We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like 1920's Cote d'Azure”
Review of La Villa Mauresque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Villa Mauresque
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Saint-Raphael
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Perfect setting straight from a Fitzgerald novel. Beautiful grounds fronting the Mediterranean and a Moorish-style mansion that has been re-fashioned into a top-flight hotel. We had two rooms, Shakespeare-- which looks out on the adult pool and waterfront and Appollonaire which is tucked in toward the garden but has its own terrace and hot-tub (which is more private, though the room is smaller). Both rooms featured excellent bathrooms and were well-appointed.

There are two pools and 3 jacuzzis. Seating and sun-beds are scattered throughout the property and as a result, it often feels like you are the only ones in residence. Regretfully we weren't able to take advantage of as many of the amenities on the waterfront (should have booked a longer stay), but the massage offered at waterside was ideal.

Special notice should be made of the staff in the front office worked tirelessly to ensure that our stay came off without a hitch. They were amazing from start to finish.

Room Tip: Appollonaire is a good choice for couples looking to get away from it all. Shakespeare is a bit mor...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for La Villa Mauresque
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Lunch out on the terrace over-looking the most spectacular sea views! The food is exquisite, using the finest ingredients, fresh produce and delicate flavours. I had a risotto to start, which had a twist of mediterrean flavours and was creamy and luxurious, followed by lobster, which was cooked to perfection! What a treat! The service was excellent too, discrete and attentive. I highly recommend going, this place is a gem.

Room Tip: This boutique hotel offers all types of rooms, which are all equally beautiful.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelinNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The idea was to treat my girlfriend and myself to a post-birthday mini-break in the Cote D'Azur. I found VM online and liked what I saw so took the plunge and booked a four night stay. Having travelled the World and the Seven Seas etc, I'm happy to stay in cheap or expensive accommodation alike and adjust my expectations accordingly. I was expecting VM to be pretty good but it exceeded every expectation and made for an unparalleled break, the kind you read about in travel magazines with flourishes of hyperbole which you never quite believe. VM is truly superlative and returning to a drizzly grey Autumnal London (at the end of May) was truly depressing and disheartening.

But enough of that, back to sunny South of France. The VM grounds are luscious and set behind closed gates giving an immediate feeling of privacy and seclusion. There are three jacuzzis (sounds tacky but absolutely isn't) and two swimming pools, the main one of which overlooks the infinitely dramatic Mediterranean which is literally a stone's throw away and which can be accessed through a boathouse. Similarly, our room overlooked the Mediterranean and offered a room with a view to satisfy EM Forster or anyone else, for that matter. The room itself was modern in design with a traditional but hip twist, again, something that would not be out of place in a travel magazine. A set of drawers was decorated with what looked like the Gucci insignia (but lacking the lettering) and the shower gels etc were from Hermes and in this respect, VM offers access to the best parts of a designer label type lifestyle, rather than the worst or, indeed, anything in between. With this in mind, it might sound contrary that the room also had its own jacuzzi but, somehow, it just felt right; the elegance, the opulence, the luxury, the bubbles. I'd like to say I splashed out on the most expensive room in VM (this, the Baudelaire, was it) but in fact, the management generously gave my girlfriend and I a free upgrade, which is actually the reason I'm writing this, tit for tat et al.

The VM has no bar but it does have a restaurant and if you're staying in the aforementioned Baudelaire room (or a couple of others), it's literally down some stairs. Such proximity caused the slightly surreal event of my girlfriend and I dripping through the restaurant in our bath towels after an extended jacuzzi session on our first night but, apart from a couple of highly amused smokers, no-one batted an eyelid.

We booked a table on Saturday night for 8pm and opted for the 9 course degustation menu, asking the waiter to serve us with what he thought were appropriate wines. I'm not sure if the restaurant has a Michelin star but the chef does and, with my hand on my heart, I can truly say this was one of the best, if not the best meal I've ever had. My girlfriend felt similarly. After a couple of 'amuse-bouchons', we ended up having 11 courses. As I remember it these included: foie gras, parmesan risotto with truffle in it, lobster, John Dory, veal sweetbreads, a selection of local cheeses, pre-dessert and then a praline/chocolate mousse with a sesame seed snap with an amazing ginger ice cream wrapped within. We finished 4 and a half hours later, our palette blown to happy pieces.

This is a quiet, beautiful place where the whitewashed Arabic looking Villa (containing the restaurant and four of the rooms) stands proud and elegant over its beatific grounds. My girlfriend and I spent our time sunbathing, swimming, taking jacuzzis and saunas and contemplating the Mediterranean, listening to the hypnotic, rhythmic caress of its waves. The staff were generous, friendly, had character and genuinely seemed to enjoy their work. Together with this unique setting and superlative restaurant, the Villa Mauresque is one of the few places in the world where I'm genuinely happy to say offers a most fantastic 5*, 10 out of 10, 100% joyful experience. If you had any doubts about coming here, have them no more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SRumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We've just enjoyed our third stay at La Villa Mauresque. Each one has been a joy. The setting is stunning. The quality of the hotel is excellent. And the whole experience is delightful. The staff throughout the hotel couldn't have been more attentive or helpful. What amazed us as return visitors was that the food, which had been brilliant last year and seemingly unbeatable, was out of the world this time around. It's not a wise place for those on a diet.

Room Tip: Rimbaud for all the space in the world and a bath with a view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markstake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa-Mauresque, Directeur général at La Villa Mauresque, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Markstake

Thank you for your repeat costume and loyalty.
We are really delighted that you have enjoyed a third stay with us and that we are able to delight you again every time. The restaurant is indeed a star feature of the Villa Mauresque thanks to a very talented young chef.

Thank you for all your kind comments, we have passed your praises on to the chef and the staff and we look forward to welcoming you a fourth time with immense pleasure.

A bientot :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

In our experience, one can always say "If only they had ..." even at the best hotels. At the Villa Mauresque, we could find nothing to criticise when we stayed for the St Valentine evening.

As we drove into the gated and walled property, we were met by the receptionist. No papers to fill in, and we were immediately shown to our room. This was a large room, extremely well equipped, even with a kettle and a Nespresso machine. But the touch of a heart shaped pattern on the bed made from red rose petals was beautiful, and complemented the Champagne on ice.

The 7 course dinner was magnificent. The service was faultless - that difficult to achieve blend of friendliness, efficiency, and respect. The food was outstanding; beautifully presented, and with a wealth of different tastes.

Breakfast, served in our room, maintained the same high standard.

Being a wet February day, we were unable to profit from the various exterior facilities. That will have to wait until we can go back in the Spring.

The overall impression was that the staff had a pride in their hotel, and would do anything necessary to ensure that their guests were delighted with their stay. A lot of hotels could do no better than stay a night and see how it should be done.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnSutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa-Mauresque, Directeur général at La Villa Mauresque, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

We would like to thank you very much for your kind comments. The team at La Villa Mauresque and the Restaurant Bougainvillier are very touched by your compliments. We sincerely hope to welcome you back here in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Just stayed for one night at this gem of a hotel.
The staff are most welcoming and dinner at night was one of the best meals ever, in an idyllic setting.
Right on the sea front with hotels own boats available and easy reach of the ferry to St. Tropez (summer months only, otherwise ferry is from st.maxine-40mins away. Both ports have easy parking at a cheap price.
The room was very well equipped and very comfortable, the only niggle was no 'turn down' service at night, apparently this is provided in the summer months only-otherwise our stay was perfect.
There is a tiny gym,sauna,and jacuzzi, together with two pools and superb gardens.
We have booked again for June!

Room Tip: The basic rooms are really good enough. The price jump to the superior rooms is a lot,but they are f...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronald1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The setting is as great as the property. We stayed in the area several times to visit friends, and strangely in this portion of the coast there are not so many seaside first class properties, at least maintened to high standards (last year we stayed in a now closed former palace - cannot find the name right now - that was actually crumbling, with service going down the hill as well..).
To be true, it does not compare to Ramsay's cuisine at Claridge's or Ducasse's at Plaza,but the dining experience was great in our opinion. I have just read a comment on the lack of variety but you could taste the effort to cook quality fresh food, so it should I believe meet the expectations of many guests. All in all, with the combination of some grandeur (high ceilings,at least in our room) and coziness (and a peaceful garden) this adress while expensive much more than others in the area, but not more than palaces of the southern coast, can be booked with confidence if you have to stay in this part of southern France.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simbar988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Raphael
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel La Marina
1.7 mi away
Hotel Les Roches Rouges
Hotel Les Roches Rouges
#17 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
126 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Cap Esterel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel & Spa
Tiara Miramar Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 7 in Theoule sur Mer
416 reviews
2.8 mi away
San Pedro
San Pedro
#14 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
333 reviews
3.0 mi away
Najeti Hotel Valescure
Najeti Hotel Valescure
#11 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Mauresque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Mauresque

Address: 1792 Route De La Corniche, 83700, Saint-Raphael, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Raphael
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Raphael
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Raphael
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Raphael
Price Range: £158 - £683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa Mauresque 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Villa Mauresque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Mauresque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing