We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing short of superb”
Review of Le Dit Vin

Le Dit Vin
Ranked #43 of 296 Restaurants in Saint-Tropez
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$82
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Located in the very heart of Saint-Tropez’s old part of town, the open-air restaurant Le Dit Vin welcomes you every day from 12 p.m. to 3 p.m, and from 7 p.m. to 3 a.m. Discover the original architecture of the building and feel the authenticity of the village with its unique setting and its lively street bar under the starry sky at night that will make you want to dance freely like in the old days. Come and taste Katia and Bruno’s joyful cuisine in a friendly and family atmosphere. Enjoy the fine gastronomy full of Mediterranean flavors and made of local and organic products which Chef Emmanuel Vitorino guarantees home-made. Le Dit Vin is also a street bar serving tapas and it is the perfect place to gather up with some friends, spot celebrities, meet Tropezian people, and cheer up around drinks, at lunch time or in the late afternoon. (An exclusive all-you-can-eat on Friday nights). Have an amazing time all night long!
Genoa, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nothing short of superb”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

First of all, do not be fooled by the small bar downstairs, venture up and take in the wonderful multi level ambiance. This is one of those places that are to cosy for you to leave so you'll try to drag on dinner for as long as possible.
Everything started with a meat and vegetable delicate terrine, courtesy of the chef - excellent in flavor, light on your stomach. We were coming out of a long, big lunch at the beach, so we thought we would just try a couple of simple dishes and enjoy a bottle of wine. Well, the small dishes turned out to be too good to stop.
their reinterpretation of the caponata is delicious, and the addition of the fried egg on top, a stroke of genius. The tartare is quite simply heavenly: the perfect beef is mixed with a light pesto, fresh pine nuts and other delicate herbs...you'll want more.
These guys also understand the power of burrata - I was too full to indulge, but a bite was enough to make me melt.
Cannot wait to be back

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra M, Responsable relations publiques at Le Dit Vin, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you so much for your note !!!
We are so pleased and proud that you enjoyed that much your experience at Le Dit Vin.
Very satisfied to read that the Chef impressed you so well with his italian new style cooking.
Hope to have you very soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    72
    19
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We walked in after finding incredible reviews on trip advisor and were over the top impressed!! Everything from the Baratta (cow milk version of mozzarella) to truffle ravioli and chocolate mouse...they gave us plenty of time to enjoy and even ended our night with local lemon cella! Best food we've had in St. Troupe!

Helpful?
Thank Buffywojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra M, Responsable relations publiques at Le Dit Vin, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you !!!
So pleased you enjoyed your time at Le Dit Vin !
We are proud to confirm the reviews you found on TripAdvisor and we're so happy you had a great experience with us !
Thank you for contributing to our good reputation !
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous ”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

An amazing evening of food and wine and company , how a restaurant should be. The staff were accommodations and informative and the wine was delicious .

Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra M, Responsable relations publiques at Le Dit Vin, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you so much for your note !!!
We're very happy you enjoyed your time and liked the food & wine.
Hope to have you very soon with us.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice quiet lunch ”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

A few steps away from the harbour bustling with throngs of tourists, the inevitable touristic restaurants, cafés and ice cream vendors, this restaurant provides a welcomed change from all that. The place has some cachet and the chef cooks with excellent ingredients.

However, there is a distinct lack of side dishes or variety on the plate which would make the dishes even better.

Helpful?
Thank Henri_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra M, Responsable relations publiques at Le Dit Vin, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your note !
We're happy that you managed to escape from the madnessof the city center and found our restaurant !!! Nice to read you had a great time... I will personally tell the chef about your comments.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not to be missed.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was our first time in St Tropez, which has a number of restaurants that all look great. We would have never found this place without tripadvisor. So glad we followed folks advise on this one. The food was absolutely amazing. Everything was so fresh and wonderful. Amongst the four of us, we ordered all of the appetizers. All tasted wonderful as did the main courses. Jonathan was a gem and knew the menu extremely well. His service was one of the best we have experienced. All around amazing experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra M, Responsable relations publiques at Le Dit Vin, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you for your note !!
We are so pleased you had such a great experience with us !
I will tell Jonathan what you said , he'll be proud !
Thank you for contribuating to our good reputation !
Hope to see you next year !
Le Dit Vin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Dit Vin also viewed

Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Dit Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing