We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”
Review of La Maison du Frene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison du Frene
Ranked #1 of 15 Vence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My friend and I had two rooms here in May of 2013. The hosts could not have been more helpful with everything. The place is full of fun art, I had the Marilyn Monroe room. Comfortable beds, spacious rooms, goodies for breakfast, it was wonderful! While there, unfortunately the street to the front was being worked on, but it didn't impact us much, except for getting in and out of the place. But you can't fault the owners for that and I'm sure the work is completed by now! The town of Vence is lovely, with many shops and restaurants. I hope to return one day.

Truly an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Both of the rooms on the top floor were really spacious. Not just a bed and bathroom, but full sized...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjr711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
107
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Perfectly located in the small town of Vence, rooms are very comfortable (we didn't have any noise issue). Bathroom was good - although shampoo was missing the first night.
The hosts are charming and very welcoming. Breakfast was plenty - and croissants in particular were very good.
All in all, everything's been said about this place already, you cannot go wrong with this b&b!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKB_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Perhaps our impression was tainted by our arrival experience: We were told we could arrive anytime after 3pm, so when we got there at 3:30pm nobody was there. We called the number several times and emailed, but only after 25 minutes did we hear back, then it took another 15 min for someone to show up and let us in. Given that we had our luggage and car it was quite uncomfortable as there is nowhere to park.

Then we were told we had to park our bikes in the public garage, a first on our 3.5 week trip staying at 10 different places.

The room was big and nicely decorated. Every corner of the house is filled with art of many different periods and a lot of pop art. It is entertaining and a bit kitsch, but it is fun.

Unfortunately we didn't get a good nights sleep as we were woken by many loud scooters as well as the street cleaning that started at 5am right below our room.

Breakfast was nothing special. Fresh croissants/baguette, industrial marmalade and a yoghurt.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schnubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This inn is lcoated in an old house with three guest rooms. It is a fascinating little find full of eclectic art with large rooms which are more like apartments. It is run by two gentlemen who we found tremendously helpful and very concerned to ensure that our time in Vence was pleasant. We were there for three nights and they offered useful advice on places to go and restaurants. The breakfast was quite lovely. The price of the room was a bargain considering the location. The only drawback was the need to park in a nearby public lot but the house is perfectly located right at the entrance to the old city by the town square so that is to be expected. The art is a lot of fun - virtually every time I entered a room I noticed some piece of whimsical art that I had not seen before.

The town square had its summer festival on when we there which meant music by named performers every night. It made the first hour or two of sleeping a little noisy but then we probably should have bought a ticket and watched the show!

Room Tip: We had the room on the top floor and it was huge, with a large separate bathroom, walk-in closet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cankenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were disappointed on arrival to find the street was being resurfaced, both noisy and irritating for us and the owner. However the maison was charming, interesting and individual. Our room was spacious and delightfully furnished in country house style alas we couldn't open the window without letting the noise of pneumatic drills in. When I asked if they had a terrace, hoping for a quieter place to relax, I got a snappy reply of " did you see one on they web site ?" from the person who greeted us on arrival and helped with the smallest of our four bags. At this point we decided to stay for one night only not the three we booked for. We met Guy the owner in the morning at breakfast, he could not have been more charming and apologetic for the inconvenience outside. We hope the road works were finished quickly and that his ample charm rubs off on his assistant.

Room Tip: Our room at the very top of the house was super, light and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

There is not so much to add to the appreciations of former guests - but maybe just that they all are right to give excellent marks. A very original place to stay, comfortable suites, attentive hosts, so much to see, in short words, a perfect place for a few days off! Guy and Thierry are very proud of their region, and they share their best tips with great pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DieMiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I have never written a review before. For the first time I am inclined to write and explain the privilege of being guests at the Maison du Frene.
The building, the design and decorations, the food are all wonderful.
However, a great hotel is defined by its people. Our hosts, Guy & Thierry are a class above anything in France.
We have had a wonderful trip to France, but wished we stayed in the Hotel Maison du Frene everywhere we went.

Room Tip: I clicked on the pool and fitness centre by accident and can't un-select them. They don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vence
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Roseraie
Hotel Villa Roseraie
#4 of 13 in Vence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#5 of 13 in Vence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cantemerle Spa & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
1.7 mi away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#1 of 12 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Victoire
La Victoire
#3 of 13 in Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison du Frene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Frene

Property: La Maison du Frene
Address: 1 Place du Frene, 06140 Vence, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Maison du Frene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Du Frene Hotel Vence
La Maison Du Frene Vence, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing