We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, shame about the size” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, shame about the size”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

This complex is at a beautiful location - but specify a sea-view apartment - it's worth it. Lovely common areas, swimming pool, reception etc. Very friendly and helpful staff (when they are there - limited reception opening hours).No proper dining or drinks area (poolside cafe) but that suited us fine. My only gripe was the size of the 4/5 bed apartment which was tiny. The bedroom was'nt big enough to be a single and asmall double bed was squeezed into the room - it touched both sides of the wall. We could'nt even close the door it was so small.

Room Tip: High up facing the sea with the biggest apartment you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
1 Thank BlaaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    107
    78
    45
    29
See reviews for
189
85
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just returned from a holiday in this hotel. Before your stay you receive a pack informing you that the pool will be opened from early April, it wasnt. You are also told that bathroom linen (towels) are provided, they are not. On arrival I was asked to pay for our towels then handed them in reception - not very professional - and 18 eauros extra to have the use of a small bathroom towel and a hand towel for a week is extortion. Myself, my husband and son were put in an appartment which was amid privately owned appartments (which unknown to us is quite a lot in this hotel) who spent the whole time refurbishing, each time we walked out of our appartment there was plaster board and workmens tools, but worst of all was the constant noise of drills etc. Several attempts were made to report this to reception but as the desk in not manned very much this proved to be difficult. Overall, not at all impressed and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deejkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

I have stayed at this small complex for successive years since the late 1990's. It is set in a very good location and in easy access to local trains stations (only two stops to Nice and several more to Monico in the opposite direction) and bus routes. It is close to the small town of Villefranche and local beaches. Don't expect a lot in terms of accommodation, as you will be disappoined. Overall you don't get a lot of space, but for couples this is less of an issue, particularly as you'll spend most of your time away from the complex. That said, they have undergone a face lift in the last couple of years and are much improved from when I first stayed. The reception, pool areas and grounds are very good and overall the staff do a good job of looking after you. Particulalry good for short/weekend breaks, when you just want to chill out and go for walks etc. I would definately go again as we love the local area.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view will afford excellent views of the bay and surrownding area, but come with a pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMtripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

the 4/5 pax sea view are very small, you could be renting a corridor. The furnisher to big, leaving little space and only two small cuppboards for your clothes.
Not allways very clean, but on the whole ok. The 5/6 pax flats are ok.
the pool is great but your paying 4 euros for staying on the transat and the tennis isn't part of the center. Aprox 22€ per hour to play.
The walk to the beach is 10/15 mn and to town and shops and restaurants minimun 20 mn.
You can get around on a 1€ fee bus trip, but it takes time, a car is recommended.
Parking is easy and the staff at the reception are very helpfull.
Villefranche is a very beautifull spot on the french riviera.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anita r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
picton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

If you want to be close to the hustle bustle yet in your own little piece of heaven, then this property may be for you. Located around 15 minutes by bus to either Nice or Monaco, the location is its best asset. Although small, it is great value offering a separate bedroom, private
washroom and combined livingroom/galley kitchen. Each unit has either a balcony or terrace. We always choose a sea view and request a high floor. After a busy day, nothing is better than sitting on your verandah with a glass of wine overlooking the yatchs and shimmering waters of the bay. You will pay extra for the view, but it is will worth it.
No need to rent a car as the bus stops right in front of the property. You can travel from Nice as far as Menton on the Italian border for just one euro! Nothing fancy, but great value for longer stays.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view...it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2vagabons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

This part of the world is not cheap to stay in - huge villas behind gates and gigantic yachts - and the land prices reflect the fact it is a desirable area. As a result the apartment was very small for the amount charged for it.

The complex was rather tired, and the glossy pictures on the Pierre et Vacances website, belied reality. The mini-market was definitely on the mini-side with a strange array of goods, although the bread was excellent, albeit expensive.

The beds were uncomfortable, but we enjoyed watching the cruise ships with their sparkly lights through the gaps in the garden's palm tree fronds. The kitchen area was average. All in all we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorrisFamily68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien, responded to this review, 15 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry you were disappointed with the size of your apartment. Our website and brochure do outline room dimension, sizes, furnishings and equipment available, but the price of accomodation does factor in the location. We have logged your review on the resort and mini-market and will pass your comments onto head office and our management teams. We are committed to improving our standard of accommodation whenever we can therefore your feedback is very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

After reading some of the other reviews on Trip Advisor I was a bit worried about having booked this Pierre & Vacances residence. However, we had previously stayed at a super residence in La Baule and hoped that the one at Villefranche sur Mer would be just as good. It was!

Although we were only a party of 3 (2 adults and 1 teenage son), we deliberately booked an apartment for 6/7 people (based on the room sizes quoted on the P & V website where we made our booking) so we had plenty of space. The apartment was in a good state when we arrived and although we were quite close to the trains, the noise wasn't too bad at all. No noise could be heard from the nearby main road. A large party of Canadian students were staying at the residence and although they were a bit noisy when they met up around the pool for a couple of hours each afternoon, they were in no way offensive and were kept well under control by their tutors.

We made good use of the pool which was well-maintained. The people running the poolside cafe were also responsible for the hiring of the sunbeds around the pool. Entry to the pool was strictly for residents and the cafe served good quality and reasonably varied food. We did hear that the pool and cafe are let out on an annual franchise so other visitors may well have had different experiences in the past.

I used the onsite laundry a couple of times, 5 Euros per wash (including soap powder) and also went to the shop, also onsite, for bread and other basics.

The walk to the cafes/restaurants and bars on the seafront at Villefranche took about 10 minutes. There were a number of steps to contend with but overall it was a lovely walk along the beach with plenty to look at both during the day and evening. Going in the other direction, the walk to Beaulieu also took about 10 minutes with just one steepish hill to deal with. Otherwise, again, it was a lovely walk along the seafont. The best supermarket is in Beaulieu (SuperU), right next to the train station.

We had travelled from the UK by train so didn't have a car with us. To be honest, this didn't matter - the buses from Nice to Monaco and beyond stop right outside the residence and each trip costs just 1 Euro per person, per trip. The trains are a bit more expensive but again give easy access to most places along the coast from either Beaulieu or Villefranche stations. Beware, though, that if there's a cruise ship visiting Villefranche queues for the ticket office at that station in the mornings can be quite long, especially if you're going towards Monaco!

The overall quality of food in the cafes/restaurants in Villefranche was excellent, if a bit expensive in some places. We had good value meals in Loco Loco, a small restaurant with just a few terrace tables set back from the seafront in the old town but you need to get there early as the tables fill up very quickly each lunchtime/evening. Les Corsaires on the seafront was also very good, although a bit more expensive. Staff in both restaurants appreciate it if you can try to speak a little French but they all spoke excellent English and did so very willingly.

The beaches at both Villefranche and Beaulieu are kept clean and the water quality was excellent but don't expect sand, except on private hotel beaches! The public beaches are mainly quite gritty and so a bit uncomfortable to walk on barefoot.

Overall, we were very happy with the residence, its facilities and location...and best of all the weather was super too!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gray_charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Mer
0.6 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Hotel La Villa Patricia
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Delcloy
Club Delcloy
#6 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien
Address: 130 avenue de l Ange Gardien | Basse Corniche, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful haven overlooking the bay of Villefranche, one of the most beautiful harbours of the Cote d'Azur. Direct access to the beach with amenities and shops nearby. Impressive views of the azur blue sea from the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Residence - l`Ange Gardien
Pierre & Vacances Residence - l`Ange Gardien Hotel Villefranche-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing