We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views friendly staff”
Review of Hotel le Provencal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel le Provencal
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I must confess the first impressions of this hotel were that the paintwork was tired and it is! But, if you book a room with a sea view the tired paintwork really is insignificant! The views are simply "amazing!" I have actually stayed there twice now and would stay there again simply for the views and the reasonable price for a sea-view room in Villefranche! There is wi-fi available at a charge but if you stand outside on the balcony sometimes you can log onto a free wireless network. The breakfast was plentiful and it's served in a beautiful courtyard with lemon trees, although the choice is limited. The staff are also friendly enough. Be warned if you suffer from claustrophobia as the 1 person plus case lift is tiny. The hotel is also located up-hill so may be a problem for some. The walk to the front is 10 minutes where there are plenty of seafront restaurants to choose from and warm sea for a dip. The beaches can become very crowded, however, in the peak season but Villefranche-sur-Mer is simply a stunning place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room on floor 3 - room 303 in particular has amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonVonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel is adequate but is not on a par with most other European hotels with similar tariffs.
The rooms are old fashioned, as is the plumbing, and in need of an upgrade and redecoration. However it is friendly with a certain 1970s charm and is ideally located for the lovely old town of Villefranche.

Room Tip: A sea view is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have stayed for 1 week in the hotel, an excellent option for a budget like vacation in the area. Close to the bus stations, and 10 minutes from the train station and main beach, it allows you to visit the entire French Riviera, from Cannes to Monte Carlo. Rated 2 stars you get what you pay - recently renovated but with ad-hoc/budget solutions, don't expect more. You get instead an excellent view of Villefrance sur Mer from the room, a great terrace on the ground flour to spend time with friends and an excellent service and very friendly and professional staff.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Razvan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband, 14 yr old son and myself stayed at Hotel Provencal for 2 nights in July.A charming, older style hotel which met our needs adequately.Clean, comfortable and a sea view as requested, and a wonderful breakfast in beautiful surroundings of the gardens. It is a 10 -15 minute walk to the station (with luggage) which is not to difficult if you know where the Hotel is located. Get the exact location or ask along the way if you are near to it;( it will make life easier than walking up and down the road with heavy bags trying to find it. ) the beach is also very accessible from the Hotel as are the restaurants. Would stay again but would ask for a sea view with the bigger balcony next time.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view room, and to be able to sit out on the balcony comfortably; ask for room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Located 5 min walk down to the old city and harbour, 15 min from the beach. Hotel is dated and a bit worn down. Bath room was not cleaned properly with visible pubic hairs on the floor. We had a room with 4 beds, but it only included 1 chair, strange as we could have used another one sitting on the small balchony. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotels in this area is generally overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panzer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have stayed twice at this hotel, once on business and once on vacation. It is a pleasant hotel which is good value for money. It is not a shiny, sparkly, modern hotel, rather a cosy family-run type of hotel. Our stay was pleasant as the hotel is close to public transport and the village square where regular markets are held.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are quieter and have a view, the mountain facing rooms get the noise from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Obie_Oberholster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I was very lucky to be able to get a room here in the peak month of August. It was excellent value for money in a good location for the beach/town and bus stop. The train station was a little walk but manageable. Although the carpet in the room was a little "tired", the room was very clean and had a separate en-suite shower and WC. The triple glazing made the road nearby inaudible. We ate breakfast on the terrace one morning, my wife particularly enjoyed the marmalade made with oranges from the hotel garden.
All the staff were very friendly and spoke good English. A PC was available free of charge which proved very handy for booking onward accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyGPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels
0.1 mi away
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Darse
Hotel de la Darse
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La FLore
Hotel La FLore
#8 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Regence
La Regence
#7 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Provencal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Provencal

Address: 4 avenue Marechal Joffre, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range: £45 - £847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Provencal 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel le Provencal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provencal Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing