We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable, but all to verify!”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Saint-Raphael
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Nicely located in the center of a beautiful Saint Raphael. The entrance is not easy to find and it is strangely funny to enter by the cafe and then follow toilets/reception...
Room door would not close, unless you use a key.
It was +16C outside, but the air conditioner is set for heat only and it was a sauna in the room. Opened the window, but it is very noisy. So, could not sleep well in the heat.
When reserved the room, breakfast was not included, ok. In the morning, when my wife and I sat in the cafe and just asked for a couple of coffees with a croissant, the waitress asked if we were staying at the hotel. When confirmed, she asked in which room and then checked her paper, and said that the breakfast was planned for us and indicated in her sheet as included. We agreed and were taken to a dining room. Breakfast is store bought ham and packaged cheese, cheapest possible juice and burned croissants. The SURPRISE was when paying the bill, we got charged 12.50 euros per person! That was THE most expensive coffee and croissant we have ever had. Perhaps, it was my misunderstanding, but everything needs to be verified. Even though the reservation was for 119 euros/night, the bill showed only 95, but that was a "mistake".
Bottom line - very expensive for what you get. Everything needs to re-confirmed not to have surprises..

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank FKislik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dears,
Many thanks for posting your opinion about our stay at the Excelsior; sorry about the confusion respect to breakfast, we will do our best to progress and rectify those problems.
About fresh air conditionning, sorry Sir but, it is never available in decembre, and the average temperature was very warm this year, unlike usual.
Looking forward to seeing another time.
With all my best regards
Carinne
Booking Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excelsior
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

i stayed at this hotel many times and the internet was always very poor, i mean in years... connection is very bad, it disconnects every 2 minutes and you have to log in every time... but the great surprise was this year when i couldn't connect at all because i was operating on android... so, if you use a tablet or a smart phone with android, don't stay at excelsior.... the management told me they have i-don't-know-what kind of router that doesn't support android, so, don't bother to claim...

Room Tip: take a room with sea view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandacristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Madam,
Thank you for posting your opinion about your stay at the Excelsior; the wifi problem are repaired now, even for android system.
Really sorry you did not have a pleasant stay because of that.
We hope to welcoming you another time.
Looking forward to see you again!
Best regards
Carinne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Lovely property! The location of the hotel is excellent with everything within walking distance including the beach right in front of the hotel. The service is consistent and polished, from the multi-lingual receptionists to the restaurant staff. As we own a property in the area we usually put up our guests at the Excelsior. The view from the rooms are amazing and the staff attentive and friendly. The outstanding restaurant offers daily specials with great fish and meat dishes. The lobster risotto was to die for and my husband is a fan of the lamb shank. Judging from the popularity of the place in the summer time, I would advise to make a reservation for dinner.
The bar and terrace is the most vibrant in the city and it is frequented by an elegant crowd.
In short this hotel is amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronicaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Veronica,
Many thanks for your comment and looking forward to welcoming you soon again !
With all our best regards
Carinne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was a return visit and whilst often things don't seem as magic second time around this was even better - we had a large front seaview room (216) - wonderful views from front and side windows and our bathroom window could also be flung open to the glorious view. The terrace restaurant was a delightful place for both breakfasts and dinner. The staff are friendly and helpful and the location perfect - nice beach clubs just across the road and a great base for day trips trips to St Tropez or Frejust. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 216 but only when we don't want it!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geewiz1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dears,
Thank you for coming back to the Excelsior and for leaving such a nice comment about your stay; we are looking forward to seing you very soon, in a big room facing the wonderful sea !
Nice regards
Carinne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Great location on the beach and close to the train station; just a couple of blocks walk. The desk staff were very helpful. The room was on the small side, but it was OK for a night or two. All in all recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Sir,
Many thanks for posting your opinion about the Excelsior.
We constantly strive for your satisfaction and we sincerely hope to welcoming you another time.
All our best regards
Carinne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We booked after a recommendation, true enough the rooms were very comfortable and the views amazing, we had booked a prestige with sea view. For the price though not to have breakfast included is very poor, air con didn't work, and we were woken up both morning very early 7am by a crane right outside our window working on hotel, and following morning by road sweeper. St Raphael it's self is lovely, maybe we'll try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notsofussyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dears,
Many thanks for sending your opinion about your stay at the Excelsior.
Please accept all our apologies about works we absolutly had to do on the roof, because of air conditionned technical problem; i am really sorry your slept has been disturbed.
Anyway, the average temperature of may doesn't allow operating cooling system.
I sincerely hope you will come back in Saint Raphaël and at the Excelsior; we will do our best to get your satisfaction and to leave you a pleasant memory.
Looking forward to welcoming you again !
Carinne
Booking Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

With no reservations, we took the chance to register mid-week. The very helpful receptionist, Zuny, welcomed us and was helpful throughout our stay when we had questions. The room was adequate and well-located. However, the restaurant staff ignored us. The breakfast was included, but the single server was haughty. We also entered for dinner where the maître 'd also ignored us while fawning over other patrons.

Room Tip: Saw neither a pool nor fitness center.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverlylebanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dears,
Many thanks for taking the time to write your opinion about your stay at the Excelsior.
We are really sorry about your last bad impression and we will do our best to regulize this situation with our staff.
Please, accept all our apologies.
We are looking forward to seing you again !
Best regards
Carinne
Booking Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Raphael hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel La Marina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
224 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Villa Mauresque
La Villa Mauresque
#1 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Sejour
Hotel Le Beau Sejour
#10 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Unique Hotel & Residence
Unique Hotel & Residence
#6 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
38 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Les Roches Rouges
Hotel Les Roches Rouges
#17 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Promenade Rene Coty | Promenade René Coty, 83700, Saint-Raphael, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Raphael
Price Range: £121 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Raphael is a lively and charming town situated between Cannes and Saint Tropez, on the Mediterranean coastline, with a nice sandy beach, port lined with pretty cafes and restaurants and a bustling center with shops and bars. The family run Hotel Excelsior enjoys an excellent situation on the sea front promenade, beside the Casino and a stone-throw from the sandy beach. It is an ideal base from which to explore Provence by car or by the excellent train system which runs through Saint Raphael. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel St Raphaël

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing