We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient 'arrière pays' experience compromise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Antibes Sophia Antipolis Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Valbonne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A convenient 'arrière pays' experience compromise”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is nested in the Sophia Antipolis techno park. The park is in a forest. It is not a campus with manicured lawn but a full Mediterranean forest, although with very accessible (with even public transport buses).
It is a limited service, mid scale hotel. This is not luxury by any means. Dont expect anything fancy. No Egyptian cotton sheets or thick towels. It is more of a small hotel for corporate trainings. This said, it is in a forest and as soon as the weather starts to be pleasant and warm (from April/May), it so pleasant to wake up in a very quiet environment only interrupted by the birds and have a healthy breakfast (albeit limited to essentials) in the outdoor terrasse. Again service is very limited. You have to be autonomous. There is a relatively small pool but it is not really a hotel where you spend the day. There is not much to do, especially within 20 minutes drive (if you know your way) you can be on the beach, or in the lavender fields.
After spending the day away in Antibes, Cannes or even Nice or Monaco, it is nice to drive up the hill and be welcome with the smell of the forest, the sound of the near by river. I find it a reasonable and convenient 'arriere pays' (back country) compromise and a relaxing way to cover a good part of French Riviera. Access to French Riviera highway is about 10 minutes away, as well as Biot, Valbonne and many other small villages.
You need to have a car and to get used to the itinerary. Dont arrive by night unless driven by someone who knows the area. It is probably much safer than crowded areas during the day, but it is very quiet at night...
The rooms don't have safe. You have to go to the Reception with the old key system, log etc...
While writing this review, I am wondering why do I go there....but I like the fact of starting and wrapping my day in a serene, simple environment.
PS: The rating system below force me to rank but I do not know whether the hotel has a fitness room and given the level of service, I would not imagine a Spa (and if there were one I will never lend myself to a massage there. It is simply not that type of hotel....yet).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C-View E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie-Anne J, Directeur général at Mercure Antibes Sophia Antipolis Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Thank you very much for your long and very detailed advice posted on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your time spent to write it and to give a lot of elements and good suggestions for the future travelers. As noted, thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and the evaluation with the others hotels of Sophia Antipolis. I hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    182
    99
    22
    7
See reviews for
81
114
23
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Tired and dated rooms. Probably ok for vacation, but considering this is in the middle of an office park is totally unsuitable for business. There are no work desks in the rooms, and inadequate and badly located power sockets for your laptop and phone charger.

Room Tip: choose another hotal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d6guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard S, Directeur général at Mercure Antibes Sophia Antipolis Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment. I noted that the room you had did not meet your expectations, and I ask you to accept my apologies.. For next time, do not hesitate to ask to get a our Provençal style room, furnished with a large desk to work and a large place to iron your shirts. I hope to see you again in our Mercure hotel. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Having stayed here before I recently returned to the Mercure Sophia Antipolis. Happy to find many things have improved significantly in the meantime.

Immediately upon entereing I was made to feel truly welcome by the truly friendly and caring reception agent. And this fantastic staff attitude continued upon every interaction - whether front desk, bar or restaurant. True hospitality - much better than in many 4-5 star hotels I stayed in.

Their newly renovated rooms are really nice and comfortable. The bedding now is really comfortable. The decor is very nice and everything was clean and in working order. Actually I prefer the rooms at the Mercure now over the ones the Sophia Country Club. Free Wi-Fi also worked fine.

The only thing that keeps me from rating it even higher is their restaurant. The breakfast buffet was disappointing to say the least. While hot items for breakfast may not be the most important thing - especially in France - when you pay the full breakfast buffet price of a hotel they need to be significantly better than I found them to be. Also food in the evening - while absolutely OK - was rather mediocre than outstanding. Their choices are also a bit to limited for me. I'm really missing some simpler and reasonably priced all-time favorites like a Hamburger or classic pasta dishes. Admittingly what I miss is not high cuisine - but for a hotel like this one far from other restaurants where you might chose to dine in more often, I really miss this for my part. Maybe that's just me as others seem to have really liked it the way it is.

So overall I'd think it is now my favorite Hotel in Sophia Antipolis, if only the food variety and also quality improved a bit more (to also include me).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imagine71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard S, Directeur général at Mercure Antibes Sophia Antipolis Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for your long and very detailed advice posted on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your time spent to write it and to give a lot of elements and good suggestions for the future travelers. As noted, thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and the evaluation with the others hotels of Sophia Antipolis. I hope to see you soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I usually stay in high-end properties - Aman, Peninsula, Mandarin Oriental and the likes, as they offer top notch service.

One finds here and there great service in mid-range / 3 to 4-star hotels too, but a service that never reaches the same level as the top-tier hotels, for obvious reasons. One being the rate that you pay !

I have to say, in all my 20 years+ travel experience, I have never encountered such a high level of service in a hotel such at the Mercure Sophia Antipolis Valbonne. For a 4-star / Mercure property, from front desk ( Flavie and colleagues), to the maids, the waitresses and waiter (Bft), one can only be surprised by such a level of commitement, service, smile, always willing to help. Thumbs up ! (I'm Platinum on ACCOR frequent traveller program, for what it's worth).

Adding the fact that the hotel is in a such lovely area, very green, superb park 1 minute walk from the entrance - great for running or taking the kids - , and the beach / downtown area of Antibes and Juan-Les-Pins within a 10 mn drive , this has to be the best deal for the area. Reaching CAnnes, Nice and monaco is even easier as one can access directly the highway without much driving (5' to access the highway entrance). Don't ever think the hotel is "far" : everything is within very easy reach (driving) and coming back there after diner, clubs, sight seing etc . is so relaxing and pleasant.

Breakfast is very nice, "real" Tome de Savoie ( French cheese, my favorite) and all - maybe they might add some salad.

On the downside, they should invest some money in the bathroom (Privilege room) - they are nice but slightly outdated esp. compared to the nice contemporary room (334 has a nice view over the pool). But that is a minor comment.

We have booked three long week-ends (3 nights) in May but will definitely be returning again and again - my only worry is that I am currently building a property in the area and once it is completed, I will not have the opportunity to come back to the Mercure Valbonne anymore ;-)

Congrats to the staff, they truly make up for an exceptionnal property. A message to the gentlemen at ACCOR headquarters : you might want to take a very close look at this property and diffuse their incredible training skills - or whatever it is that makes this hotel so welcoming.

Bravo !

Room Tip: Privilege Rooms ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KungFuWuta0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard S, Directeur général at Mercure Antibes Sophia Antipolis Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for your long and very detailed advice posted on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your time spent to write it and to give a lot of elements and good suggestions for the future travelers. As noted, thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and the evaluation with the others hotels of Sophia Antipolis. I hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Perfect location for our business trip. Staff is helpfull and smiling (not everyone to good in english doh). Rooms need refurbishing, but are ok for sleeping. Breakfast is very good. And dinner at the restaurant was tasteful and fair priced.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank oyvjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard S, Directeur général at Mercure Antibes Sophia Antipolis Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Sophia Antipolis. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback like yours especially about our restaurant and our breakfast. We hope to see you soon in Valbonne. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I always stay at this hotel (also known as 'le Petit Mercure') because it is clean, convenient, and affordable. The staff is extremely friendly and the food at the restaurant is positively awesome. I enjoy the scenery, the well kept gardens and the view of the pool. The sound of the crickets in the summer and the fact that you can actually open your windows to smell the flowers and the fresh air definitely add to the charm of this place. The only thing missing maybe is a gym. This said, I will continue to go there and prefer it to other, more expensive hotels in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but higher floors are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard S, Directeur général at Mercure Antibes Sophia Antipolis Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for choosing the “Petit Mercure” as you said for your last visit in Sophia Antipolis and also for writing such a positive review following your stay with us. We are delighted that you had a great Mercure experience! We look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Nice hotel, where I have been staying again and again for 20 years. Definitely my favorite hotel when I have to stay in Sofia. Staff is always very friendly, and you very soon feel at home. Just be sure to have a GPS at hand, finding your way in Sofia is a nightmare.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wistou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard S, Directeur général at Mercure Antibes Sophia Antipolis Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Many thanks for your advice posted on tripadvisor. As you are staying for 20 years in our hotel you know well it and you have lived the entire story (hotel built 22 years ago). All the team and I are really happy to welcome you since many years. We hope to continue for years again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valbonne
0.5 mi away
Novotel Antibes Sophia Antipolis
0.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Sophia Antipolis Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Beachcomber French Riviera
Beachcomber French Riviera
#1 of 3 in Sophia Antipolis
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Antibes Sophia Antipolis
2.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Antibes
Ibis Styles Antibes
#14 of 86 in Antibes
651 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Bastide de Valbonne
La Bastide de Valbonne
#2 of 10 in Valbonne
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Antibes Sophia Antipolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Antibes Sophia Antipolis Hotel

Property: Mercure Antibes Sophia Antipolis Hotel
Address: Rue Albert Caquot, 06560 Valbonne, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Valbonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Valbonne
#2 Business Hotel in Valbonne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valbonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Antibes Sophia Antipolis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful Oasis half way between Nice & Cannes Located in a lovely garden in the heart of a pine forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Antibes Sophia Antipolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sophia Antipolis Hotel Valbonne
Mercure Hotel Sophia Antipolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing