We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and location, but kind of a dump”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riviera
Busan, Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great views and location, but kind of a dump”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Very basic hotel with simple rooms and run down furniture and carpets. In a great location that provides wonderful sea view. Convenient to bus station and many cafes and restaurants. Breakfast not included and not all staff speaks English. Luggage elevator out-of-order, leaving only a cramped, narrow stairwell.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    16
    12
    14
    11
See reviews for
6
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

I have long thought that the Riviera was the worst hotel in Villefranche so why did I book it? I hate to admit it but when I discovered that my favourite, the Darse, was full I thought I had booked the Provencal but somehow ended up in the Riviera! The entire hotel is shabby and run down with little attempt at modernisation since about 1970 or so. The one saving grace is that the rooms on the seaward side do have a great view. I won't make the same mistake again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view. Rooms on the main road side are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels

Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

20 minutes from Nice Airport by taxi. We stayed here for 4 nights and the views over Ville Franche was breathtaking. 10 min walk to the main town and very quite which was great. Town gets busy in the evenings so it was nice tog et away from that. Rooms are comfortable and have been recently been refurbished, bed and pillows very comfortable. Bathrooms are very modern, only downside was that the shower head is not fixed to the wall so you have to hold it over yourself and there was no shower door so the floor got drenched! Only one mirror which is in the bathroom. But these are minor things. Each room has it's own balcony and we sat here every morning have our bought in breakfast, local boulangerie only 10mins walk away. Breakfast is €15. No fridge in the room which wasn't a problem for us but one evening an another hotel guest asked about one and one was put in her room for her. Handy for drinks etc. Staff were friendly, pool is very private and we sat out each afternoon in a gorgeous terrace area. Wifi is free only in reception/terrace area and this was just a lovely place to relax and have a drink. We ate in the restaurant on the last night and the food was a little over priced but great none the less. Bus stops right outside hotel and you pay only €1 to go to , Beaulie, Eze, and Monaco which was great value, only thing is the bus gets full very easily so I'd recommend either the early morning bus or later in the afternoon, or walk the few minutes to the town and when people get off there's more chance of getting on.

I would highly recommend this hotel and we plan to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 109 and as this is the top floor we had a better view, higher floor numbers are ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

hotel - reception - all the old and smell
room - dirty, stinking, old bedding
bathroom - disgustingly, unhygienic and there even was mould on the shower wall
view - hahaha - you can just watch the noisy main road

I think the dream of a peaceful and romantic vacation you fade away very quickly.
I recommend you do not choose in any case this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

nothing like the rooms in the photos on the website. The room was very old and shabby, I found it very dirty with a repulsive smell. The bathroom was disgustingly unhygienic and there even was mould on the shower wall, as well as the flush button on the toilet was not working. The view from my window was to the street outside and as it was a busy street, I doubt I would be able to get a good night's sleep, which is the main thing I was looking for. Even the staircase leading upstairs seemed slippery and dangerous, which is highly unsuitable for a family stay with children.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rasto j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

This was a very basic room. The bath was nice to have. The street noise made it impossible to sleep. The host added no value. Clean. Close to bus stop, very far from train.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Was worried after reading reviews but had a lovely holiday. We stayed five nights,Hotel looks a bit grim outside but so do many of the french hotels here.We had a third floor room with lovely sea views, we were shown a smaller room first but with no explanation were given keys to a bigger welll decorated room.Manager very helpful with good english.Very near bus es to Monaco and Nice,Train is a ten to fifteen minute walk ,it is quite hilly so I wouldnt recomend the elderley to pull cases ,get a cab from station.Roads outside caused us no noise at night,air con is new and works well. Bathroom a bit dark but let the water run and it is piping hot.All in all we had a very enjoyable stay at a good price, Dont expect 5 star ,but then you are not paying Cote D azur 5 star prices.

Room Tip: Ask for room on side with sea view.303 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teguisefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Mer
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Regence
La Regence
#7 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#2 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: 2 avenue Albert 1er, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing