We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing but you need a car” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Valescure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Valescure
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Saint-Raphael
Essex
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Relaxing but you need a car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed here for the last two nights of our holiday in the South of France before our long car journey home. We had earlier that week stayed at the sister hotel at the Marina. It is approx 3-4 miles away from St Raphael so you do really need a car if you are not going to spend your whole time in the hotel. This hotel has been fairly recently refurbished and therefore everything still feels new. The furnishings are tasteful and the rooms are comfortable and also, I think, a little larger than the ones at the marina. The bathrooms are also newly fitted and everywhere is very clean.

We arrived at 4:00 p.m. on the Saturday afternoon - hotel check-in time - and asked where we could get something to eat as we had missed lunch. The clubhouse (within the hotel) accommodate us albeit on a limited menu but the lunch was fine and the surroundings agreeable. We asked at reception if we could book dinner for that evening and were told that the hotel was fully booked and therefore so was the restaurant. My Husband was extremely annoyed about this, and rightly so, as we hadn't been able to check in until 4:00 and clearly there were no tables available in the restaurant for new arrivals! Room service is charged at 5 Euros!!

The beds are comfortable and there is free wifi in the hotel and also free parking although when we arrived back from dinner on the Saturday night the car park was absolutely full and we were unable to find a space. A quick trip into reception and they assured us that there was space in the underground car park.

We had breakfast on the Monday morning before we left for England. Some people have commented that the breakfast, at 15 Euros, is expensive, but having taken breakfast in Frejus in a cafe at the marina the day before and paid £18 for 4 croissants, 2 teas and 2 orange juices, we actually found that paying 15 Euros for a buffet breakfast was not bad value! Two points though. The only juices offered are Presse at 5 Euros supplement each and if you want fried or poached eggs then that is another 3.5 Euros!! I really do think that this is ridiculous.

There is a pool and sunbeds although we did not use them. The rooms also have balconies with deck-chairs and a canopy which are pleasant for sun-bathing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaloverEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    140
    53
    19
    7
See reviews for
39
235
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Just spent a week here playing golf and looking round the area. Golf was good and not too testing, also very friendly environment. The staff at the hotel are all good , from the chambermaids right through to the reception staff. The rooms are exactly as displayed on the website and very comfortable.
If I had to be critical it would be that the menu in the evening did not offer enough selection if you intended to eat there every night, but with a car there are several good restaurants nearby.
We would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Axecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

This is a golf hotel with emphasis on golf. If you are a golfer, this is a great option. We do not golf but chose to stay in the hotel to relax and get away from the tourist crowds. The hotel is located 4,5 km outside of St. Raphael next to the golf-courses and forests, so if you do not have a car, this hotel is perhaps not for you.

We found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, well decorated with nice rooms and great attentative service. The ambience of the hotel is relaxation and wellness, around the pool, the golf-course and good food. Around the hotel there is forest, golf-courses, a road and a car-park and that is about it.

The deluxe room we booked was comfortable with a big bed, two satellite tvs, free internet a modern bathroom and a nice balcony overlooking the forest. It is spotlessly clean and very quiet. The interior of the room was rustique and the airconditioning was excellent.

We used the hotel to travel down to St Raphael and St Tropez and experience the area around. It works well as a base for travel. We also really enjoyed to sit and have breakfast next to the pool area, and found the breakfast to have a good selection for a 4-star hotel. The staff has to be commended as they all really go out of their way to please and provide a very high level of service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

we stayed 5 days in this hotel, in March, and this was one of the most pleasant hotel experiences we ever had! Even if it was not yet season and it was too cold to take advantage of the outdoor pool, we could enjoy the fabulous surroundings,the wellness, the comfort offered by this place.
Everything was pleasant about this hotel: the rich and various breakfast, the rooms ( it was renovated in 2010,but I don't know if entirely or partially) -we had a Deluxe Double Room, very cosy and extremely clean, of an impressive size , with a very comfortable bed.
The only one little minus was that the breakfast was not included in the price and it was 18 eur/person.Otherwise, the internet connection was for free and it was very fast, parking was free as well, and very secured ( inner parking, protected by a gate).
The hotel has a restaurant as well, but we had dinner only once there.The food was good ( like in most of the restaurants in France), but the environment was not exactely what we wanted ( it was an event in the same time, so we were crowded in a small part of the breakfast area).THe rest of the nights we went to have dinner in Cannes, which is only 40 min away, if you choose to take the famous Corniche d'Or road, which is fabulous, and there is also a highway to Cannes, less spectacular, and also a road through the mountains! So plenty of things to discover.
Saint Raphael is very close ( but you need a car anyway to reach it) and is a little, pleasant beach resort, full of restaurants and terraces.
I would recommend this hotel to everybody, being sure that they will have a nice experience.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mihaela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in August 2011. Our objective was to see St Tropez, Cannes and Monte Carlo and instead of booking a night in each place separately (logistically difficult, problem with availability for 1 night stays and generally more expensive), we decided to stay in this hotel (we rented a convertible and enjoyed driving around very much).

We arrived after midnight but check in was not a problem. The staff is very friendly and attentive, communicating in English not a problem.

The hotel is well maintained, clean (incl. bathrooms), has a nice swimming pool (cleaned daily from leaves, etc.).

We did not check out all the facilities, in particular the golf fields, as we were traveling during the days, nevertheless the hotel was well looked after.

Breakfasts v. good, tasty and diverse, but not sure about value for money (I think it was about €30 per two of us)

Overall definitely recommend as a base to visit south of France.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lukaszadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Ontario
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I just stayed at Hotel du Golf de Valescure (in Saint Raphael) a few days ago as a "one-night stop-over" between visiting Antibes/Cannes and St Tropez. What a lovely overnight! (We booked it through an internet site as our plans were last minute.) After checking in, we put on the fluffy white bathrobes in our room and had a swim in the pool (with lovely garden chaises on the well-manicured lawns around the pool - lots of trees and flowers). We were served drinks by the pool. Later in the evening, we treated ourselves to the dinner in the hotel restaurant - actually outside on tables with umbrellas. The meal was 5-star exquisite (small portions and a bit pricey but worth every penny!) The restaurant staff were friendly and professional. Our room (the most basic room) was absolutely beautiful - well-appointed, vaulted ceiling, comfortable bed and linens and a large bathroom with tub/shower. I would most definitely stay here again if in the area - it was a little oasis (golf resort area) of romance and relaxation for us!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovewineandfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Raphael hotels
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel La Marina
0.3 mi away
Le Domaine de l’Esterel
Le Domaine de l’Esterel
#5 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Pedro
San Pedro
#8 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
La Villa Mauresque
La Villa Mauresque
#1 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#14 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Brise de Mer
Hotel Brise de Mer
#34 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Valescure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Valescure

Property: Hotel de Valescure
Address: 55 avenue Paul L Hermite, 83700, Saint-Raphael, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Raphael
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Raphael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Valescure 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Esterel Mounts, surrounded by umbrella pines, the Best Western Golf Hotel Valescure is a charming house mixing modernity, history and nature.In the heart of French Riviera, the Hotel will charm you with its 62 air-conditionned and renovated rooms overlooking the pool, the garden or the pinewood forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel de Valescure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du De Valescure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing