We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel in the best resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Bastide de Saint Tropez
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Certificate of Excellence
Preston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the best hotel in the best resort”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have been coming here for over 12 years usually out of season in may or september. We love everything about it, the beautifully decorated rooms are situated around the most stunning gardens and pool and it is unbelievably tranquil and relaxing yet only minutes away from the bustle and excitement of St Tropez village. The manager and staff are the best we have ever experienced they cannot do enough to make sure your stay is perfect and you feel as though you are staying with friends. The restaurant has a new chef and we had the most amazing dinner. We have stayed at lovely hotels all over the world and none compare to this that is why we always return. Many thanks to the manager Fabien and all the staff for giving us another memorable holiday and we shall definitely be recommending the chef for a michelin star as they so deserve it

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabien d, Directeur général at La Bastide de Saint Tropez, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear JACKIE ,

Thank you so much for all your nice comments.
The whole team and myself are so proud and it does encourage us to carry on that way .
We sincerely hope to welcome you another time.
Best regards ,

MR DELAFFON FABIEN
MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    43
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
37
139
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed the Valentine week end and took the offered package. When we arrived we were greeted by a beautiful black cat and got upgraded to a lovely apartment with a garden because of my dog.
Not only is this hotel very animal friendly but also very generous. On arrival a free bottle of champagne was on the table in the apartment. Valentines dinner had a truffle team with foiegras and a lovely fish covered in truffles.
An ideal place to stay also in winter because there is a short walk or drive to St.Tropez were you can walk around and having lunch even when the weather is not too good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solstua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabien d, Directeur général at La Bastide de Saint Tropez, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hello ,
I am so sorry I did not answer you earlier but the hotel was closed and I was away for a long time.
Thank you so much for all your nice comments and il means for all our teams that we need and must carry on that way .

Best regards ,

DELAFFON FABIEN
DIRECTEUR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have visited Saint Tropez for many years and sampled several of the leading hotels, but La Bastide de Saint Tropez is our firm favourite. It is located in a beautiful secluded position, yet walking distance from the centre. The setting, whatever the time of year, has a lovely sheltered Provencal charm, the rooms are immaculate and the staff amongst the most friendly and attentive anywhere. Needless to say, the cuisine whether formal or casual is always delicious. We have subsequently bought a property in the area, but always visit La Bastide de Saint Tropez when we are down.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but the upper rooms and suites are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabien d, Directeur général at La Bastide de Saint Tropez, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear MICKAEL ,

The whole team and myself are so proud when we receive so nice compliments about our house.
Thank you so much for your real encouragement .

Yours sincerely ,

DELAFFON FABIEN
MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We've been staying here for 6 years and have been recommending it to friends for an equal amount of time.
We will stay here twice every year usually in June and July.It's the ideal hotel if like us you want the town of St Tropez in the morning or evening (10 mins easy stroll) and be able to have easy access to the beaches at Pampelonne (10 mins by car or hotel shuttle).
We always have a warm welcome from the staff whenever we arrive.
If I'm being critical the rooms are small but hey,this is St Tropez !
Breakfast and the more formal restaurant are excellent.
Our dog is well known in St Tropez and he's always most welcome at the hotel too.
Stay here for one of the best located hotels in St Tropez!!
The pool bar would operate more efficiently in the evening with a full time member of staff on duty.

Room Tip: Suites will give you more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmontreux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabien d, Gérant at La Bastide de Saint Tropez, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear PAUL ,

Thank you so much for you nice comments
The whole team and myself are looking forward to seing you very soon ,

Best regards ,
DELAFFON FABIEN
MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Suzanne, Cyril, Laura, Sebastian, and Jean-Francois welcomed us with warm hospitality and consideration during our entire stay. The first time we stayed, in 2010, our room was "Saphir," which we liked very much, though it was small. We thought we might splurge a bit but the junior suite, "Tangerine," did not impress, so the manager was kind enough to suggest we book the lovely apartment above the pool, "Aurore." I will post some photos from my husband's camera as that is a lovely suite with petite glass orangerie sitting room adjoining the bedroom. The drivers, Cyril, Sebastian, and Jean-Francois were endlessly patient in dropping us in town, at Club 55 or Tahiti Beach, and then picking us up. Such fine people.

Room Tip: Of course the prices are exclusive, but this lovely property embraces you and welcomes you to its pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aLITTLESpoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabien d, Directeur général at La Bastide de Saint Tropez, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
dear madame , dear monsieur ,

The whole team is so proud to receive such nice comments about our house.
Thank you so much for encouraging us
See you soon in saint tropez

Kind regards ,

DELAFFON FABIEN
MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

La Bastide de St. Tropez is a short walk from the port and the Place des Lices, both active destinations during any stay in St. Tropez. I visited in September, just past peak season, when the weather is still lovely but the crowds have thinned markedly.

The hotel has 26 rooms and suites, which is just large enough for a true, 5-star experience but small enough to be attentive and personal. The landscaping is mature and beautiful, groomed to enhance privacy for tucked-in suites. The pool is lovely, with an infinity edge. There is a bar at the corner, built on rocks that lend the pool a natural feel (though it is sensitively heated for long-season swimming).

The hotel owns a 22 meter (71'+) yacht that guests may hire for the day (€2600). Though we did not, it was an intoxicating opportunity to see St. Tropez from an entirely different point of view!

The cost of this experience is not for a budget traveler, but if you enjoy five-star luxury and are willing to pay for it, La Bastide de St. Tropez is a delightful destination.

Room Tip: The most extraordinary room is named Aigue Marine. It is an "appartemente" -- a full size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabien d, Directeur général at La Bastide de Saint Tropez, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
dear ROSEMARY ,

Thank you so much for your comments and I can tell you that all our staff is so proud when our guests are encouraging us like you did

Yours sincerely ,

DELAFFON FABIEN
MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at this Relais and Chateau property because of the special they were offering for two nights...829 euros. This included breakfast and two dinners. Not a bargain. First room we were shown was no bigger than a closet and reeked of a nasty musty smell, we were then shown a "suite" which was right off the pool. Much better but still musty smelling. Bathroom clean but tiny and very old fashioned, 50's! Cost 1329 euros for upgrade. We took it because luggage would not have fit in first room. Breakfast was ok dinner was meh. Very ordinary but nice waiter . Best thing was pool area...very pretty and our suite right off it. All in all not such a special at $ 883. A night. Ended up feeling taken advantage of!

Room Tip: Rooms, suites directly opening on to pool are best bet but whole place needs up dating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabien d, Directeur général at La Bastide de Saint Tropez, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear MICHELE ,

I am so sorry to answer you that late but I have sent you last week a private mail asking you in which room you did stay in ??
I did not have any answer from you but despite that , You must have stayed in our last 2 rooms which had not been totally renovated last year since we are planning to finish them during our annual closing next January.
I sincerely hope that you will be coming back to visit us once more and do not hesitate to call me personnally
I truly thank you for your comprehension.

Kind regards ,

DELAFFON FABIEN
MANAGER

Kind regards ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Tropez hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
#4 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
357 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
#1 of 13 in Gassin
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#2 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chateau De La Messardiere
Chateau De La Messardiere
#3 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
#7 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Byblos Saint Tropez
Hotel Byblos Saint Tropez
#9 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide de Saint Tropez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Saint Tropez

Property: La Bastide de Saint Tropez
Address: route des Carles | BP 54, 83990, Saint-Tropez, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Bastide de Saint Tropez 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Bastide de Saint Tropez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide De Saint Tropez Hotel St-Tropez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing