We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dune

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dune
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

excellent hotel - perfect stay - staf very professional and very nice - good location of the hotel close to the beach and Saint-Tropez - very comfortable room and excellent service - excellent restaurant and wonderful setting - do not change anything, it's just perfect !

Room Tip: Deuxeroom with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexei G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    16
    9
    3
    15
See reviews for
11
90
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

ok I have been in St Tropez for 3 days and chose this hotel for the location.
the hotel is nice, quiet and certainly WANTS to be 5 stars, although I would rate it 4 stars.

we were shown 3 types of rooms. the superior double, which was too expensive, and then the basic double, of which we then saw a couple, the first being impossibly small. we settled for a "funky" room which basically had a really nice big entrance-bathroom all in one. with a cool shower "linked" to the tub.
the room was small but OK. the view nothing to write home about.

pluses: the breakfast is really nice BUT it costs 30€ so It's expectable...
the staff is generally nice (see below), especially the guy working the night shift, from Romania, Cristian. he has been always nice, helpful and smiling. well done!
the hotel is nice and clean, very cosy
parking is free
rooms are quiet

minuses:
- quite expensive considering we were there at the end of the season
- the owner/manager is a GRUMPY MAN who should learn to smile and interact gracefully with his clients! I have no words to represent how disappointed I was in having to see his grumpy face each morning, nor have I the time to understand how someone with so little social skills can run a hotel.
he simply would stay there, nor say hello, nor ask any questions. never smiled once. I found this hard to bear at times.

all in all (still) a good stay, and I would go back. but PLEASE learn basic good manners, Monsieur!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DucatiMonster796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights while on honeymoon. The hotel is beautiful and very luxurious. The hotel staff were very professional and helpful providing a high standard of service. The hotel is a ten minute walk from town but away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre in a tranquil setting. It was a treat and we will definitely come back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Staff in reservation extremly rude - will never stay there! Made reservation and cancelled same day (20 minutes later). Hotel kept $400.00 for this!! Be careful!!
Had a lot of problems with my reservation. Staff is unresonable. They would not give any information when I called.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is very nice and situated in a quiet place. The breakfast was excellent. Some staff were really helpful and friendly. But i think, this is very strange, when you come back in your room after a long walking and you are asked to leave it for cleaning, because the maid finishes at four o'clock in the afternoon. Besides, when we tried to order the lunch in the room, there was very poor choice, for a great value of money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 681Olga_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Me and my wife have spent 2 weeks in Dune hotel and we appreciated a lot this hotel for its quiteness, nice design and the feeling of beeing home. Its a such a nice small hotel that we didnt want to leave ...The friendly staff, which speaks different languages and always ready to help at any time. It is the second time as we come to this hotel and this year they have changed the pool area, and we found it really fantastic. We loved to spend an afternoon by the pool. According to the restaurant it was really delicious and the dinner with the candles on the pool was so romantic. All the staff makes a really great job! We are definitely coming back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johniktam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is expensive but then not overly so for St Tropez. The public areas of the hotel are immaculately kept and this is complimented by excellent service from all the staff. The reception staff were outstanding in giving us recommendations to fantastic restaurants and arranging transport for us , the transport drivers were friendly , professional and efficient and the breakfast staff were very accommodating of any requests .

Our room had a private balcony, bath and shower and desk area- sounds reasonable ? However the actual bedroom could only just fit the bed and there was no room to walk around the end of the bed- I had to crawl over the bed to get to the bathroom , which was sandwiched between the bedroom and entrance area that contained the desk etc. Overall the room area would have been sufficient , but the design of the total space was poor, resulting in an extremely cramped sleeping area. Still given that we had the balcony and only used the bedroom to sleep ,this was not a big issue for us but others may be put off by this.
The issue that really puzzled me was all the nickel and diming , which I believe is unnecessary given the price you are paying for a room. A nespresso coffee machine is located in each room but you are charged 5 Euro per pod. I would have thought this could be included in the room price!!!. The same applies for beach towels- these are charged at 7 Euro each , but yet pool towells are not charged for. These petty charges were more of an annoyance than anything else- unnecessary in my view and detracted from what was otherwise a wonderful stay.

At first I thought that the breakfast at 30 Euro was expensive , but if you had to have the same in St Tropez , you would be hard pressed to eat as well. We were readily supplied with additional cappuccinos ,honey, croissants etc with a simple smile and " of course". Ten out of ten in this area.

The hotel has its own on site , secure parking but is a 30 Euro transfer each way from anywhere in St Tropez. This is the standard rate and we chose this option rather than share the driving after dinner and wine. As mentioned already- great transport staff and a stylish transfer!!

Drinks prices were what you would expect from a five star hotel.

All in all it is the staff that make this hotel work and I think their efforts are detracted from by some of the petty pricing policies of management which are an annoyance!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaWa1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Tropez hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
#7 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Yaca
Le Yaca
#26 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ponche
Hotel La Ponche
#16 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Byblos Saint Tropez
Hotel Byblos Saint Tropez
#6 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
#2 of 13 in Gassin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
#5 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dune

Property: Hotel Dune
Address: Chemin Bonnaventure, 83990, Saint-Tropez, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dune 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Provencal Hotel St-Tropez
Le Mas Provencal St Tropez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing