We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee and bar service in Villefranche”
Review of La Regence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Regence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We did not stay in the Hotel so this is a review of the cafe/bar only.

We have been in Villefranche for 2 weeks and for the last week been to Chez Betty for coffee each morning. The service is excellent with the young men behind the bar anxious to please. The espresso is the best John had whilst here and the cafe au lait was beautiful with a large cup half filled with coffee and a separate jug of hot milk. Drinks come with a little biscuit as is usual in France. Glasses of chilled tap water no problem and no charge. So for less than 5 euros excellent coffee and service. Sit by the door to get a good view of outside and catch the draught which you may need as it was 34 degrees at 10.30 this morning. The TV is on at the back so if you want to catch important events you can (bastille day from Paris for us).

Early guests arriving for the hotel were allowed to leave their luggage without a problem. Very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Skiers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed in La Regence only two nights in July 2013.
Room was clean and very beatuful.View from the window is wonderful.

The beach is a bit far away, but walking through the old town is about 10 min away.It was very close to the bus stop also (nr 100, 80 and 81), which made for easy movement between cities and other places.
I will definitely stop there again if I go to Nice/Provence
if you add something bad, then the bed was not good

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed at La Regence - better known as "Chez Betty" - with 5 friends from July 29 - Aug. 1, 2013. The hotel was perfect because it was clean & staffed with such friendly people! Breakfast includes freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee & the best croissant ever. It was also very reasonably priced so it didn't break our budget. It's fantastic location allowed us to visit Cannes, Nice, Villefranche-sur-Mer & Monaco daily by scooter. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My daughter and I loved this hotel. It was in a great location - only about a 5 min walk from the old town. It was also close to the bus stop, which made it easy to take trips from this great base. The hotel also lends out umbrellas and towels to use at the beach. We faced the street, and the double paned windows really helped with the noise. The price couldn't be beat!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna66_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Thank you so much Betty and Thierry and family. I had a fantastic time staying at your hotel. I would recommend to anyone who wants comfort and luxury in a great location. Such a welcoming and friendly hotel - I will be back! Thank you so much!

Room Tip: This is such a lovely hotel, so calm and quiet yet in a perfect location close to the bus stop to Ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahmagpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

parking: some overnight parking available nearby until 09:00, but IF IT'S FULL YOU'RE IN TROUBLE (took me 30mn to find a spot one night). I'm sure it depends on the season.
AC: worked fine
Room: very small, no table/desk, barely enough room to unpack
Noise: street noise starting around 06:30 or 07:00. Wear earplugs.
bed: my twin was very hard, my wife's twin was comfortable (different mattress)
internet: included, worked well enough
staff: super nice and helpful. They also include a list of things to do in the nearby towns
Location: it is well located to go visit nearby cities, especially with the suggested sightseeing list the owners give you in the room.

Long story short, it's very good value for money (room was very well priced), but the room was just small, my bed very hard, and parking could drive you mad if the nearby lots happen to fill up (note that it's likely the same problem for most other hotels there unless you have a reserved spot, which few don't).

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank marcmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stopped here for the TTT of the tour de france .Bus stop nice and close for 10 min journey into nice centre.Room no7 perfect all round staff all friendly and very helpful and like to say big thank you for great service.Will be going back to this hotel for sure ! ( Team Sky )

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waddshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Darse
Hotel de la Darse
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La FLore
Hotel La FLore
#8 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Regence

Address: 2 avenue Marechal Foch, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range: £62 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — La Regence 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 15 min of the international airport Nice Côte d’Azur, La Regence - Chez Betty is a 10 rooms' charming family hotel, ideally situated in the heart of the provençal city Villefranche-sur-Mer. As a small tourist village, located between Nice and Monaco, Villefranche-sur-Mer is especially famous for its natural bay, know as one of the most beautiful around the world … Departure point for any trips on the French Riviera, you will be able to visit the surroundings areas.The hotel La Regence – Chez Betty benefits from 40 years of know-how and friendship in order to make your stay an unforgettable moment. The rooms were renovated at the beginning of January 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing