We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Benkirai, St. Tropez” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benkirai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Benkirai Hotel
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Benkirai, St. Tropez”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

This hotel is truly excellent! The Senior management, Bar and restaurant, check-in and cleaning staff were phenomenal. The Barman is one of the highest ranked in France, the staff have all been hand-picked and go beyond the call of duty to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Our thanks to all and especially to the Director, Julien,The Manager Antoine and the Barman Sullivan (who makes Tom Cruise look tame in his Cocktail making). Also the lovely check-in Ladies, who were so polite and professional. Try out the double 'D' Cocktail. It is beautifully tranquil, excellent location, but the shuttle service whisks you into nearby downtown St. Tropez, or the fabulous local beach area Tahiti Beach and Bora Bora Club. An unforgettable and fair priced holiday. We'll be back and we will also try out there hotels in Paris. This really should be ranked as five star! Truly Top notch! If you like lush tropical, industrial chic rooms, beautiful pool, bar and restaurant in a tranquil haven, but near all the hot-spots, this has to be the one. With Thanks Ian and Marscha

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanandMarscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien B, Directeur général at Benkirai Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Ian and Marsha,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your review so precise and are extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel Benkiraï.


Your satisfaction and your comments are an encouragement for us in the pursuit of making each stay a memorable one.


We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel Benkirai St Tropez or in an other hotel of our group in Paris : Hotel de Nell 5* or the Résidence Nell 4*.

With all our very best regards

Julien and his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    75
    33
    20
    13
See reviews for
39
144
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saranda, Albania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from May 14-17. The hotel is very tranquil. The parking lot was full yet we felt as though we were the only people there, as though we had the hotel to ourselves. The grounds are beautiful. It it set in a neighborhood of private villas 5 minutes from the town center. The rooms were beautiful as well. I do not understand some of the negative reviews I have seen on trip advisor! The service at this hotel is excellent. Whatever need we had was handled immediately and professionally. As for some reviewers who complained about prices of rooms or prices of room service, they should take in account that they are in St Tropez, a premium and prestige location. If you want a inexpensive vacation you should perhaps consider vacationing in Montenegro. My only regret about this hotel is that I did not have time to stay a few extra days.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien B, Directeur général at Benkirai Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments and thank you to highlight some of the unfounded comments. Montenegro is probably also a great destination :-).
Don't regret, you'll comme back certainly, do not hesitate to let us know, we will reserve you the best welcome.

Sincerely,

Julien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

The staff is very professional and helpful since my arrival. Available to answer any question or to provide advice on "must seen". The environment is very calm in a nice atmosphere. My sleep was perfect thanks to the very comfortable beds. The hotel location is perfect and a few km only from St. Tropez harbor. Unfortunately due to time constraints I did not experience the pool.
I highly recommend you to try the Mojito with Rosé wine and herbs from province. The bar man is a champion ;-)

Tout d'abord le staff est accueillant, professionel et ceci dès mon arrivée. Disponibles pour renseignements. Le cadre est calme, et très confortable. J'ai passé une excellente nuit dans un lit super confortable. Hotel à quelques km de St. Tropez en voiture. Malheureusement faute de temps je n'ai pas pu profiter de la piscine chauffée. (pour une prochaine fois). PS.- je vous conseille de goûter le cocktail Mojito avec rosé & herbes de provence.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuisGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien B, Directeur général at Benkirai Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the compliments on the quality of service and hospitality at the Benkiraï; we attach great importance.
Thank you for our Barman, Sullivan, France Mojito Cup champion 2013.

Pleasure to see you again,

Best regards,

J Brosset
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

This was our first ever trip to the South of France so we had decided to drive along the coast and sleep in different hotels enroute so we could try to maximise our experience of the Cote D'Azur.
As we drove into the car park we were greeted by a member of staff who offered to unload our luggage and park the car in the hotel's car park. The receptionist was polite and friendly and promptly checked us in. Our room had a view of the garden/pool area and was very funky with an open plan shower/bedroom divided by an electronic curtain as well as our very own private terrace. After check in we wanted to go to the beach so the receptionist arranged for a driver to drop us off to the beach and had told us to call the hotel when we want to be collected, now that's service!
In the evening we had pre-dinner drinks at the hotel bar outside on the terrace and it was a very romantic setting with the dimmed lighting and soft music playing in the background.
I truly enjoyed my stay and the Benkirai, the customer service provided by the hotel staff was outstanding and my only biggest disappointed was the fact that we arrived on the last day of the hotel's season otherwise I would have extended my stay by another couple of nights. I would definitely return to stay at the Benkirai, it's the hidden gem in St Tropez!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBBB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien B, Directeur général at Benkirai Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely touched by your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Benkiraï St Tropez.
Of course, we sent your very positive impressions to all the departments concerned.
Satisfying our customers is our reward.

Pleasure to welcome you again.

J. Brosset
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We were there with my boyfriend for 3 days. Unfortunately we didn't have time to check this hotel out in tripadviser and booked it just on the way, cos it was represented to us like a good modern style hotel, and we took it.
We arrived late in the evening and 1st night was awfull, because smell from our toilet was that bad that i couldn't sleep, had feeling that I'm on train station public toilet.
Next day we asked to change the room (didn't change hotel, because it was only for 3 days and was too stressful to do new research). New room was better from the piont of smell, this time it was on 1st (2nd) floor instead ground. But we had connection door to another room, through which we could hear every sound our neighbours, which was not very comfortable especially at their intimate moments.
Actually soundproofing is a big problem of this hotel.
For us it was a student camping, but with price of good hotel.All materials of interior were cheap and not good quality.
We didn't visit restaurant and breakfast, prefered to have it on the beach.

The good point of the hotel is that they have very nice garden and pool area, and they have good parking service. Personal was friendly.
So, in conslusion will say, it was not that terrible, but we won't come back and won't recomend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yulia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julien B, Directeur général at Benkirai Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we thank you for your comments which will enable us to improve our services.

We have noted all faults that prevented you to enjoy your experience, and we are sincerely sorry.
Believe that this information was shared with the Technical Manager.
The quality of service and comfort that we are committed to providing our customers every day, has to be perfect.

Thank you for taking time to relever some of our strengths: friendly staff, exotic garden, heated pool.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to help you discover the real image of Benkiraï as we conceive,

Sincerely,

The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We have just returned from the Benkiria Hotel St Tropez what a rip off !! They even charged for an empty car park even though there where only us and perhaps 3 or 4 other people in the Hotel
The rooms are pokey you walk through the Blue bath room to the sleeping area ,there is nowhere
to see yourself to make up without the blue reflection on your face . .
We have stayed all over The World this is the only Hotel we have stayed in where there where no other people , very pricey for nothing special . A simple petit dejeunet is 28 euros each a bottle of water 9 euros this is always complimentary.' very dissapointing ,dont waste your money ,there are some lovely Hotels all over St Tropez .

Room Tip: Didn't use the spa or fitness centre can't comment .Staff very nice but dont bother brushing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanne248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien N, Directeur général at Benkirai Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Dear Suzanne248,

I am the new Manager of the place and wanted to let you know that we took good note of your return and already correct most of the bad comments. We did not change the all design now but a complete renovation will occure next winter. Also worked on the breakfast offer and some of the other comments...

Sincerely yours,

Sébastien N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Ignore the negative reviews on this site which almost put us off booking! My friend and I spent a wonderful 3 nights at the Benkirai from Sept 20th to the 23rd. What a gorgeous time to come to this area as it is hot and sunny and much quieter than in the height of the summer. The hotel is located a little way out of the centre of town in a lovely quiet area with little traffic or noise apart from the cockerel! The hotel is very modern and crisp with lovely pool and gardens complete with comfortable sun loungers, coracle wicker cushioned seats and a cream yurt/teepee!! Check in was very efficient and despite arriving early we got straight into our room and were upgraded to a superior room on the ground floor at the back of the garden with its own terrace. On first sight we werent sure about the size of the room, and unfortunately there were no twin beds. It had an openplan bathroom with electric sliding curtains, but the shower, loo and washbasin were well planned and there was more storage in the wall cupboards than it initially appeared. The bed was comfortable and there was a DVD player, tv and minibar.
The pool area was clean and well kept, the bar and lunch area was nice too. We had lunch on arrival and the food was good if not pricy - 50 euros for 2 cokes and club sandwiches! We did not eat breakfast or drink in the hotel preferring to go out. The hotel runs a free shuttle mininus, which is a real bonus as its too far out of town ton walk too often or at night, and obviously as it was quiet and out of season we rarely waited for this. The drivers were very amenable and helpful and took us to the beach and into town, and you just have to remember to take the hotel number with you and ring when you want picking up. It stopped at 10pm on weekdays and 12pm on Fridays and Saturdays. The staff were very helpful and could not do enough for us -all credit to Delphine on reception who helped us out on the first night when we were tired from travelling and wanted the DVD on. She came to the room, rang the technician who had finished, and then managed to sort it herself!! The 2 chauffeurs were also good, and taught nothing of dropping us to the port, the shops and waiting for us, and taking us to a nicer beachclub than the bus normally stops at.
St Tropez in September is definitely to be recommended as apart from on the Saturday night it was pleasant to walk around with just enough life going on! Market day at the place des Lices on Saturday was rammed. Recommended bars were The Bar de Subes above the Cafe de Paris, Le Quai on the front and the Bar du Port later on if you want a dance!! Great fun!
So in conclusion, the Benkirai was great, in a pretty location, just out of town, with very helpful staff, agree minibus which will save you lots of euros in taxis, and a great pool and gardens!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KMDBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien N, Directeur général at Benkirai Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Dear KMDBirminghamUK,

I am the new Manager of the Benkiraï and wanted to thank you for taking the time to post this very precise comments regarding your stay. Of course since tyour last visit we did changes and made some evolution in our differents offers, atmosphere and service. (the shutlle is now running from 8h30 until 00h00 every day).
Whising we will have the opportunity to welcome you again for your next stay in Saint Tropez.

Sincerely yours,

Sébastien Nectoux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Tropez hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#1 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
#1 of 13 in Gassin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
#6 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau De La Messardiere
Chateau De La Messardiere
#3 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel  La Garbine
Hotel La Garbine
#8 of 25 in Ramatuelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Ferme d'Augustin
La Ferme d'Augustin
#2 of 25 in Ramatuelle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benkirai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benkirai Hotel

Property: Benkirai Hotel
Address: 70 Chemin du Pinet, 83990, Saint-Tropez, France (Formerly Lou Pinet St. Tropez)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#12 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Benkirai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Benkirai is located in a green setting close to this exciting whirlwind of Saint Tropez activity, just close enough for its guests to fully appreciate the sunlight of The Cote d'Azur, the scents of Provence, the warmth of the seasons out by the swimming pool and the proximity of the Mediterranean. In the middle of generous vegetation, the Benkirai has 37 rooms in a large Provencal-style Bastide and 3 other buildings surrounding the pool. The Charm & More Group entrusted the design of the Benkirai to renowned designer Patrick Jouin, who created an elegant establishment in a discreet and simple style, a balance between tradition and modernity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Southall Travel, Priceline, Prestigia and Booking.com so you can book your Benkirai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benkirai Hotel St Tropez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing