We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A missed opportunity” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Villa Mauresque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Villa Mauresque
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Saint-Raphael
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A missed opportunity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

While I can only agree with those reviewers who praised the setting of this hotel, the service was sadly nowhere near what I would expect for a hotel in this price range-over €350 a night. The basic problem is that there is no-one in a management role so the staff, while perfectly pleasant, are not really being directed in the basics of their role. So, bearing in mind the price, I do not think we should have had to wait ten minutes just to get coffee at breakfast, a boiled egg should not take 15 minutes to appear, I expect to be offered a drink while around the pool or in the garden and I expect to be able to communicate with the staff without difficulty. Despite my speaking both French and English, there were a number of occasions where the staff did not pick up what I was saying. Also, I did not expect the power to go off three times during our stay. Having stayed in the area many times, this is clearly a problem at the hotel rather than a network problem but it just should not be happening at a luxury hotel.

The other irritation was the lack of room service (except between 1400 and 1800) so if you do not want a formal sit down lunch, you have to go out of the hotel even for a basic snack. In addition, the evening menu did not seem to change at all during the week so while the chef may have a "Michelin background", the lack of variety was surprising.

I raised most of these comments with the staff before we left and to be fair to them, they acknowledged that service was not ideal and mentioned that they had been having problems at the management level. They offered a reimbursement of over 10% of the price of our stay which I felt was a very reasonable gesture.

It is all such a shame as the setting is fabulous and with a little more care and attention, they could have a first class hotel. Until the service is sorted out however, we would not recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Be aware that Shakespeare is immediately by the pool and the dining area so you will be right next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Waterlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa-Mauresque, Propriétaire at La Villa Mauresque, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Waterlawyer,

Thank you for your review, all your comments are most appreciated and we thank you for your compliments regarding the fabulous location and pleasant staff.
Your stay with us coincided with the short period during which the manager had to return urgently to his home town in Italy because of a very sad family event.
Under normal circumstances the hotel provides all day room-service and you should, of course, have been offered drinks while around the pool or in the garden.
The restaurant menu changes in accordance we the lovely fresh ingredients (vegetables, fruit, fish) that we so luckily have locally available. We shall ensure that there is more variety from one day to the next.
The hotel is also fortunate to have 5 restaurants in walking distance if you are to fancy a complete change of menu.
Staff at La Villa Mauresque are multilingual, French and English are not always the mother tongue but all staff speak French and English as a minimum but also German, Italian and Spanish.

I sincerely hope to welcome you back at the Villa Mauresque, I can reassure you that you would be able to enjoy the scenery as well as the service.

The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    53
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
42
211
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
massenbachhausen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

DIVINE ... I think it describes the wonderful scenery that I found to pass the green gates. It seems that we come to paradise with a romantic garden bathed by waters, calm and blue as the sky. Simply wonderful. Entering the villa it looked more like a castle ... classical decoration, ancient structure but renewed appearance and in the room half bottle of champagne, a basket of fruit and a loving sprig of flowers. The room was not very big but had a large private terrace containing a jacuzzi with wonderful view at the blue sky and sea. We felt cozy and we were still dazzled. When we went for dinner we found they have a spectacular restaurant, full of variety and taste almost unique ... We notice also that the caring staff were very attentive. After a wonderful day, we find the bed ready to sleep, and honey to sweeten the dreams ... I recommend to anyone who wants to live an unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 954fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have just spent two nights at this amazing place. The welcome from Joanne the moment we arrived set the tone for our stay. The views are stunning...difficult to tear your eyes away from the view. We stayed in the Shakespeare junior suite (it was a special occasion) which was just lovely. The highlights have to be the views, the garden with lots of comfortable beds and seating and the friendly staff who made us feel so welcome. Yes, it is expensive but very special. We had dinner looking out over the sea...food was top class...pricey, but you have to eat there at least once. For a less formal meal there are a few restaurants within walking distance down the coast as you go left from the back of the hotel. We ate in a nice pizza restaurant first on left with tables placed on the sand and again a lovely view. The only criticism is reserved for the attitude of some of the other guests in the hotel who seemed to find it difficult to be friendly or even smile in such a beautiful place!! Overall, can't wait to go back sometime.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We were looking hardly to find a hotel on the Cote d'Azur directly at the seafront with this kind of ambiance as in the Villa Mauresque.We had a little room with a covered privat terrace where we had a little snack in the afternoon.The room looks so gorgeous, so luxurious with this design decoration! We come here for relax and the stunning view from the jacuzzis gave it us! It worth to have a walk to Port of Santa Lucia from the hotel! Thanks to the friendly staff to propose to us!
We tried the restaurant of the hotel .Perfect service, helpful staff (we have needed some advice :)and the food...cant find words to describe the beauty and the perfection of the plates in look AND in taste!Should I enhance that we had the dinner with seaview?....Thank you guys for this unforgettable holiday!
B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrecen, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We have already been to this charming villa-hotel a 3 years ago but for my biggest surprise this year it was even more beautiful! It was renovated and newly decorated. And the garden... that was amazing!
We spent an unforgettable week there...

Thanks for the great staff as well. Thank you guys!

Viktoria

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ViktoriaSzabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I came with my husband a few days ago for our honeymoon. He chose the hotel himself to surprise me...and I must admit that it was actually a real surprise for me to discover such a place. It's amazing. The staff, the scenery, the room, everything was perfect. I really hope we'll be able to back very soon...this short stay was pure happiness !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

On the 8th of May, we called two days before arrival and, we're given a 20qm+bathroom for €190 per evening beautifully decorated ( attention to detail room called Monet). Our first unfortunate experience was the shower handle could not be turned off properly ( requiring a call to the front desk for assistance). Secondly, my Wife & I had the feeling the plumbing to the toilet seemed loud for us and, could certainly hear our next door neighbor when they were using their bathroom facilities.

Not a great start.

Thereafter, we however were very impressed with the beauty of garden facilities, the pool at our front door, the rapidity with which we were given assistance when requested. This partially made up for the above-mentioned minor problem.

Unfortunately, was not included in our room cost ( above-mentioned) were parking facilities €20.- per evening, breakfast breakfast for 2 €38.- per day & of course the hotel dinner which offered a only what the Chef had on offer ( 2/3 options of course).

All told for 2 nights - €857.- expensive for a nice garden, beautiful view of the ocean where one has breakfast and dinner and, of course the very friendly and helpful service. I don't usually consider costs on vacation. It is simply the way I am after working for a break I "deserve it". I'm not sure how many others are willing to pay close to €1'000 for a couple of nights for the above-mentioned. At best, for the money spent.....average.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Raphael
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel La Marina
13.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#1 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel Et Spa
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel Et Spa
#1 of 6 in Theoule sur Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Domaine de l’Esterel
Le Domaine de l’Esterel
#5 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.8 mi away
San Pedro
San Pedro
#8 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
19.6 mi away
Royal Antibes Hotel, Residence, Beach & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Mauresque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Mauresque

Property: La Villa Mauresque
Address: 1792 route de la Corniche, 83700, Saint-Raphael, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Raphael
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Raphael
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Raphael
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Raphael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Villa Mauresque 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Villa Mauresque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Mauresque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing