We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, lovely helpful staff, perfect location”
Review of Hotel le Provencal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel le Provencal
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one week in June. The room was clean, beds really comfortable. The staff are so helpful and friendly. The location is great. The hotel has a lovely garden you can sit in, perfect with a bottle of wine!

Room Tip: A room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a week in early June loved the hotel as we love the area so much so to stay in Villefranche was a bonus, distance from front fine for us as we are fit and well don't know if the unfit would find it abit of a trudge. Hotel looked and felt well cared for , the room seemed freshly decorated , village view and we found this fine altho next time we would maybe treat ourselves to the additional and pay for a sea view. Would definitely go back and would highly recommend . Many thanks to the staff for a lovely clean and friendly stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Charming small hotel with large comfortable rooms and helpful front desk. Great view of beautiful Villefranche sur Mer from our "french" balcony. Easy walk to the water front and old town where all the action is. Excellent breakfast (pas gratuit) with outdoor seating on the terrasse tres belle.

Room Tip: No parking at hotel. Parking on street tres cher but if you are lucky you can snag a no cost spot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peripateticmensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The location is good being just a short walk to the bay road and its restaurants and bars. The hotel is clean. Staff were very helpful and attentive. On the down side there is no parking, our room overlooked two very noisy streets. No drink making facilities in the rooms and no fridge. I got the impression that the hotel was being looked after best as can with a small and dwindling budget.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept a room overlooking the streets. Go for sea view at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nilechamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Hotel Provencal for the Grand Prix weekend. As you can imagine prices are raised that weekend making the disparity between price paid and service received even more apparent. Maybe if I had stayed at a different time I would have felt like I got what I paid for, I don't know. Supply and demand I guess and don't blame the hotel for that.

However. From the outside the hotel looks lovely. Inside however its very different. My first impressions on walking in late at night were of a bar area with lingering old smoke. The may be "open 24 hours" bit be prepared for having to request drinks from someone not looking entirely happy having to serve you, and we only asked for water!

Lift is tiny, not a criticism as is the norm but worth mentioning as anyone who is claustrophobic should request lower floor so can walk up stairs.

The outside terrace looked lovely.

There is quite a steep walk from the village to the hotel which is only about 2.5min but worth mentioning as would would struggle with elderly or the young other than that location is brilliant.

We had a room on the first floor which overlooked the Street which was awful. We had to have the curtains closed at all times as people could see in which made the room even more dowdy than it already was. Noise in the mornings was a pain. The room was small but beds comfortable. Bathroom wasnt clean and clearly wasn't being cleaned while we were there properly. Walls are paper thin and someone on the phone in the next room sounds like they are sitting on your bed. The room smelt and I had to wash everything when I got home. The corridors were really smelly and we were woken every day with what I assume was the maid spraying what I assume was air freshener. It didn't work. Room and hotel in general shabby and in need of a paint although its clear all previous refurbs have simply painted over old paint so the paint is now thick.

Please don't be deceived by the pictures on the website it doesn't look like that inside. However if I had had a sea view maybe that would have made up for the shabbiness as we could have opened curtains and the window to air the room.

That said we must remember the hotel is only a 2* and if visited at non grand Prix week would have possibly been better value for money. Just bear in mind the items listed above as I felt very uncomfortable.

But the location is great, staff were helpful and apparently breakfast is good although we didn't try it (11euro) as we had to leave early each morning.

Just ensure you request a sea view!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank sgoldthorpe74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a very pleasant 2 night stay. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was fine, with nice views and a very comfortable bed and pillows. The bathroom was big, with a shower in the bath.
The carpet was very worn but the room was clean.
The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and nice fresh pastries. The courtyard setting was lovely.
We would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marmarhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in a standard room, and would certainly recommend. The staff were friendly and welcoming, room was nice and beds comfortable. Bathroom was tiny (but that was expected and our experience all over Europe) but had everything we needed.
Location is good (we arrived by train so it was a bit of a walk) close to several shops and a takeaway pizza place across the road and a nice stroll to the beach. Several bus stops nearby.
We had an amazing time in Villefrance and Hotel Provencal was excellent for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikki_gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra_Hotels, Responsable réception at Hotel le Provencal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Niccky
Thank you very much for you comment, we enjoyed a lot welcoming you. We hope u next time you will come to Europe you will come back to Villefranche.
Kind regards
Laurence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La FLore
Hotel La FLore
#8 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Darse
Hotel de la Darse
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Select
Hotel Select
#5 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Provencal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Provencal

Address: 4 avenue Marechal Joffre, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range: £63 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel le Provencal 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel le Provencal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provencal Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing