's also a very expensive site (€75 per night for a camping pitch for 2 adults and 2 children) and, in my opinion, is pretty awful value for money. For example, the shower blocks are very shabby and dirty. Hugely disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KandS R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have stayed with Eurocamp before and had very positive experiences, at Esterel camp and in vilanova in spain. We were advised that this was a 'quieter family camp' and our Travel Agent was asked for us to be given both a car parking space and a quieter plot.

Luckily, we had a small hire car which just fitted in front of the decking but be careful as not all have a space, so it's pretty dangerous with your own car as the roads are narrow - ensure you are guaranteed this before arrival as the camps tend to get very full.

Our 2 bedroom classic plus was:
- small given it was a classic plus - hardly any room to walk around the bed and if you are going with 3 kids, then it will not be very cramped; even though there are three beds in the second room (bunk bed) - very cramped. You need a 3 bedroom really!.
- given what we paid (£1600 for June), I would expect Eurocamp to update their mobile homes. Dismal green curtains which are dirty and very old fashioned, making the living area very dark
- our rooms backed onto the wash room( campers washed their pots, showers and meeting area for kids) so we often heard noise after 12 through the night. The security moved them on afew nights but we didn't get much sleep for the first few nights.
- from 6am, you can sometimes hear the vans coming in with deliveries

I have to say that the reps were excellent but their hands were tied, as the camp was busy and they could move us only to another area which was noisey as it was near the main road.

We were surprised that the family focussed camp had a nightclub running until 3 am afew nights a week too! This should be advertised in the publicity so you know what to expect. At least for some camps, it actually states in the brochure to expect road noise.

Great facilities for kids and entertainment - but it was very disappointing for us.

I didn't get much sleep in the first week so not great.

Room Tip: Go for a mobile home in a quieter spot and ensure you getting written confirmation from Eurocamp or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A lovely, well kept site in a quiet location. We stayed with Eurocamp and were pleased to find the van clean. Ken and Margaret, the reps, were helpful and friendly, sending a text the day before we arrived.

Staff in all areas were friendly. The shop was well stocked and not overly priced. Leclerc supermarket is a 5 min drive away. Pools were also clean and loungers couldn't be reserved all day by leaving towels on them which we felt was great as it meant everyone could access them throughout the day.

Pitches have hedges/flowers around them which makes for privacy and atmosphere is very pleasant.

There is so much to see in the area that one visit is not enough. Port Frejus is lovely with a market on the quay side until midnight each night in summer. Also Nice and Monaco worth a visit. Of course the icecream is amazing!

This is our 3rd visit to campsites in France and We would recommend Douce.

The sound like a sonic beep you can hear at night is an owl, but don't be put off, it's lovely!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank KBM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in early July with Canvas in a 3-bed mobile home with air con and decking. It was clean, tidy and in good order. To our relief, the air con worked fantastically well and the decking area was an excellent space for relaxing and eating. The campsite is well-maintained and an extremely safe environment for the children. The pools are clean and monitored closely by camp staff. The small pool, designed for toddlers, was just what we needed for our two-year-old - the fountains and 'jacuzzi' kept her occupied for hours. The bar area is excellent if a little expensive; the food is well worth a try. The gym is more than usable but I was disappointed to have to fork out twenty euros for five sessions (or seven for a single session). Our eldest (nine-year-old) fell in love with the fantastic kids club which operated in the morning and in the afternoon. All sorts of activities were offered and the children were given the opportunity to put on a show one evening which was enjoyed by all those taking part and watching. The holiday was definitely value for money and I'm sure we will return at some point in the future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank pd611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Raphael
2.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Cap Esterel
2.2 mi away
La Villa Mauresque
La Villa Mauresque
#1 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
331 reviews
5.5 mi away
Les Jardins du Mai-Tai
Les Jardins du Mai-Tai
#1 of 15 in Saint-Aygulf
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Camping Lei Suves
Camping Lei Suves
#2 of 26 in Roquebrune-sur-Argens
145 reviews
5.0 mi away
Camping La Pierre Verte
6.6 mi away
Camping La Plage d'Argens
Camping La Plage d'Argens
#5 of 15 in Saint-Aygulf
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude

Property: Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude
Address: 3435 boulevard Jacques Baudino | Jacques Baudino, Saint-Raphael, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Raphael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANDAYA DOUCE QUIETUDE 5 STAR CAMPING CLUB An exceptional setting for your holiday in the Var Douce Quiétude 5 star campsite is a real Village Camping Club welcoming you in an idyllic setting in the heart of a natural pine forest that blends into the wild beauty of the Estérel mountains. Located on the Côte d'Azur, between Cannes and Saint-Tropez, and less than 8 minutes from the Mediterranean with its different types of beaches - sandy beaches in Agay, Saint-Raphaël and Fréjus, pebble beaches at Dramont and Boulouris - Douce Quiétude is an ideal starting point for exploring the coast, the variety of landscapes in the Var & the Alpes Maritimes and the most beautiful places in Provence. Concentrated sensations with family or friends... for a very different and resolutely successful holiday ! The Eden of a 5 star camping in the Var Enjoy the refined design of the 261 mobile homes and the comfort of the 72 clearly separated pitches for your camping car, caravan or tent. Exclusively and for optimum comfort, 6 pitches are equipped with private facilities, garden furniture, barbecue and parasol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douce Quietude Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing