We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and central location”
Review of Hotel Lou Cagnard

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Tropez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Lou Cagnard
Ranked #39 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and central location”
Reviewed 2 June 2008

Recommended by the Tourist Office. A double room with bathrooom (admittedly a shared loo) for €64 pretty much in the centre of St Tropez is remarkable value. Charming property and staff, highly recommended.

  • Liked — Price, location
  • Disliked — Size of bed
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    22
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
33
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Delightful hotel in a central, yet quiet part of St Tropez. Easy walking distance to everything. The staff are welcoming and helpful.

We paid 122 euros for a spacious room (no 17) that had a nice sitting area just outside the room. Furnishings are tasteful and the room was very clean. Free wifi available in the room. Parking is onsite and free.

I understand that there are cheaper (I think about 60 euros approx) on the first floor which have private showers however, the toilets are located in the corridor. For this hotel it would still recommended.

Didn't take the breakfast so I cannot comment.

Look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank WestAussie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

We ended up staying 3 nights instead of 1 here and would have stayed longer except they were full(Saturday in August!) we paid 117Euro for a garden room which was lovely. The bathroom was newly decorated and very nice, the bedroom was also freshly done and in a fresh and pretty provecal style complete with blue shuttered doors onto a little patio with chairs.The garden is a beautifulspot to sit and read a book. The owners and the lady who was working in reception were very accommodating.
I would recommend the hotel and suggest rooms 16 17 or 18 for the new decoration and quiet location.

  • Liked — clean comfortableroom with a new modern bathroom
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank calAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2007

A simple hotel with a great garden which allows for free parking - not something to be overlooked in the tiny village that Saint Tropez remains despite its international reputation. The hotel is very centrally located so you won't need the car again - a two minute walk from the Place des Lices and probably just over five minutes from the port and all the yachts. The welcome both on the phone and in person was very warm - in French. I can't tell you what the level of English is. Our room was on the street. We didn't want to spend 20 euros more to be on the garden side and in February there was no need. There was very little traffic on the road outside. A large French breakfast cost extra. Room was average size, basic but more than comfortable enough - we didn't spend too much time there anyway. The bathroom could do with being renovated. Feels a bit like a left over from the sixties, though it was definitely clean. The public areas of the hotel were nicely decorated in Provençal style. I have no idea what the hotel or indeed the town is like at the height of summer, but for a reasonable out of season break I would certainly recommend this hotel. If you want luxury and people watching in St Trop' then go somewhere else - but you'll have to pay ten times as much too.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
19 Thank williamdfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2005

We found the Hotel Lou Canard through the tourist info office on the habour. When you inquire about lodging you can look through this big photo album that has pictures, rates, seasonal opening, and amenities. We walked around and checked a couple of places. The Lou Canard looked good. Turned out to be a really nice place and an excellent value. The rooms are nice, not fancy, very clean and bright. What really made it stand out was how nice the staff were. The lady at the front desk was exceptionaly nice, spoke some English. There was free secured parking. We stayed two nights, would have stayed longer but they were full for the weekend so we had to hit the road again. Turned out to be one of our best memories of France.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank RamblingVinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Tropez hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
#4 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Bastide du Port
La Bastide du Port
#23 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Lauriers
Les Lauriers
#50 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Lices
Hotel des Lices
#19 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Palmiers
Hotel Les Palmiers
#42 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mouillage
Hotel Le Mouillage
#17 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lou Cagnard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lou Cagnard

Property: Hotel Lou Cagnard
Address: 18 avenue Paul Roussel, 83990, Saint-Tropez, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the charm of an old provençale house and its peaceful garden , located only a few paces from the port of Saint-Tropez and the famous « Place des Lices » .Town’s centreGardenPrivate parking place closed at night19 rooms : bathroom , direct-dial téléphone, satellite tv , individual safety boxes, 15 rooms with air conditioning ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lou Cagnard Hotel
Lou Cagnard St Tropez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing