We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price”
Review of Hotel de la Darse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Darse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who is after staying in Villefranche but doesn't want to pay over double to stay at Hotel Welcome or another hotel in the main part of town. OK, there's 2 cons to this hotel. There's the location which is about 7 minutes walk from the main town and you have to walk over a very uneven cobbles. There's also the lack of lift and we were on the third floor.

That being said I'd stay at this again. Every member of staff were very polite and accomodating. The rooms were modern and always clean. We enjoyed the walk down to the old town but I thought i'd highlight it in case anyone may struggle with that.

EXCELLENT HOTEL.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thewires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We spent 4 nights at Hotel Darse. I can say that the hotel met my expectations in being very clean and up to date. This looks like it was remodeled within the last year or three. Rooms are cleaned up quickly each day which we appreciated. We had the 8.5E per person breakfast the first morning to keep it simple but the offering was pretty limited. So we got breakfast elsewhere the remaining days. We almost never do hotel breakfast anyway since we're only seeking coffee and a muffin which we can buy for about 5E per person and eat better. 8.5E is a reasonable fee but I'd go elsewhere. The breakfast lady on last Wednesday the 10th was very friendly and eager to please. A couple key considerations about Hotel Darse is that its located about a 1/3rd of mile from the main part of the town which for able bodied folks like myself is no big deal but my wife has early MS and found it difficult to walk that distance late in the day across old fashioned uneven cobble stones along the citadel shoreline back to the the hotel. Also, the hotel has no elevator which was also a challenge for Nita late in the day when she is weaker. So, if you have disabilities this might not be the ideal hotel. I should have figured that out but didn't when booking. If you're overweight, out of shape and pack your entire house with you on vacation and find the walk and hotel stairs challenging you'll get no sympathy from me. My son and I walked it a bunch and like I said no problem for anyone in good health. A lovely walk to and from town for the healthy and sensibly packed traveler. I would stay here again but not with my wife and her disabilities. Great value and very relaxing and quiet in a beautiful coastal village. Very well run.

Room Tip: Be aware no elevator if you are disabled and a pretty good walk into town if your not in shape or h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chablis28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

we were very glad to have a chance to visit Monaco during staying in this budget hotel. friendly staff and good cafe near this hotel. very nice little beach is situated in 5 minutes of walking from the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saglara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Spent two nights in late August. The place is conveniently located in Villefranche in front of the little and cosy port (parking available everywhere) and no more than 30 mins from Nice airport, good gateway to visit Monaco and Cap Ferrat. The building is well kept and the staff is very friendly. The value for money - also based on the location - is great. The rooms are small and very basic, even the ones overlooking the sea with a balcony (where we stayed) so do not expect anything great. But it does what it should do: provide a shelter in a good position for a good price with a good service. A balcony is definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Unpretentious and highly affordable, Hotel de la Darse is very worthy of your consideration when planing your next French Riviera holiday. Indeed, considering the 96 euros per night cost, not including breakfast, this accommodation represents excellent value for money in what is an often pricey holiday region.

The de la Darse is not the Ritz. It shows a bit of wear here and there, including its otherwise thankfully wide and spacious stairways (sadly, no lift here) and on the lower door of our reasonably sized double room. We experienced some curious technical problems, too, as the TV in our room received video of BBC World News, yet the audio was almost imperceptible even with the remote's volume at the maximum level. Strange, but true. Perhaps most significant, however, was the lack of a small fridge in the room. How nice it would have been to use a fridge to chill a bottle of rose wine while touring the lovely Mediterranean coast. To add insult to injury, the neighborhood in which the de la Darse is located seems to lack a variety store from which vino or other libations can be purchased.

But these drawbacks are minor when considering the many pluses on offer at Hotel de la Darse. Our room was generally bright and attractive, featuring a decor that was very much in keeping with the surrounding countryside, with its slowly changing hues that once inspired Impressionist painters. Better still was the small balcony that accompanied our room, one that allowed us smashing views of the sea and the frequent giant cruise ships that would anchor for the day to explore Villefranche sur Mer, Nice, Monaco, and points beyond. Indeed, the sea views from our balcony was perhaps the highlight of our stay, and at such a reasonable nightly rate as well.

Breakfast and service are two other positive aspects about Hotel de la Darse. We found the hotel's staff to be helpful and professional. Perhaps more noteworthy, however, was the breakfast experience as we were able to take our meal on a breezy and atmospheric front porch. - the perfect kick start to our day. As regards breakfast itself, we found it abundant and tasty, featuring a good quality capuccino machine, and at 8.50 euros per day that can be classified as solid value.

While by no means fancy, Hotel de la Darse, in summary, is most worthy of your consideration. Situated a short and highly scenic stroll into the charming village of Villefranche sur Mer, the de la Darse is part of a region where one can easily spend a few days, a week, a retirement, perhaps even a lifetime. Do check it out.

Room Tip: Be sure to secure a view room. You'll regret it if you don't do so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claremay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 9 nights in a family room.
The room was clean and had air conditioning. We had a lovely large balcony with good views of the darse. The children were in bunk beds. Bathroom was clean and had a shower. The hotel loaned out beach towels and have a few beach umbrellas and things to borrow.
Just a short walk to the old town.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuthL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here recently for 8 nights using it as base to visit Nice, Eze etc. We loved the view of the harbour from our balcony and It's only a very short walk around the fort to the more tourist area of town. Staff were pleasant and helpful with reservations and advise. The breakfast was ok and convenient, if unvaried for the 8:50E. My only wish would be for some sort of fridge in the room, a cold bottle of beer or wine on the balcony would have been great although I did see they provided coolers (on my last day) and I'm sure with a little more planning we could have worked this out. Also their prices for a beer or wine were very fair. Parking seems tough but we really had no trouble each day, although be careful if parking along by the harbor overnight, someone unsuccessfully tried to break into my car, curse those Enterprise stickers on the back. All in all we would stay again.

Room Tip: Any room with view of harbor. No elevator so bear that in mind if lugging suitcases is difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uksteveb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels
0.3 mi away
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Hotel La Villa Patricia
#5 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La FLore
Hotel La FLore
#8 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Darse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Darse

Address: 32 avenue General de Gaulle | Port De Plaisance, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#3 Family Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#4 Romantic Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range: £62 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Darse 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Darse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darse Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing