We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, breakfast service - room for improvement”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Saint-Raphael
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

It's an excellent hotel, but somehow smacks of an Englishman abroad, I can't put my finger on why as the staff are all French!
The rooms are good, clean and comfortable with free WiFi, although connection was sometimes a bit hit-and-miss.
The reception staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful, as are the housekeeping staff. The breakfast staff were polite, in the main, but our only fault with the hotel was with the breakfast. There was a good choice and I even feel a bit mean saying it but the coffee was awful - I love my morning coffee but chose tea in preference and we bought a coffee out instead! Also, the hotel information said breakfast was available until 10:30 but on several occasions - if not every day, they started clearing it away by 10 (9:50!) or very shortly afterwards - this doesn't make you feel welcome, nor does them laying up the tables for lunch around you, well before 10, while you and others are still having breakfast!
Overall I would recommend this hotel, but please make breakfast a better, more relaxed experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theatreland-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2014

Dear Madam
Many thanks for your comment; be sure we will do our best to improve our breakfast service.
We really appreciate the time you spent to describe your impression and sincerely hope to welcome you very soon!
With all our best regards
Carinne
Booking Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Hotel and people are nice ; rooms are clean and comfortable. Located right in the center. But it is a shame that the hotel has a bad internet connection ; it is Impossible to connect properly, I haven't been able to use my email at all (coming in my mailbox on Mac) and even connecting to a simple website takes ages, that has been a considerable waste of time !!!! I don't understand how an hotel in 2014 can miss such a simple service.

Room Tip: Go there if you do not need to connect on the internet and if you do not need to work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan_WALTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for sending your opinion about your stay at the Excelsior.
As an information, the problem we had with internet connection is now fixed.
Looking forward to welcoming you another time !
With all our best regards
Carinne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay this week. We were only at this hotel for one night, but the service was very good, the food was nice and the view was fabulous. The location is very central and the hotel is very attractive on the outside and inside. The rooms were fine and we had no problems with the internet except that I usually had to type in my password a couple of times in order to connect. Not a problem.
It is strange when you pull up to the hotel and there is a chain across where you would pull in to unload luggage. We parked down the street (no easy task), and walked up to the hotel only to be told that you just unhook the chain and pull in to unload. Parking is in a garage down the street and is around 10 euro per day. Breakfast buffet is the standard cost at around 16 euro.
I would stay at this hotel again. It isn't a 4 star, but it is very nice and we were treated well.

Room Tip: We booked a standard room and did not expect a sea view. However, we were happy to have a lovely se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claregirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dears
Many thanks for your comment! We are very pleased you had a lovely stay and we hope to see you another time.
Just as an information, breakfast is 13 €.
Looking forward to welcoming you asoon !
Best regards
Carinne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great location in the centre of town and beside the sea.
Great restaurant with different choices each night.
But piles of motorbikes parked at the entrance of the hotel. You would not want to be blind and entering the hotel.
There is free parking spaces for the motorbikes is just around the corner on the seafront.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Proinsias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dears,
Thank you for filling in this questionnaire and for leaving your impression about your restaurant.
Be sure we do our best every day to get your complete satisfaction, and we will fix this problem of motorbikes parking as soon as possible.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon !
Carinne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Nicely located in the center of a beautiful Saint Raphael. The entrance is not easy to find and it is strangely funny to enter by the cafe and then follow toilets/reception...
Room door would not close, unless you use a key.
It was +16C outside, but the air conditioner is set for heat only and it was a sauna in the room. Opened the window, but it is very noisy. So, could not sleep well in the heat.
When reserved the room, breakfast was not included, ok. In the morning, when my wife and I sat in the cafe and just asked for a couple of coffees with a croissant, the waitress asked if we were staying at the hotel. When confirmed, she asked in which room and then checked her paper, and said that the breakfast was planned for us and indicated in her sheet as included. We agreed and were taken to a dining room. Breakfast is store bought ham and packaged cheese, cheapest possible juice and burned croissants. The SURPRISE was when paying the bill, we got charged 12.50 euros per person! That was THE most expensive coffee and croissant we have ever had. Perhaps, it was my misunderstanding, but everything needs to be verified. Even though the reservation was for 119 euros/night, the bill showed only 95, but that was a "mistake".
Bottom line - very expensive for what you get. Everything needs to re-confirmed not to have surprises..

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank FKislik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dears,
Many thanks for posting your opinion about our stay at the Excelsior; sorry about the confusion respect to breakfast, we will do our best to progress and rectify those problems.
About fresh air conditionning, sorry Sir but, it is never available in decembre, and the average temperature was very warm this year, unlike usual.
Looking forward to seeing another time.
With all my best regards
Carinne
Booking Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

i stayed at this hotel many times and the internet was always very poor, i mean in years... connection is very bad, it disconnects every 2 minutes and you have to log in every time... but the great surprise was this year when i couldn't connect at all because i was operating on android... so, if you use a tablet or a smart phone with android, don't stay at excelsior.... the management told me they have i-don't-know-what kind of router that doesn't support android, so, don't bother to claim...

Room Tip: take a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandacristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Madam,
Thank you for posting your opinion about your stay at the Excelsior; the wifi problem are repaired now, even for android system.
Really sorry you did not have a pleasant stay because of that.
We hope to welcoming you another time.
Looking forward to see you again!
Best regards
Carinne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Lovely property! The location of the hotel is excellent with everything within walking distance including the beach right in front of the hotel. The service is consistent and polished, from the multi-lingual receptionists to the restaurant staff. As we own a property in the area we usually put up our guests at the Excelsior. The view from the rooms are amazing and the staff attentive and friendly. The outstanding restaurant offers daily specials with great fish and meat dishes. The lobster risotto was to die for and my husband is a fan of the lamb shank. Judging from the popularity of the place in the summer time, I would advise to make a reservation for dinner.
The bar and terrace is the most vibrant in the city and it is frequented by an elegant crowd.
In short this hotel is amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronicaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Veronica,
Many thanks for your comment and looking forward to welcoming you soon again !
With all our best regards
Carinne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Raphael hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel La Marina
0.2 mi away
Unique Hotel & Residence
Unique Hotel & Residence
#2 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
San Pedro
San Pedro
#15 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
338 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Villa Mauresque
La Villa Mauresque
#1 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Beau Sejour
Hotel Le Beau Sejour
#7 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Promenade Rene Coty | Promenade René Coty, 83700, Saint-Raphael, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Raphael
Price Range: £85 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Raphael is a lively and charming town situated between Cannes and Saint Tropez, on the Mediterranean coastline, with a nice sandy beach, port lined with pretty cafes and restaurants and a bustling center with shops and bars. The family run Hotel Excelsior enjoys an excellent situation on the sea front promenade, beside the Casino and a stone-throw from the sandy beach. It is an ideal base from which to explore Provence by car or by the excellent train system which runs through Saint Raphael. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel St Raphaël

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing