We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau De La Messardiere
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

This is the most gorgeous, romantic hotel ! So relaxing and in a lovely secluded location. The food was probably the best my husband and I have had.
The room service was divine and the views very pretty . I loved the service and would love to return one day!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
messardiere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Mummylovely

The Messadière Team thanks you for this nice comment and is really happy to have given her best to make your stay unforgettable. We have just closed the hotel and have just began some renovations in the oldest part of the Château. We hope to welcome you again with pleasure from the 18th of April 2014.
Take care of you and thank you again.
Best regards
Béatrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here a few times a few years ago. Quite simply fabulous. Cant wait to return. Everything about this place is first class. From the moment you arrive until the sad day you leave. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
messardiere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Chris

It is good to notice that after one year, you have still such beautiful "souvenirs" about your stay with us! So thank you for sharing your feelings about Château de la Messardière and we do hope to welcome you again very soon. Every year we are used to renovate few rooms little by little for the confort of our guests and we go on smilling and bringing our best for you.
We will open on the 18th of April 2014 and we are waiting to see you with pleasure.
Take care of you Have a nice winter!
Sincerely
Béatrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

If I could have given this marvelous chateau a 10 rating I would have!! Beautiful property and gardens. Heated pool outside and large heated spa pool. Chateau is very traditional outside and beautifully updated with modern art and common areas. The best part of the Chateau is the staff. Professional, warm and genuinely interested in their guests. All were great but Frank the concierge was spot on with recommendations. Great shuttle service into town. Best in Saint
Tropez without question. Hated to leave!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texangal1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
messardiere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Sir
It is really important for us to know that a person who has been connected with trip advisor since 2003 gave us such a wonderful comment!
So all the Messardière Team thanks you and appreciates the fact that you managed to feel this special atmosphere coming from the place and from the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you again to share other lovely and peaceful moments.
We will open on the 18th of April 2014, so waiting the pleasure to see you again, take care of you and thank you once again.
Béatrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

From the moment we drove to the gate, we knew we were in for a wonderful experience. The grounds of the Chateau are absolutely stunning, and we were greeted with first-rate service the moment we stepped out of our car. The staff was extraordinarily polite and helpful during our stay. Arranging transportation to and from the beach and town was a breeze and incredibly helpful. The chateau also has an arrangement with several private beaches so that they can reserve beach chairs with restaurant service - absolutely idyllic to be served delicious mussels while enjoying the Mediterranean sun. The facilities of the Chateau are also top-class - from the restaurant to the pool to the gym/sauna - everything was five-star. Lastly, the view...my goodness...the view - it looks like it was taken from all of those charming paintings of St. Tropez that made you want to come to the Riviera in the first place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
messardiere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay in Château de la Messardière and more that you felt the nice and special atmosphere, and the magic of the place. Thank you for your comments about the staff they will be encouraged by them.
We do look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best Regards
Béatrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I've stayed here many times. I'm not a fan of staying in town, so I've never stayed at the Byblos but after seeing my friends' rooms, there is no comparison. Messardiere is my favorite. Elegant, very french, the views are beautiful, the staff is accommodating.... Love this hotel. No complaints. Will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace...I believe most have them but make sure because it's a lovely place f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
messardiere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Jennifer

We appreciate your comment regarding your stay with us. It is true that we have the chance to have the schuttle service which is really confortable for our guests. You can be be very quick in the center in the mood of St Tropez and five minutes later be in a peaceful place relaxing.
Thank you for the staff who will be encouraged by your remarks.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again with pleasure.
Take care of you
Sincerely
Béatrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels in the world. Everything about it is spectacular. It's a beautiful property, staff is helpful and friendly, food was delicious. Lunch by the pool was my favorite part of the day. Our room was gorgeous and had a huge terrace overlooking the gardens with the sea in the distance. They have a shuttle service to take you to town which usually worked quite well. A couple of times we had to wait longer than I would have liked but waiting in beautiful surroundings isn't bad. The gym was nice. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanne456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
messardiere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Jeanne

Thank you for sharing your feeling about your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the time in Château de la Messardière, the calmness on the top of a hill, and the sweetness in this amaizing land.
Thank you for the remarks about the service and the staff : courtesy and kindness.
We do hope to welcome you again with pleasure.
Take care of you
Sincerely.
Béatrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

The location is really good, on a top of a hill, with beautiful view of the golf of St Tropez. Only part of the rooms are renovated, we had West Indies room which was ok, but the entry is very closed to the pool (2m to the sunbeds), the moment you open the door people staying by the pool can see inside your room; beside the privacy problems, it is also noisy.
We totally disliked the design of the reception, restaurant and other common areas, which ate designed in a mix of styles, glamour and "shiny", unhappily contrasting with the arhitecture of the chateau.
The garden sorrounding the hotel is very beautiful and big, but we had a bad experience; having a walk on the marked promenade of the hotel, inside the property, we met 3 wild pigs, looking quite scarry, not too pleasant... So don't try the promenade!
Breakfast is very poor, with low quality products. The restaurant is good, but not exceptional, far from haute gastronomy they suggest, the service is very slow and unprofesional, or maybe tyred as every day there were same waiters for breakfast and late dinner.
They have a shuttle service to city center and Tahiti beach, which worked very well, with nice stuff.
We were very disappointed by the concierge, they were arrogant, unprofesional and looking always too busy; 2 evenings out of 5 they booked for us we weren't on the restaurant's list of bookings. For Belrose restaurant they didn't find a table for us within 5 days; I called the next day and I manged to book a table.
The fitness room was wrong designed, the treadmills are placed in a space of 4 m width and you have 2 A/C splits on the left and right side blowing directly in your head.
It is not a totally disaster, but anyway it doesn't worth 940euros/day in high season. In other hotels where we stayed at this type of rates, they don't put everything on the view, they are giving a special attention to their guests and care about details (for instance, Messardiere have the cheapest slippers on the market)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esther_W2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
messardiere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Esther

The Messardière team is very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and that you only appreciated the landscape.May I invite you to contact me that we can discuss about all these inconveniences, it will be for sure more constructive. Then, you should have spoken with me or the General Manager when you were in the hotel.
But, by the way I want to clear few points:
- the West Indies rooms are located around the swimming pool, have been renovated totaly, and have, as most of our rooms an extra door inside to get rid of the noise. Most of our guests prefer staying in a W.Indies room rather than another because they are close to the pool and they offer a terrace with privacy. But I can understand it did not fit you.
- concerning the design of the lobbies everybody can have is own opinion and I also understand that it does not suit you, the same for the food.
- regarding the restaurant staff(as all the Messardière staff), they are used to be nice and professionnal.
But I know we can make some mistakes so I apologize and I am sorry that Messardière did not meet your expectations.
Best regards

Beatrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Tropez hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
#3 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
410 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#1 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Bastide de Saint Tropez
La Bastide de Saint Tropez
#10 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
#1 of 13 in Gassin
369 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
#6 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Ferme d'Augustin
La Ferme d'Augustin
#2 of 26 in Ramatuelle
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau De La Messardiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De La Messardiere

Address: 2 route de Tahiti, 83990, Saint-Tropez, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Tropez
Price Range: £304 - £1,160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau De La Messardiere 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de la Messardiere offers magnificent panoramic views over the Bay of Saint-Tropez, vineyards of Ramatuelle & beaches of Pampelonne. Just 3 minutes from the Sea & Saint-Tropez town centre, this authentic 19th-century castle, bordered by 25-acre grounds, is an exceptional vacation choice. Spa of 465m2, featuring products by Valmont and Cinq Mondes, combined with a fitness room and pool, jacuzzi, steam baths.118 Rooms have balconies or terrace. The hotel's gourmet 'Les Trois Saisons' restaurant specializes in refined Southern-style cuisine.> restaurant serves a range of sunny dishes and light cuisine by the poolside. More Mediterranean delights lie just few minutes away, with Tropezina beach plus the stunning, unspoiled landscapes of the Bay of Saint-Tropez and sparkling Var coast. A show of exclusive designer boutiques and luxury yachts awaits you in Saint-Tropez, coupled with all the charm of this authentic village and its Provencal market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau De La Messardiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Messardiere Hotel St-Tropez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing