We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“late night find”
Review of Les Lavandes

Les Lavandes
Ranked #2 of 83 Restaurants in Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We provide a twist of fench mediterraneen and thai food prepared from fresh items cooked "a la minute" in a charming provencale historique city
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were happy to be squeezed in to a late sitting at Les Lavandes and noticed in the menu a delightfully worded explanation that since the restaurant is solely a husband and wife team there might be a wait for the freshly cooked food. We are very glad we waited! the service was charming and the food delicious. We enjoyed excellent steak frites with a creme brûlée foie gras to start with and a wonderful chocolate dessert at the end. We definitely hope to get back there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert T, Owner at Les Lavandes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you so much for your so kind review about our restaurant the time you spent and the food and service your got. We also hope to see you again. Heartily, from Robert and Siriya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

I go on holiday for a short break to Vence at least once a year, and I always without fail make a booking for dinner at Les Lavandes- sometimes I go there twice.

The wine and food are always excellent. I can happily say that I have never been disappointed by anything I have eaten or drunk there. The owner is a very polite and friendly man, and I am always impressed afresh by how he and his wife maintain such excellent quality of service and food singlehanded.

I thoroughly recommend a trip to anyone visiting Vence.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tourist3873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert T, Owner at Les Lavandes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

thank you so much for your faithfulness, for the kindness and the wonderful review you wrote about our restaurant. We are very grateful and we'll be very happy to see you again. Yours faithfully. Robert and Siriya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Set in the square. Luckily we arrived early as we had not booked, we saw people turned away after we got our table as it was mainly reserved tables. Food was delicious. Waiter was friendly even though he was rushed off his feet. There is only one waiter so you do have to wait a little while but don't let this put you off as the food is well worth the wait and it is very relaxing. Well worth a visit.

1  Thank sarasfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert T, Owner at Les Lavandes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you so much for this delightful review. Hoping to see you again to serve you the best way we can the best food you like. Yours faithfully, Robert and Siriya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The restaurant is situated in the square of the Old Town of Vence. Fortunately we arrived early and I was able to arrange to exclude the mushrooms from the cognac sauce to accompany my eye fillet steak. It was the best piece of steak and the most delicious sauce I tasted during our entire French holiday. Every one of our party (a total of four) loved their food and the sweets were magnificent. This restaurant deserves to be ranked number 1. The maitre d’/part owner was run off his feet but despite being very busy he was accommodating and cheerful. He made the evening that much more enjoyable. I had done my homework and found the restaurant on Trip Advisor. What a great site!
Delighted Aussies

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Natalie_Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert T, Owner at Les Lavandes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you Madam to write a so sweet review about your experience at les lavandes. We are very gratefull for this and hope to see you again somedays to make you again enjoy your evening in Vence. Yours faithfully Robert and Siriya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a wonderful dinner. The menu was limited but each of our selections was wonderfully prepared and presented. The crème brûlée foie gras was to die for. The service was very pleasant; even though there was just the one waiter, he was attentive and paced the meal very comfortably.

1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert T, Owner at Les Lavandes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you Monsieur to have given a so great appreciation to our restaurant about the meal you had. We'll be always here to serve you the best food with best service as we can. We hope to see you again somedays. Yours faithfully, Robert and Siriya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Lavandes also viewed

Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Les Lavandes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing