We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”
Review of La Victoire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Victoire
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best location”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

An excellently sited hotel in the town centre. Typically French small rooms. Public parking (discounted by the hotel) within 50 m. Very friendly and helpful staff. Simple but good quality breakfast. Would recommend fror short stays.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are light and airy and ideal for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abrasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    84
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
167
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We opted for Vence over Nice, as we felt that it would be more relaxing. We were right - Nice is great, but always on the go, Vence is great, but in a different was, as it has a more relaxed attitude to life.

La Victoire is at the heart of things, on the edge of the market (while we were there it was half a dozen stalls of fruit and veg. except for the bric-a-brac market on a Wed. which saw maybe 12 stalls of everything from mirrors to Tintin books) and right beside the old town. There are probably 15 restuarants within 5 minutes walk plus a couple of boulangeries nearby (were we went for breakfast). You can also walk to the cathedral and check out the Chagall mosaic too. Parking is easy and discounted with a voucher from the hotel.

In terms of accommodation, access is via a single flight of stairs to the reception and then a lift to the three floors above. Rooms are on the small side and the bathrooms in need of updating (avocado suite anyone?), but generally clean, with hot water etc. The bedrooms have been modernised and double glazed. Even with Henry's Bar across the street and a restuarant below we didn't have a problem with noise, as everything seemed to shut down about 10.30pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thenumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had a one night stay at La Victoire. Once we finally found our way into town the car park and hotel were easy to find. The car parking was convenient and good value with the voucher picked up at check-out.
The room was small and a bit dated, ok for a one-night stay – but we experienced better value at other places on our travels.
Location was very good – it was magical to wander around the old town in the evening after dinner. Vence was an interesting, pleasant town to visit.
We didn’t have the breakfast, but sat outside the café downstairs enjoying our coffee in the sun, and picked up some pastries at the nearby boulangerie.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmhs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in a room overlooking the square. Room clean with plenty of space available for storing luggage. Pierre was very helpful in suggesting ideas for trips out. Tip, If driving park in the underground car park in the square and qualify for discount parking through hotel . Would recommend this hotel although note there are approx 10 steps up from ground level to reception. A lift is then available to the accommodation floors

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 969jasonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here our first night in Vance. While it was supposedly non smoking, people WEre smoking in a room close to ours. Breakfast 12 euros extra. Quite noisy. Rooms on the small size. I wifi very slow and spotty. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lydiaandrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Small, cosy hotel very well located on the main square of Vence, two minutes away from old town and next door to the tourist office where we were given interesting advice on what to see and what to do. The rooms are small but that is not a problem since there are so many activities going on outside. The hotel has a special agreement with the underground parking across the square so it was really easy and pleasant

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabelVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We recently paid another visit to Vence and again chose the Hotel Victoire as our base for touring the area. In fact we had the same room we stayed in last time. The rooms are fairly small but then your not spending most of your time in them and the prices match so you need to keep that in mind. Unfortunately for us there were some building works going on outside the hotel at the time of our stay and despite the heavy double glazed windows the noise was still intrusive. This is not however a reflection on the hotel and I am sure the work will have been completed by now. More disturbing however is the delivery driver that turns up at 5.30am every morning and makes a hell of a racket. If your a light sleeper, this may not be the hotel for you!

On the plus side the staff were as friendly and helpful as ever and are always on hand to answer questions and give you tips on things to see and do. Parking in the 24hr car park, which is under the square outside the hotel was incredibly cheap. I think we ended up paying 19 euros for the four nights we stayed. There is a discount given by the hotel. Remember to ask for a ticket from the desk before you go to pay for your parking. You put your parking ticket in the machine first and then the ticket from the hotel. If you time it right you can end up not paying anything at all at the machine and hotel simply bills you the discounted rate when you leave.

All in all we still rate the Hotel Victoire very highly. It won't suite everyone but it was fine for us. We probably would not stay there again on our next visit but that's nothing to do with the service provided by the hotel and a lot to do with the fact I am way too easy to wake! If your a "normal" sleeper you won't have any problems at all.

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper try to get one of the rooms away from the corner and side of the hotel that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcmaczone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vence hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#5 of 13 in Vence
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#7 of 13 in Vence
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mas de Vence
Hotel Mas de Vence
#10 of 13 in Vence
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Roseraie
Hotel Villa Roseraie
#3 of 13 in Vence
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Victoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Victoire

Property: La Victoire
Address: 4 Place du grand Jardin, 06140 Vence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Victoire 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 air condition bedrooms - double glazed windows - new renovated hotel in the center of town, next to the historical town of Vence. Airport transfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Victoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Victoire Vence, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing