We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Hotel Saint Michel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Saint Michel
Reviewed 25 August 2013

It is difficult to find accmmodations of value on the Cote D'Azur, so we were pleasantly surprised with this hidden hotel gem. Friendly, attentive service, nice spacious and clean rooms and a good breakfast. A large swimming pool is available too. Great views of the surrounding towns (Cap D'Ail, Villefranche sur mer). Prices are very reasonable and much cheaper than the surrounding accommodations. Quite a find!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Saint Michel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed here a few nights to pick up our lease car. A bit out of the way but worth the effort to find. More than obliging hosts. Hotel cannot be classed most palatial, it is not the most modern either, but it does have a good atmosphere. Large room, good size balcony, separate kitchen, bathroom, toilet, great pool, good local walks for views. As the Hotel is in a less built up area it is very easy to overhear conversations, but can be very quiet also. Yes it is a little tired but renovations are being undertaken. For its star rating it is living up to them. If you want to save some money for sightseeing and visiting Monaco then Saint Michel is the place. Breakfast was not flash but Helene did make fresh croissants, jam made from the fruit in the orchard, and lovely fresh coffee so top marks there. Helene even did our washing for us while we visited Canne (thanks). Her info about the area and things to do was very good. We were pleased with our stay and although some reviews have been harsh this is a family run business and survives during the summer months on bookings. We wish them well.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the road, one room at end without balcony has views but could be very hot as gets...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

After reading favorable reviews which I based my decision on I felt it necessary to provide a different perspective of Hotel St. Michel. Hotel St. Michel at first glance appears charming positioned in the scenic hills above the towns of Beaulieu-sur-Mere and Villlefranche. Its curb appeal is certainly positive however unless you plan to sleep in the lobby or breakfast area, guest rooms have a lot to be desired. This review is based on a standard guest room and not the reported renovated rooms discussed in previous posts if they even exist. With the exception of a few end units all standard rooms look out onto a gravel parking lot which is not only esthetically unpleasing but is extremely noisy. This parking lot not only sees a fair bit of traffic but also seems to serve as a public gathering place as well. Conversations carry on in to the late hours with little concern for other guests so prepare yourself to get up and join in the conversation or pack ear plugs for the night. As for the rooms expect a very dated decor and if your room is furnished with carpet it will undoubtably be extremely soiled to the extent you will not want to remove your footwear. Bathrooms are also quite dated and are equipped with standard tub and hand held shower wand however there is no rod to hold the wand for showering and there is no shower curtain to control spray. Bath walls have noticeable mold likely due to poor ventilation and a distinctive sewer odor permeates thru-out the room. As for toiletries you must ask for them and you will be presented with a standard bar of soap and blister packs of shampoo. Hair dryer is available but again upon request. Beds are comfortable however DO NOT make the mistake I made which was to look under the mattress. To my horror there were large dead bugs as well as smaller flea like bugs hopping around and speaking of bugs if you happen to travel during mosquito rooms have mosquito coils so be prepared for not only noise to get thru the windows.Breakfast for 10 euros in ordinary with a standard menu - cereal,bread,cheese,jam and meats including coffee. The breakfast room is well decorated and pleasant to sit especially after a nite in one of the rooms. As english speaking guests we were treated different than others including by the owner who greeted everyone at breakfast but us. Little did he know we were fluent in french.
Bottomline I would not recommend this hotel under any circumstance!

Room Tip: Look in Beaulie-sur-mere. Consider Hotel Select for a good 2 star option.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Bcpetemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My wife and I found this serene, quiet, family-run hotel while visiting the French Riviera. It is situated off the Moyenne Corniche, near Villefranche Sur Mer, between Nice and Monaco, less than 30 minutes from Cote D' Azur airport. We found the family (Helene, Marc and their daughter) to be friendly and accommodating in every respect. This hotel features: a lovely swimming pool, comfortable rooms, free WiFi, free parking, stunning views, verdant gardens, great breakfasts and nearby hiking trails. We found it to be very reasonably-priced as well, and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonathon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed one week and loved it. We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms. It was great to have a swimming pool in the hot July weather. It's a good idea to get directions ready before you leave home. Driving thru Nice from the airport we missed the turn off on Avenue Olivula the first go round. It is the turn right after the tunnel.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianCouple56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at Hotel Saint Michel. The owners Marc and Helen are some of the warmest and most friendly people we met on our entire trip through Europe. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing stay away from the noise and traffic of Nice then look no further! The view at night a short walk from the hotel is breathtaking. The home cooked meals by their mom were a great break from the tourist locations we visited. The pool was relaxing and the rooms were very clean. We cannot wait to return next year!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Took some finding......and Taxi's refused to come up......but don't let that put you off......Run by Helene and her husband this is a real treasure. The room was a tad tired, but we can forgive that as everything else was fantastic......especially breakfast served by Helene.....would I stay there again absolutely.....would I recommend it......absolutely a real gem run by wonderful people!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenbeenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
561 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Hotel La Villa Patricia
#5 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel de la Darse
Hotel de la Darse
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Michel

Address: 2000 avenue Olivula, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Number of rooms: 195

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing