We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Welcome”
Review of Welcome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welcome Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My wife, daughter, and I stayed at the Hotel Welcome in mid July and we can't wait until the next time we visit the south of France - we will certainly book there again. We were in the Cinema Junior Suite and, while expensive, it provided us with ample space and a great view from the balcony. The service was first rate and we would recommend it to anyone who is looking to spend some time on the French Riviera.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the water so it's hard to go wrong. If you require some space in your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galliens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I spent three nights in a Comfort Room with a sea view. The room itself is not large but the little balcony has a very big view. How delightful it was to sit on the balcony and watch the coming and goings of this beautiful little port, truly a little surprise jewel on our three work journey of France. The trains are ten minutes from Villefranche Sur Mer to both Nice and Monaco, so this is the perfect place to make a base. The staff were most obliging and the rooms very clean. We dined at a divine restaurant called Le Garçon just behind our hotel and it was the most delicious meall we have encountered in France. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: A little noise from the front but considering there is a band nightly at the back of the hotel and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Situated opposite the port, this cute, French hotel is to be highly commended. Breakfast was excellent quality, room service exceeded expectations, beds were comfortable, hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Very well located for shopping, restaurants and cafés as well as the little market which is there daily. Would revisit!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Xenia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We just spent 11 glorious nights at the Welcome Hotel. It is the absolute best when staying in Villefranche. We had two rooms, comfort and superior #'s 11 and 34, and they were very spacious and comfortable. All rooms face the beautiful bay and the view is breathtaking. The only issue I would point out is the minimal availability of bathroom amenities. The brand is l'Occitane, which is nice, however only a shampoo and shower gel in a dispenser are available and a bar of soap at the sink. We had to ask for a bath robe and bath slippers which was delivered to us immediately, so just ask.

Wifi is free.

As for breakfast, it is 17 euros per person, however there is a special rate for a group of four for 48 Euros. The breakfast area is BEAUTIFUL!

The location of this hotel is excellent. We had rented a car and loved the convenience of visiting beautiful medieval villages like Eze, Saint Jeannet, Les Tourrettes Sur Loup, St. Paul de Vence, etc. A day trip to San Remo,Italy was quite an adventure. There is a public parking across the street at 1.80 Euro an hour, which was very practical.

We rented the Orphee for half a day, and would highly recommend it. The skipper Tao was an absolute delight, sharing his sailing stories with us!

There are a lots of wonderful restaurants nearby, but our two absolute favorites which we frequented multiple times were 'les garçons' and 'la belle etoile'.

A good hotel would never be complete without a great staff, and the Welcome is no exception. Olivier, Magali, Julien, Charles, Guillaume, Wahid and the staff at the hotel cafe made our trip a very pleasant and unforgettable one. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pasikikou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff!! Our room was comfortable and big enough for three of us. It was also warmly decorated. We had had two balconies with beautiful views of the gorgeous sea!
The bathroom was huge and clean with a wonderful shower!!!! Plenty of room for luggage and a big closet for clothes. Welcome's location cannot be beat! About a five minute walk to the train station and 7 min walk to the public beach. Restaurants all along the street on both sides of the hotel. Old town is right behind it, so beautiful and quaint with little shops and many restaurants. Welcome also provided a complimentary shuttle boat to Passable beach which was really nice. This is a wonderful 4star hotel. We absolutely loved Villefranche sur mer!!

Room Tip: A corner room (room38) was so nice because it had two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank linfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed as a couple for 7 days in late July and really loved this hotel and the location . Room 42 has two balconies which afforded a view straight over the sea or down the market area. The staff could not do enough to help and we had a warm welcome when checking in. The room was smallish but had all we needed and the views were terrific with new boats every day coming in and out. The breakfast was extra but was well worth it if you like a decent start to the day. The restaurants all around were really good generally and busy so booking by tea time was worthwhile for a later booking. The train system was fab and we never needed a car. That's a first for us! The train to Eze and other beaches was easy to use and we loved the Eze seafront. Enjoyed a day trip to Provence with a tour company and would definitely return. Very smart chic hotel!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RichieTrentham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Traveling with a baby is never easy at the best of times but Hotel Welcome went out of their way to assist us and even arrange a baby sitter at the last moment. Ps the first baby sitter we got was a bit ridiculous with her requests of keeping the light on while the baby slept but the second one we got (who was connected to an employee of the hotel and who was younger) was fantastic. We felt really looked after! Location excellent although breakfast could have been a bit more varied and tasty.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NewtoGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Mer
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Hotel La Villa Patricia
#5 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La FLore
Hotel La FLore
#8 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel

Address: 3 quai Amiral Courbet, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#1 Romantic Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range: £128 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel by the sea, within walking distance from the beaches, in the heart of Villefranche-sur-Mer old town activities. Next to the Jean Cocteau Chapel 'Chapelle saint Pierre', Charmin hotel in a warm and family atmophere. All 35 rooms have air conditionning, sea view and a private balcony. Free access to the sauna for our customers (private sessions). The Wine Pier,, the hotel wine bar is open year-round everyday. Breakfast is served on the veranda with a full warm & cold buffet or continental breakfast available in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer
Welcome Villefranche Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing