We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel le Versailles
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lovely view.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting lovely people but hotel lacking a little sparkle.But if staying for only a night or two its worth the stay.Didnt try restaurant so cant comment on the food.But breakfast was ok.done.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    127
    63
    32
    16
See reviews for
72
178
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

This was a cheaper option than the Welcome in the harbour where we had being staying prior to two youngsters arriving. Overall it was a good experience. The room 350 had a good view. And was quiet. The shower was over the bath but had good pressure and was fine and the bed was excellent. We did not have the Breakfast as it seemed pricey but everything is pricey on the coast. The wi fi was strong but cut out a bit, but it is easy to be too picky. We liked it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed in room 107 for three days. On the positive side, very comfortable and quiet rooms, great breakfast selection and good parking. Our room only had a bath with a hand held shower attachment at waist height. While there was no traffic noise and we didnt have noisey neighbours it seemed the walls and ceiling were thin. No minibar, tea or coffee facilities nor writing paper and the iron was on request. The balcony and views were great. The wifi lost connection continuously. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here last week our of necessity when the hotel we'd booked in Nice confessed to having over-booked. I was worried about the hotel based on the poor reviews I'd read on tripadvisor and apparently had every cause to be.
For £200 a night we were shocked by the poor quality of our room - peeling paint coming off the bathroom suite, rubbish in the corners of the bathroom and on the balcony, rude staff, being charged for drinks we hadn't had, extremely tired decor in communal parts and being charged 15 euros for some melon. Absolutely diabolical. Talking to other guests we heard similar stories.
The setting is of course its only real selling point but I found, while trying to tan by the pool, that people who wanted to be in the shade pushed the umbrellas up which instantly blocked all my sun and completely annihilated the view. So would basically write that aspect of the hotel off.
I would definitely not recommend this place.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the better view you get. We were on the bottom floor so did not have a good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_beach_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra_Hotels, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel le Versailles, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review in tripadivsor, We always appreciate our guests' feedback to improve our services.
Your review is very confused.

We don't have bedrooms that costs 200 pounds and we do not have melon 15€ neither, but a really good restaurant, very well known on the french riviera and bedrooms price from 150€.

We do not understand all the rubished you found. Are you sure the bedroom has been done before you came back from the beach ? Our bedrooms are done every morning and We do have a gouvernant that check all the bedrooms. What you describe never happened before and your review in general seems very confused.

I don't understand your story about the sun at the swimming pool. Maybe you should have asked the other guests to moven the umbrellas ?

In conclusion, You were very upset about the hotel in Nice that did an overbooking and I am sure you would have had another experience totally positive if that did not happened to you before arriving in Villefranche. That We totally understand.

But you can not just say that our rooms are poor quality, because it is not the true. All our bedrooms have a balcony regarding the sea and have everything a guest needs to have a nice stay.
We hope you will come back again, without have that bad experience before and we are really sorry you did not take advantage on all the positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here at the end of May, 2013, expecting to enjoy the view and the restaurant. We were given a room on the lowest floor (with a good view of the neighbors' backyards & the harbor) even though the hotel seemed to be nearly empty. The restaurant was closed for both the days we had reserved. Their website does not warn one of this schedule. The advertised Wifi did not work (except in the lobby) and the staff didn't seem to care whether we were happy or not. Of the fourteen hotels we enjoyed in Europe in one month this one was the biggest disappointment. We left after one night and moved on to Nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RevDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The room we had was two connecting view rooms overlooking the pool and the bay of Villefranche. The rooms, inside, were modern and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The shower in one room was made of complete glass and had a view to the ocean, which might not be a good set up with older children...teens as there is no privacy. The view was amazing and the staff very friendly. We did not pay for the breakfast because there is a cafe and market a hundred meters away which was very convenient for a family of four. We found free parking in the hotel lot everyday and night, however, a larger vehicle like an SUV might be a problem. The port is a quick 10 minute walk and has wonderful restaurants and shops and there are beaches to lounge around at if you want a change from the pool. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but the bar area is beautiful and perfect for cocktails with a fantastic view!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are view rooms but the corner room on floor 2 (222 and 221) and floor 3 (just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoMom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Spectacular views from every corner of the hotel, excellent restaurant, great breakfast,very, friendly staff, nice rooms - everyone with view over the bay of Villefranche, tasteful interlor design. Great pool area with plenty of sunbeds and sittning groups. Nice bar area, huge terrasses with plenty of sittninggroups and relaxing areas. Buses to Nice and Menton/Monaco right outside door. Walking distance to the nice public plage of Villefranche.The only regrets I have is that the restaurant is closed twice a week and that the rooms have no refrigerators. I am looking forward to coming back - time after time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotta_vonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Mer
0.4 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La FLore
Hotel La FLore
#8 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Hotel La Villa Patricia
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
215 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#2 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Versailles

Property: Hotel le Versailles
Address: 7 bd Princesse Grace, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Versailles 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
deally located overlooking the Villefranche-sur-Mer Bay, one of the most beautiful Bay in the world, Le Versailles offers a unique experience in the heart of the Côte d'Azur. Its contemporary designed comfortable rooms, Mediterranean restaurant, its bar and enchanting terrace view, swimming pool bordered by olive trees and trendy pool house all contribute to make Hotel Versailles an essential Riviera address for quality Hotel enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel le Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Versailles Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing