We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warning!”
Review of Hotel de la Darse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de la Darse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

It is incredible as to how this hotel has achieved such a high ranking, it is at best basic, the owners have done the bare minimum to make this a hotel. Our room was on the third floor, no lift, no offer of help with bags, just pointed in the general direction of the stairs. The room was basic and miserable consisting of painted walls, a bed with cupboards to the side and above plus a shelf, a t.v. was fixed to the wall. A light hung in the centre of the ceiling with a glass shade beneath which contained dark blobs, presumably dead insects. The en-suite was small but useable but the fan could not be switched off. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ciao001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-dld, Gérant at Hotel de la Darse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Facing so much criticism, we only have one question to ask you: why have you not required to change your room when you arrived?
We could have suggested another room on the first floor without heater and with different furniture as it seems that you did not appreciate the hand-made furniture in holm oak made by one of the best artisans in Nice!
Regarding the bed in room n°37, it has just been delivered in February 2014...
Concerning the fan in the bathroom: have you got an idea of the smell and humidity (mildew) that would remain in the room if it would not be equipped with fan?
Nevertheless, we share the same point of view as far as the washbasin is concerned and it should be replaced during next winter.
But after three months of renovation during last winter 2013-2014, it was time to honour our commitments and to reopen the hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de la Darse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We have just returned from a week at this hotel which overlooks a port in the bay of Villefranche Sur Mer. We were allocated a room at the end on the third floor which meant we had a view to the front and side of the balcony. There is no lift but the view definitely made the climb worthwhile. We made use of the basic breakfast as there were no other bars nearby but it was always fresh and can eaten on the lovely terrace. The staff at the hotel are most welcoming and helpful. The town of Villefranche is delightful and we managed to stay during the week of their Naval Flower Battle in the main port. We also visited the Nice Carnival which was very good but, a word of advice, wear old clothes to avoid damage by silly string. The highlight of our stay was to the Villa Ephrusi-Rothschild. A simply delightful villa filled with amazing antiques and surrounded by beautiful gardens. Whilst in Villefranche we travelled by bus and a useful tip if you are going to use Bus No 100 a lot is to purchase a 10 trip ticket which means each journey only costs 1 Euro. On the other hand although we made our way by public transport from the airport we decided to take a taxi to the airport which cost 55 Euros! Forgot to mention a favourite restaurant in Villefranche - La Grignotiere, which offers good food at reasonable prices. Overall a very successful trip but no sure what it is like during the cruise season.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the end facing the sea so that you have a wider view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PWarbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

It's what enveloped us weary travelers perched mid-morning on a little balcony. Nearly 11 months later now, I clearly see the two of us drinking in the sight of pleasant yachts bobbing in the marina below our balcony while we sip our coffee, and memories of that cramped trans-Atlantic flight drift out of newly rested muscles.

To talk meaningfully about the hotel, I need first to describe the town, to which these lodgings are so appropriate. Villefranche-sur-mer reposes quietly, unobtrusively, between the obscenely rich Cap Ferrat snaking into the Mediterranean on the east, and lively Nice that warmly bustles to the west, just over that hill. From the front door of Hotel Darse and a walk to the left, past the Italian Pine canopied restaurants, lies the harbor. It encloses moving waves in richly saturated blues. Over there is a single cruise liner (this is only April). Some hardy souls enjoy the arcing beach; one guy actually swims out there. If I were a gigolo, lounging here would be my day-job. Michele and I agree this is what San Diego in Southern California must have been in the 50s. Tasteful, mellow, refreshing.

And the prose you've just read tries to impart the sense of being here in this place. Restaurants/shops/parks are a healthy trudge away (uphill). There's some traffic up there, too. Here by the boat harbor it is peaceful, though, in a clean room we climb up a marble staircase to arrive at. A comfy bed, a spotless bathroom. Light curtains that sway with the breeze that enters from across our balcony. Come here and enjoy. Just keep it a secret, though - that is part of the charm.

Room Tip: Seek after any room with an ocean view; higher may be better, but then there are those stairs to cli...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here in July 2013 for 4 nights. This is a typical 2 star hotel - no lift, in need of a paint and offers a basic breakfast. BUT.... We had a huge, clean double room (free wifi) with doors opening onto a balcony that overlooked the marina and the med. Staff were really friendly and the breakfast was fresh and plentiful (although coffee not great.) It's about a 6 minute walk to the town centre and a 5/10 minute walk up the (steep!) hill takes you to the bus stop where for €1 you can be in the centre of Nice in 15 minutes. Villefranche itself is picturesque and friendly with lots of nice restaurants. If visiting this area again I would definitely stay here - at €95/night for two this is great value and is half the price of the Hotel Welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

we had nothing but great hotels on this trip so it's hard to come up with a favorite but this might be it. I don't need to say much more than what others have already said. The location is great, but it is a hike from the center of town. The price more than makes up for that. The front veranda was a great spot for the breakfast (a good value) or for sitting out at night. We didn't have front balcony rooms so the veranda came in handy. Our rooms were up three flights and with no elevator you need to make sure you travel light. Our rooms faced the garden area in the back and the homes on the hillside. It was a short walk to town and to the train for short hops to Monte Carlo, Nice and the rest of the Riviera. We did break down and had a cab arranged for the early morning train to Italy. The desk staff was very helpful in arranging the cab (which was there on time at 6:30 am) and in helping us figure out our best route for leaving the rental car at the Nice train station. We stayed at the hotel four nights and only had the car there the first night. We lucked out and found a good parking spot but it would be a hassle to try to find a spot every day. We'd say dump the car and take the train.
The town itself is a perfect place to stay. It's small enough to walk around (but does have hills) but large enough that it has dining and shopping options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nimbin2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Nice, clean hotel. Good beds, great bathroom. Pleasant staff. We stayed two nights. We didn't try the breakfast because it was a bit expensive and we're not great breakfast folks. We had the eastern end room on the third floor (No. 31) -- beautiful view of the park below with fantastic flowers (especially the abundant bougainvillea), the harbor, and Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat across. Now, their third floor is our (American) fourth floor, and there's no elevator -- just so you know. They have no private parking, but we didn't have much trouble finding free spots on nearby streets. The main commercial port town center is only a couple blocks pleasant walk.
Great place!

Room Tip: For a view, try for Room #31. It has one queen and one twin. The walk up is worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for a week from 12th-19th October and were very pleased with our choice. Our room was #12 on the first floor - just above reception/breakfast area and had a large sunny balcony with a table and four chairs (the balconies are bigger on the first floor than higher floors but the views are probably slightly better higher up..)
We only had breakfast in the hotel on our last morning (it was very good, continental) but we did have several cups of coffee in our room/balcony. It was nice coffee and they only charge €2.80 a cup, which was very inexpensive.
The bathroom was compact with a very good, spacious corner shower, which had plenty of hot water at all times. Toiletries provided were soap, shower gel and shower cap. There was a tube type hairdryer in the bathroom. The bed was firm and very comfortable. Everywhere was spotlessly clean.
My husband had trouble accessing the free Wi-Fi for several days, which irritated him but he got it in the end..
I don't know how efficient the air con would be in very hot weather as we struggled to stay cool in October..
They have a lovely big fluffy ginger & white resident cat - Snookie - who liked to be petted when he was around on the pretty outside terrace at the front of the hotel.
All the staff on the reception desk were very kind and helpful - we would definitely stay here again if we return to Villefranche-sur-Mer. It's a 6-8 minute walk into the main harbour/restaurant area but it's a level, well-lit and pleasant walk along the water's edge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maudsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels
0.3 mi away
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Hotel La Villa Patricia
#5 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La FLore
Hotel La FLore
#8 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Darse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Darse

Address: 32 avenue General de Gaulle | Port De Plaisance, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#3 Family Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#4 Romantic Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range: £63 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Darse 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Darse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darse Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing