We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Vence
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Arrived here after a terrible experience at the apartment we had originally booked (adagio apartment - Nice promenade - do not stay here unless forced) and what a way to clear all the stress away. Beautiful surroundings, fab pool, lovely food and excellent customer service. Nothing too much trouble for the staff and our duplex room with terrace was spacious and well equipped. Only wish we'd booked this place originally so we could have been there from 3 pm rather than arriving at 7pm. Would highly recommend and can definitely envisage staying there again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarereilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantemerle, Responsable commercial at Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 February 2015
Dear Clarereilly,

Thank you for sharing your experience of The Cantemerle Hotel Restaurant and Spa.

We are so pleased that your unplanned arrival at our hotel allowed you to enjoy your holiday in the French Riviera.

It is really important to all the members of our team that guests get to totally relax and enjoy all the excellent services we have to offer. That is how a holiday should be.

We hope you will be in the area again soon, so that you can book with us and know in advance that your holiday will be a success,

Emmanuelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    139
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
76
223
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed two nights at the end of our tour around the Alps Maritimes. A peaceful haven set in gardens above the coast. Lovely pool and good restaurant where we ate breakfast, which was lovely. Had dinner there once too, which was very good. Stylish room, with a shady terrace.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tegfantrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantemerle, Responsable commercial at Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 February 2015
Dear Tegfantrio

It is an absolute pleasure to hear a guest call the Cantemerle “peaceful haven”. A place of perfect rest and relaxing is exactly what we strive for, with the extra bonus of great food, service and swimming facilities.

Thank you for sharing your experience of The Cantemerle Hotel - Restaurant & Spa,

Emmanuelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Highly recommended. Quiet location but near enough to walk into town or get the free shuttle bus. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent restaurant. Beautiful garden and pool with lots of space to relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantemerle, Responsable commercial at Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 February 2015
Dear Elizabeth J,

Thank you for highly recommending the Cantemerle Hotel - Restaurant & Spa, we will make sure that guests following your recommendation will not be disappointed.

Your trust is precious to us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the French Riviera,

Emmanuelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A great place to stay if visiting Vence and St Paul. Good spa facilities with both indoor and outdoor pool, Gym fairly limited but good steam room.
A peaceful escape from the crowds on the coast, Good size rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantemerle, Responsable commercial at Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 February 2015
Dear Kerrieblue,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Cantemerle Hotel - Restaurant & Spa.

We are indeed the perfect alternative to the crowded coastal front. From the peaceful gardens of the Cantemerle you can see the glistening blue of the Mediterranean just a few miles away, which is the best way to appreciate the beauty of the French Riviera

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area,

Emmanuelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Lovely location and nice and quiet at night. Good size rooms and comfortable beds. Restaurant food was also good. The staff here are truly excellent and among the most helpful and friendly I have come across. Not too far to walk into the town of Vence which is a really nice town.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be of equally good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantemerle, Responsable commercial at Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 February 2015
Dear Christopher F,

Thank you for your wonderful compliments to the staff, I can assure you that the team have been informed of your feedback.

It is for us the best reward to know that you enjoyed our establishment and our customer services so much.

It only remains for me to say, on the behalf of all the team, that we hope to welcome you back as soon as possible,

Emmanuelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I spent a night there from friday to saturday as we needed a quiet, high-quality getaway. It was a great stay at Cantemerle. A small hotel surrounded by a beautiful garden with pool and great view. Very friendly staff. We were there friday evening where they have their famous Fruit de Mer buffet. It was awesome!

Room Tip: Book your stay directly at their website as they have great deals you will not get through any of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMajlergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantemerle, Responsable commercial at Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 February 2015
Dear Dr Majlergaard

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Cantemerle Hotel - Restaurant & Spa.

We are delighted that even just the one night was enough for you to enjoy a relaxing time with your wife.

Our sea food buffet, served every Friday during the season, is like you say rather special.

We hope you can stay with us for a longer break next time,

Emmanuelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackheath london
Level Contributor
167 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Having never visited Vence before we were lucky to have booked here as it is a good base to explore the Nice/Cannes area.We had no car and wanted to relax in the hotel and explore very locally around Vence & St Paul de Vence.The Hotel is a little outside the town about fifteen minute walk that is not very exciting so a taxi is 15 euros or there is a little complimentary circular bus which is good but has odd gaps during the day and doesn't run after 6pm but a really nice local guy taxi Oliver is much cheaper (10 euros to town) or 15 to St Paul de Vence.
Access to town is vital if you are not with a car as there was no lunch anywhere in the hotel not even the smallest snack, and when we arrived on the Sunday evening we learnt that the hotel restaurant wasn't open on Sunday or Monday! Not a problem when you have worked out the local transport but not many restaurants open in Vence on Sunday & Monday evenings either.
Staff are truly helpful and although the hotel is owned by a gentleman from Strasbourg there is a real family feel about the place and they are a close knit team who have worked together for some years.The outside pool is not very warm but there is a nice small indoor pool with a lovely sunning area close to it,in fact part of the charm of the hotel is the number tranquil little areas there are to sit read and relax.
To describe itself as a Hotel-Spa is a bit of an exaggeration, there is a small area with three or four exercise machines and a steam room but there are no staff and if you want massage or beauty treatment from the brochure they phone someone from outside to visit for this service.
Our bedroom was stylish & comfortable,we really enjoyed our stay and on the first two evenings enjoyed meals in the Michelin starred Le Vieux Couvent with wonderful hosts.However when the hotel restaurant opened we ate exquisite food .l on both nights food and service were wonderful.
We found Vence a lovely charming small town with bars and cafes of great personality and much interesting history but the jewel in the crown is the remarkable Rosaire Chapel designed by Matisse after being nursed by a local Vence young woman who later became a nun.Given that this was the week of the opening of the Matisse exhibition focussing on the very "cut-out" technique honed in this period in Vente this was a unique insight and the mature lady who gave us a guided tour of the Rosaire was quite unforgettable
Finally of course no one can ignore St Paul de Vente which is breathtakingly beautiful with more amazing galleries and up market shops than you could imagine could be packed into such a small place.The views are stunning and you must pop in to La Terrace a lovely cafe with a small but delicious menu served by a very special family,great value,but just savour that view! Loads of places to linger over a glass of wine or coffee but be warned that the place is very full of tourists when we arrived of the teenage variety by the time we left they had been reinforced by hordes of seniors! Why not! it is a lovely place and they were all having great fun.
Footnote the breakfast in the hotel was very good indeed Scrambled egg and sausages pandering to the Brits and a warm morning welcome and a serious challenge - how to get a soft boiled egg using a small Heath-Robinson boiler! Good luck! We will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantemerle, Responsable commercial at Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 February 2015
Dear Barry S,

Thank you for sharing with such detail your discovery of our region and the hotel. We are delighted that you “will return” and we look forward to welcoming you.

You will be pleased to know that for this season 2015 we have enlarged the spa facilities and have opened a dedicated massage and beauty treatment room.

We have also extended our snaking services. However, in the low season which is when you were exploring our region, it is best to inquire in advance on which restaurants are open on Sundays and Mondays.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Emmanuelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vence
1.3 mi away
Chateau Saint-Martin & Spa
1.2 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#2 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Roseraie
Hotel Villa Roseraie
#4 of 13 in Vence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#4 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
2.0 mi away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#3 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant

Property: Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
Address: 258 Chemin de Canta Merle, 06140 Vence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is enclosed in a stunning Mediterranean park, where you canrelax in the shade of the umbrella pin tress by the heated pool or on the sun terrace offering views of the Mediterranean. The Hotel Cantemerle also has a SPA including a heated indoorswimming pool, a superb Hammam, showers and a fitness area. For total relaxation, beauty treatments and massages can be booked during your stay. The hotel is entirely air-conditioned and offers a gourmet restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Cantemerle Vence
Relais Cantemerle Hotel Vence
Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant Vence, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing