We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For delicious food and friendly service - a MUST visit!”
Review of La Caravelle

La Caravelle
Reserve with
La Caravelle is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“For delicious food and friendly service - a MUST visit!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our third visit to this charming restaurant! Brilliant menu and great variety of splendid food, highly recommend the soupe de poisson, friendly and prompt service, we will be back. The owners have some lovely puppies, they are delightful and worth a visit, were getting many hugs! The restaurant is situated in great location, a magical evening and really good value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank henry538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    90
    16
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

really enjoyed my food here , it had a great welcome from the staff , the food was fantastic good portions , would go again at the drop of a hat

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeavx2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Bouillabaisse”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had planned to go to Loco Loco for mussels but it was closed, so ended up at this restaurant halfway up the hill. The service was very friendly and welcoming. We decided to try the bouillabaisse and because there was a bit of a wait, shared a plate of stuffed mussels first. These were nice and the soup was very tasty and full of seafood, but a bit heavy with a potato-y sauce. A little more expensive than other meals we'd had in the area but overall very nice and filling and there seemed to be quite a few regular customers, always a good sign.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vandg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, great value for money”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This restaurant is in a great location, the service is energetic and the food is very good. We payed 16Euro for a delicious and fresh spaghetti gambas and couldn't have asked for anything else.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emmaandjessgoeuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great meal, excellent service and charming location”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We chanced across La Caravelle while visiting Villefranche. The restaurant is in a touristy area but not right on the main beach area. The owner was very welcoming and we had a great table on the terraced alleyway area. We both chose the 'menu' which had a wonderful large selection and we had excellent food. My first dish was a crab salad with 2 huge prawns, followed by sea bass with excellent vegetable sides. My dessert was a good tart tartine with ice cream. The cost was just €19. Portions were huge and the food very good. My partner had a fantastic goat cheese salad appetizer followed by red mullet, also with good selection of vegetables and then tiramisu, again for €19. The choices on the 'menu' we're unusually extensive. Service was excellent and very accommodating and the atmosphere was made even more pleasant by the owners playful little white Maltese/Bichon dog.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFran11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Caravelle also viewed

Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing