We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Floreal - Your "Home Away From Home" in Vence!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Floreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Floreal
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Vence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Floreal - Your "Home Away From Home" in Vence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

This was our 3rd or 4th stay at Hotel Floreal and we feel more at home with each stay. The hotel is owned and operated by a wonderful couple that make us feel like we are staying with family. Our daughter is only 4 but she is treated like she is a very special guest.

The rooms are clean & comfortable, the breakfast is wonderful (the warm, freshly baked bread is a special treat) and the price is very affordable.

We visit Vence and the surrpounding area every year and we plan to make our next reservations at Hotel Floreal.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    111
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
66
108
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

It started well - a pleasant woman greeted us. We didn't have a reservation and asked for a room. She quoted us 125 euros which I said was too much, thank you and we prepared to leave. She then quoted us 100 euros for a different room and we agreed. The room was fine, if a bit tired. And the a/c almost cooled the room. But it was fine and we went out to see Vence. The following morning we awoke to no water in the sink, shower and the toilet had one flush worth of water. Called downstairs, ok, try again. Nothing. My husband went down and returned with 2 bottles of evian and a comment that - a plumber would be called and should be there at about 9...."or so." It was 7 am. We decided to pack up and leave. When checking out I spoke with the woman who checked us in saying I thought an accomodation of some sort should be made for the lack of water. "Let me get my husband - his English is better." This sullen man told us that our room was already discounted. I said we were only paying what we were quoted, and would have paid zero had we known the water didn't work. He grudgingly took 10 euro off our bill while repeating that there was nothing he could do. Well, in fact there WERE things he could have done. An apology for the inconvenience would have gone a long way. An offer to use the facilities in another room would have been excellent. Even an offer of their buffet breakfast on the house would have been appreciated. But we got a sullen "it's not my fault" and that doesn't cut it. He also had me sign NOT ONLY the credit card slip but a copy of the revised bill. I guess he wanted to be sure we didn't contest the charge, which we won't. We are the MEEKEST couple on the planet. We fall all over ourselves trying to be polite and unobtrusive. But this guy was rude and shouldn't be in the business if that is his attitude. Find someplace else. I will also be in touch with Best Western.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSky32022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

great welcome and exceptionally friendly, helpful service from owners and other staff. Don't expect luxury, but rooms are well sized and clean, with balcony, aircon and double-glazing. Pool area a bit cramped and the garden, though pleasant, could be better kept - in that climate they could easily brighten the place up with a more flowers and shrubs. Both pool area and garden suffer also from noise from the busy road so not great for relaxing. Fine for a base, and good value. Ten minutes walk and you're in Vence vieux ville, which is charming and full of art and good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank operasinger5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

This hotel is well located being just a safe 10 minute walk from the centre of Vence. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful and the room was comfortable with a good bathroom. Good safe free parking is available on-site, a real plus. On the Sunday we were there a flea market was taking place almost opposite the hotel. There were some nice things amongst the tat, particularly for foreign tourists and I bought a really great garden ornament for 4 euros.

We didn't eat at the hotel, although I'm sure the food would have been as good as the rest of the hotel's services. Vence is a GREAT town with lots of reasonably priced restaurants and the old town centre is pedestrianised, so great for just strolling about.

Overall a first rate hotel in a great town. We're going back for a long weekend in October.

  • Liked — Value for money and nice staff
  • Disliked — No opinion
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKtraveller5_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2008

I love the place. The owners Laurent and Carol are very nice and efficient; they made our stay unforgettable.

Rooms are quite big, very clean and comfortable with the view overlooking the garden and the pool; it is very quiet. The location is perfect very close the the center of Vence and great for many excursions; ask Laurent to help you to plan them if you want to do something special, his advices are excellent.

They just bought the place beginning of april and they change many thing to make your stay wonderful. You can also have dinner there the food is really good. We will come again as sson as possible.

  • Liked — The cleanliness? The Kindness Of The Service And The Sunbed
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gilparis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2007

Hotel Floreal is a no-nonsense Best Western (and member of the Logis chain) on the main Grasse road on the outskirts of Vence. A walk to the centre of town is about 15 minutes.
Don't expect high luxury. The hotel rooms are OK; functional and fine for a few days stay. Not the place for a very special occasion, but the price is good for the facilties on offer. Breakfasts are a bit pricey, though, at 12 Euro per person.
The hotel serves dinner but Vence has loads of decent and varied restaurants, so unless it's pouring down or you are tired out, a walk into town is indicated.
The staff are all very helpful and friendly and will make dinner reservations for you if you are going somewhere special.
As I say, it's fine as a base for a short stay, and Vence is a splendid small town.

  • Liked — Informality and friendliness
  • Disliked — Price of the breakfasts: over the top for what was on offer
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DJBCambridge_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2007

I stayed for a week with a group of young musicians.

Rooms were very basic but comfortable and clean. They varied in size - some very spacious whilst others were cramped . My room opened onto a terrace and the lawn - a nice area to relax.

The bathroom was clean and acceptable however the facilities were dated and rather tired.

The heated pool is quite small but pleasant and was always clean.

Breakfast buffet was good. Lunch and dinner consisted of three courses which were most enjoyable.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel was a short walk from St. Paul-de-Vence, a classic french village/town which is well worth a visit.

Overall a pleasant stay, with good food and friendly staff.

I would not recommend this for a luxurious get-away, however it is perfect for a short stay to explore the local area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Old fashioned bathroom
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Forest1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vence hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#5 of 13 in Vence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Roseraie
Hotel Villa Roseraie
#3 of 13 in Vence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mas de Vence
Hotel Mas de Vence
#10 of 13 in Vence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#6 of 13 in Vence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Floreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Floreal

Property: Hotel Le Floreal
Address: 440 avenue Rhin Et Danube, 06140 Vence, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Floreal 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet hotel with rooms and terrace overlooking the garden. Heated swimming pool, restaurant and barbecue in summer time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Floreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vence
Vence Best Western
Best Western Floreal
Hotel Le Floreal Vence, France - Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing