We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views”
Review of La Bergerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Bergerie
Ranked #3 of 15 Vence B&B and Inns
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Alexandre and his father were lovely hosts. We were provided a superb breakfast every morning on a beautifully sunny terrace overlooking the sea. Much care and attention has been given to making the rooms comfy and luxurious (we stayed in Room No. 1, and the studio [for just 1 night]). Each morning over breakfast we were able to chat about suggested places to visit, and we were given some wonderful recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing. This property offers a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Free parking and wifi are available too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne-Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Compact, but very nice and clean room (we stayed in room nr.3) with a lot of privacy.
The B&B is located in a very calm, but central environment (5 minuten to Vence, 10min to St.-Paul de Vence and Tourettes-sur-loup, 30min to Nice and Cannes, 45min to Monaco, 1h30 to Gorges du Verdon).
The pool is enormous and the view is amazing (from Nice to Antibes, coastal view with all surounding mountains).
Breakfast is very good. If you need something extra, the owners will deliver it.
The owners (Alexandre and father) were very kind and gave good advice about the region, restaurants and things to see (as nice tips for parking,...).
We would definitely recommend this B&B to visit the Cote d'Azur!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Alexandre and his father give as much as service as they can, with delicious cheeses at the breakfast (or eggs as you want) and a lot of tips for day trips. But you get really overwhelmed by the beautiful location, the wonderful rooms (1 or 2), with the very big terrace and the splendid views over pine trees and the cote d'azur. The pool is really, really big. The location close to Vence is very comfortable and Vence is a really nice town.

Room Tip: room 1 or 2 have a splendid terrace and see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this great property, with the most wonderful hosts on 19/7.
I couldn't recommend highly enough, impeccably clean, luxurious fit out, private, quiet and resort like.
An easy drive to Vence, and the old city.
Delicious breakfast served by the pool, overlooking the hills, and homesteads.
The bed was soooo comfortable

Room Tip: I could not fault any part of La Bergerie, However my husbands map skills sent us to many destinati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, KS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

There is a lot to like about this B&B. The view from the pool area, where breakfast is served, is spectacular. The breakfast is very nice, and Alexandre is happy to have eggs cooked to your specifications, in addition to delicious croissants and baguettes. Alexandre and his father were both pleasant and accommodating, made helpful suggestions about local restaurants, and even made reservations for us. They both seemed very eager to please. I have one caveat: There are big differences among the rooms. Two of them face south and open onto a large deck overlooking the pool, with a great view of the sea in the distance. At least one of them has a very large tub that could accommodate two people at once. The other two rooms face north or east, with considerably less desirable views. The north-facing one also has a shower with no door or curtain, so it is hard to keep from flooding the bathroom floor as you shower. On the other hand, all the rooms have comfortable king size beds, so sleeping is easy. This is a luxurious place. To enjoy it to the fullest, spend the extra money for the best rooms. They are more than worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms #1 and #2 have the best views and share a large deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We emailed about staying here but someone had just reserved their last room so Alexandre offered the studio instead. The room looks exactly as is in the pictures he emailed but it's not the luxe described in other reviews of the rooms in the house. Firstly, the wifi doesn't work in the studio or even at the pool. We could only get one bar between our three devices (and with an unsteady connection) if sitting on the porch in front of the breakfast area. Secondly, the studio was damp even though it was cold outside. We left the windows open during the day to try and air it out which helped but then we came back to spiders in the room and the frogs at night are so loud even with the windows shut that you can't leave them open all night (and the heater just made the air even worse). Also, the room could have some nicer touches such as toiletries (only hand soap was provided) and shades on all windows to block sunlight. Between the musty smell, loud frogs and no wifi, I definitely would not recommend staying in the studio.
However, the location was really good, great views from terrace and the breakfast was very generous with breads, croissants, strawberries, eggs and ham, teas, etc. Also, Alexandre and his parents were very nice and always checked in to see if they could provide anything else. One of us got sick and they offered us medicine which was very sweet. Overall, I think we would have had a much better experience if we had stayed in the house.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zh913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Let's be straight - the accommodation here is right at the top end. Rooms are very large, pool is spectacular, TVs are preposterously big and there's a great view. If you want a taste of living with the super rich of the Cote then this is the place for you.

If you are looking for the personable warmth of a B&B then you may be a little disappointed. The hosts are very efficient and happy to dispense advice, but staying here is very much a business transaction. You pay a (fairly high) amount of money and get service in return. The gated community in which it is located is secure, but feels a little oppressive and certainly not a welcoming ambience. I've stayed in some beautiful b&bs in the past and felt like I've made good friends for the future, sharing cultures and experiences. Those places are rare, and La Bergerie is probably not one. But if you want a taste of how the other half lives then go for it.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Fromagier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vence
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
426 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Roseraie
Hotel Villa Roseraie
#3 of 13 in Vence
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#7 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
289 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chateau Saint-Martin & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bergerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bergerie

Property: La Bergerie
Address: Lotissement la Bergerie 2431 route de Cagnes | Residence la Bergerie Villa 15, 06140 Vence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
« La Bergerie » entirely renovated in 2012, with an independant access. There is an incredible view of the Mediterranean. The 4 different themes of the rooms will surprise you, with “tnt”, wifi Internet connection, a high-quality and high-comfort beds, a fully equiped bathrooms with toilets,fridge,air conditioning. This place offers privacy and cosiness to its customers, thanks to its peaceful and quiet environment, with swimming-pool , 5 Kms from Saint Paul and 12 Kms from Nice International Airport. "La Bergerie” is at the heart of the main touristic activities and sights of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Bergerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bergerie Vence, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing