We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish menu, beautiful fresh produce, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Auberge Provencale

L'Auberge Provencale
Ranked #8 of 89 Restaurants in Valbonne
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cannes
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stylish menu, beautiful fresh produce, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Whether on the terrasse or pstairs in their cosy livingroom-style restaurant, the staff are always warm and welcoming. Efficient, friendly service and an unusual menu that goes far beyond the predictable Côte d'azur fare to off beautiful fresh fish, meat, pizzas and salads accompagnied with unusual vegetable dishes. The prices are reasonable and the plats du jour always inspire. Well worth trying.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chocoblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    123
    37
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice location in the square in the centre of Valbonne. Had an asparagus starter, sea bream fillet for main (we shared a pizza as well) and a lemon pie for dessert. The food was very nice but in my opinion not as good as at Le Coin de la Rue (2 mins walk away). Staff were very friendly, helpful and polite. I would happily come back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Points W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
315 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Authentic, tasty food with good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The menu at L'Auberge is different to last summer so i couldn't order their delicious steak tartare but there were so many other great-sounding choices on the menu that i didn't mind and everyone's food was excellent. The carafes of wine are good and very well priced too.

The inside room is lovely when there's a nip in the air and the outside terrace offers a great view of le beau monde. Definitely the best restaurant in the square.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lazzagear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Valbonne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

As a new resident of Valbonne since December 2013, my wife and I have tested almost all of the restaurants of Valbonne intra muros.

It is the Auberge Provençal that we have naturally chosen as our favorite. Jacques the owner, his very friendly team and his talented chef do their outmost to serve dishes of high quality. The fish they serve is provided directly by fishermen from the nearby cost and all the vegetables and herbs are grown in Jacques newly created garden.

I would recommend this restaurant to everybody who really enjoys quality food and who wants to eat where the locals eat.

Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
664 reviews
382 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Enjoyed a sunny Spring Sunday lunchtime sitting in the square at Valbonne. Chose L'Auberge because of it's location and the fact that it was almost full just after noon, although there are a wide range of restaurants in this small town to choose from.

Sat in the sun and ordered a small carafe of red wine which was very good. I choose the bream tartare - I was warned that this was a small dish but it is very rich and was accompanied by granny smith apples, whelk jelly and caviar from Acquitaine - a marvelleous dish but could have done with a dressing to cut through the richness of the fish and sauce.

My wife chose one of the specials - red mullet with ratatouille and basil which she thoroughly enjoyed. All in all a very nice lunch in the sun and without a large bill at the end.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Auberge Provencale also viewed

Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to L'Auberge Provencale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing