We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Gem”
Review of Hotel Lou Cagnard

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Tropez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Lou Cagnard
Ranked #38 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Carmel Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We loved this little hotel!! It was our first trip to St. Tropez, we arrived without a reservation and were lucky enough to find this nice oasis. An easy walk to town we found it both reasonable and comfortable. Convenient off street parking was a plus as their were many people in town. The room was very quaint but of adequate size and clean. We were in a detached cottage and that made it even more unique. The only problem was that we would have stayed another night but they were full. The staff was both friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back and stay for a few nights in this beautiful village by the sea. The hotel garden is as nice as we saw anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelpal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    22
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
35
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I haven't stayed here, but I called to try to make a reservation and was appalled by the way i was treated on the phone. Not only did the woman tell me there were no rooms available, she proceeded to hang up on my and say "bye!" in a high-pitched tone before I even had the chance to ask about availability for another weekend. I definitely won't be staying here the next time I visit St. Tropez. And neither will any of my friends I tell about this experience.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LoSmittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesbimbolinos, Propriétaire at Hotel Lou Cagnard, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Fisrt of all, we would like to apologize for this displeasing contact with us. In fact, you have to know that "lou Cagnard" is a small structure like a family house and the receptionist is in charge of a lot of tasks in the same time. Sometimes (but this doesn't excuse her attitude) the receptionist takes care of check out, preparing breafasts, serves drinks in the garden,...while the telephone is ringing. She is in charge of a lot of things in the same time and during the high season the telephone rings incessantly.. I sincerely think that she was very busy during your call, and just informed you that the hotel was allready fully booked and did not take time to let you made another request. Once again, we would like to apologize for the behaviour of our receptionist. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you a next time. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We were looking for a relaxing, sun drenched holiday and St Tropez delivered. The village is beautiful. Lou Cagnard hotel was excellent, helpful friendly staff with good English. It has parking - this is essential if you are taking a car as parking in the village is not easy, the room was small but comfortable. The garden, where we ate breakfast, was beautiful. It is in a great location, just minutes from the Place des Lices and the harbour. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilywood101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A truly almost perfect hotel in the centre of a jungle... With parking!
Quiet, comfortable beds, spotless. Our garden room opening out onto a romantic garden, spilling over with abundant flowering wisteria.
Lovely garden equipped with tables, chairs, hammock, shade, etc.
Just one churlish moan... You can't picnic in the garden!
Even though they do not serve food, a dry k is experience ted to be taken and aid for from their limited offerings.
Great hotel nevertheless.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms even if a bit pricey! Tucked away and avoid the noise from road at front, albeit slight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnVignes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

To have such a lovely property for such great value just a five minute walk from everything with parking, a beautiful garden and incredibly friendly staff who cannot do enough to help is amazing.

Wonderful breakfast, clean in the extreme and quiet even on the street side.

Definitely I'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are a bit quieter. A few room on the second floor are not ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bbean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Amazing location and charming provencal style small hotel. Loved our stay. Very sweet and romantic and perfect location!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank TravellingRose18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

A wonderful hotel, comfortable beds, easy walking distance to the harbor area, friendly and helpful staff. We had an medical emergency and they provided invaluable assistance. Free parking.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TwoRetiredFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Tropez hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Lauriers
Les Lauriers
#53 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Mouillage
Hotel Le Mouillage
#24 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Bastide du Port
La Bastide du Port
#23 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Y
Hotel Le Y
#49 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dune
Hotel Dune
#50 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Lices
Hotel des Lices
#18 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lou Cagnard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lou Cagnard

Property: Hotel Lou Cagnard
Address: 18 avenue Paul Roussel, 83990, Saint-Tropez, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the charm of an old provençale house and its peaceful garden , located only a few paces from the port of Saint-Tropez and the famous « Place des Lices » .Town’s centreGardenPrivate parking place closed at night19 rooms : bathroom , direct-dial téléphone, satellite tv , individual safety boxes, 15 rooms with air conditioning ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lou Cagnard Hotel
Lou Cagnard St Tropez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing