We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, charming hosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lou Cigalon

Lou Cigalon
Ranked #1 of 89 Restaurants in Valbonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$108
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely food, charming hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We went for my husband's birthday, loved the food and, with the amuses bouches and pre-dessert, were more than satisfied with the three course menu. Utterly charming hostess (not something you can always say about restaurants in this area...) and reasonably priced wine. Unfortunately, on a Tuesday night the restaurant was only half full and was a bit lacking in atmosphere - maybe on a weekend it would be buzzier. On balance, a very good meal and good value for money

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chooqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Lou Cigalon thanks you and answered in your opinion...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    29
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We visited this restaurant earlier this week. Our third trip to this restaurant in the past year.

It was yet again an amazing experience - faultless in every way and food that looks as good as it tastes.

Having eaten at a few Michelin star restaurants in the area we remain confused as to why Lou cigalon hasn't received the accolade yet. It certainly deserves at least 1 or 2 stars!

Another reviewer mentions that it's expensive but we disagree - there are many restaurants in the area where you can spend more money and not receive the standard of dining this restaurant provides.

Looking forward to our next visit already

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Lou Cigalon answered in your opinion...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another day in paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Since last time we visited, they gave maestro Thierry two forks in the Michelin Guide. Our only question is; why didn't he get a star. What an evening; the food is artistic in its composition and the taste is as it must be in paradise - if such place ever exist. We are already looking forward to Easter, as that will be our next opportunity to visit Lou Gigalon. This time - yesterday - it was me and my wife. Next time we will bring more of our family; can’t really wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stavanger2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Google Translation
Lou Cigalon a répondu à votre avis et vous remercie pour vos remarques…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opio, France
Level Contributor
139 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Valbonne village but expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a great gastronomic experience with truly quality French classic cuisine and superb wines. Be careful when selecting the wines as the cellar has some fine (expensive!) offerings as well as really excellent good value house wines. I live in Opio and know the place well ...and I can say that neither I nor friends have ever had a less than excellent meal.

The restaurant is small and intimate with few tables ...a great place to go as a couple but you could go with friends. I would most certainly reserve in advance.

The restaurant offers no views but the ambience is warm and cosy with Provencal rock walls. If you choose the menu carefully and the wine you will not break the bank ..however otherwise be careful!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Lou Cigalon answered in your opinion...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning quality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I had lunch here a few weeks ago, and we were delighted with the superb quality of the cuisine. The 3 course table d'hote (plus amuse bouche) was €29 per person; with a good bottle of wine and 2 bottles of water, the bill was over €100, but the value was undoubted, as we received a stunning meal, served with charm and friendlieness by the chef's wife. The main courses were delicous, but the starters and deserts were both sensational, in terms of design, presentation and flavours, so we left feeling that we had enjoyed a Michelin quality meal at a fair price for the exceptional quality. We enjoyed a chat after lunch with the chef (the local cookery school is lucky to have him as an instructor) who was as friendly as his wife, and we will certainly return whenever we are in the area, It will not surprise us if, by then, this restaurant will have a Michelin star; the patrons, the premises and - especially, the quality of the food preparation and presentation certainly justify one. [Thanks to previous reviewers for drawing out attention to this jewel, which we would otherwise have been most unlikely to have discovered]

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank b0bken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Lou Cigalon answered in your opinion...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lou Cigalon also viewed

Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Lou Cigalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing