We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming contemporary duplex in the old town”
other travellers have booked this property
Light and Spacious apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Light and Spacious apartment
Our beautifully restored sixteenth century building Relaxed seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Light and Spacious apartment
Our beautifully restored sixteenth century building
Relaxed seating
View looking out and right from the window towards the bay
Coffee table
Our lovely white washed table with room for six
Well appointed kitchen with Coffee machine, toaster, kettle & dishwasher
Large shower with both rain and hand help showers
Bathroom sink and mirror
Bedrooms on the left and right of the upstairs corridor
Hand crafted double bed in mezannine bedroom
Mezannine bedroom with full length mirror
Two single beds can come together to form a super king sized bed
Our desk a place to write or just sit and read beside the window
The beach a short walk away from the apartment
The old town of Villefranche on the waterfront
Colours of the sea
Le Serre and La Belle Etoile two wonderful restaurants at the foot of Rue de May
Picturesque pedestrian street of Rue de May
The boulangerie, boucherie and pharmacie only steps away from the apartment
Fishing boats bobbing up and down on the water
Restaurants and cafes along the seafront
Looking across the bay of Villefranche
Looking back at the old town from the beach across the clear waters of the mediterranean
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MichelleB...
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice location, good base for exploring the coast.”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week whilst on a 3 week trip of France. We were met by Suzanne who was very helpful and explanatory. The complementary bottle of wine and flowers was a nice touch. The stairway up the top floor apartment is steep and narrows as you get further up - a characteristic of the historic building, and may be difficult for some, and if the timed light goes out before you make it up/down, it's pitch black! The apartment itself was light and airy and renovated throughout. On arrival we were asked to pay a 120e cleaning fee, which we did not see anywhere in our booking emails or find on the Tripadvisor sight prior to arrival, we paid it and then had dialogue with Suzanne who eventually refunded half of it, after showing us where it was stated in the Tripadvisor site in a place we did not find during our booking process.
The locality was nice within the historic old town where you have to walk around the streets, no cars. The port is delightful with cafes and shops selling tourist stuff and other boutiques. The mini supermarket (Casino) is 3 min walk from apartment for supplies.
There is an easy 5 minute walk from railway station or to bus stop to go sight seeing. The buses along the coast road are 1.50e whether you go a few stops to Nice or all the way to Monaco (30 mins) or even Menton (45Mins) near the Italian border as we did. (or you can get a day pass for 5e or a carnet of 10 trips for 10e). The buses go along the coast road for spectacular views. For a nice activity close-by we walked around to the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild, an old style French seaside villa located at Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, where we had a lovely afternoon strolling the gardens and having afternoon tea on the terrace.

However a few downside things. Basic cleaning, found hair over the lounge which needed a vacuum. There is no microwave, salad/mixing bowls, wooden spoons, cling wrap, and only small baking dishes not easy to cook in, so if you intend to cook you may need to think about what you have to use first. Oh and there was only 1 roll of toilet paper.
The apartment is next door to the Church and each day you are woken at 7 am with the peeling of the morning church bells. (you see the tower from the roof window in the bedroom), (and not just 7 chimes... but for some reason about 75 !)
So if you like a sleep-in pop in some ear plugs before you go to bed ! Throughout the day the bells are a charming sound we don't hear where we live so it was not really a negative after the startling morning wake up.
The website states that the apartment "offer views of the sea" and "Ocean Views". This is not quite true. Sitting anywhere in the apartment you only see the wall and windows of the building opposite. To see the view you need to stand up and lean out the window to see down the lane to a narrow view of the bay below - not the sea. - see our photo's supplied. This was a disappointment as we had interpreted the website for a view "of the sea" from within the apartment. The images in the website of the wide view of the bay and beaches are location shots not taken from the apartment windows.

Overall Villefranche is a beautiful place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of Nice but still close-by, we would recommend a stay in this area as a good base to chill-out or to venture further along the coast on day trips.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, access to coast and sight seeing
Liked least: morning bells
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
We are very pleased that you received a warm welcome to La Belle Memoire from our property manager Suzanne and all the good, local advice you thanked her for. Our guests have always previously commented on this together with our exceptionally high standards of cleanliness, decor and furnishings in the apartment.

We can only apologise about the strands of hair you found in the lounge. This is the first and only time any cleanliness issues have been mentioned and we've since spoken to our cleaning team.

The kitchen is very well equipped and there is a salad bowl with accompanying wooden servers in the kitchen. We are sorry that you were unable to locate these.

We want to ensure all our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay at La Belle Memoire and while we can’t do anything about the church bells, which can be heard throughout the village, we would have tried to address the issues you have raised if you had contacted Suzanne about them during your stay.

The view from the apartment is arguably of one of the prettiest streets in Villefranche and and we have found that being able to see the beautiful bay first thing in the morning a lovely way to start the day, albeit that you do have to look out of the window.

Once again thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to give us your feedback.

Kind regards,
The owners of La Belle Memoire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetalSout...
Southern England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming contemporary duplex in the old town”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

La Belle memoire is light and airy with a mezzanine level for the two bedrooms. It is situated in a very quiet part of the old town on the Rue de May. We slept extremely well until the morning bells from the church woke us to a new day.
Suzanne was very welcoming, friendly and quick to answer any queries or sort out any small problems.
Just down the street you will find the lovely Hotel Welcome as well as many bars, cafes and shops. There are two excellent bakeries - one a few steps up in the square and one down in Rue Poiliu for the morning croissants and baguette!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rik A
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated apartment in the "old town"”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We found this holiday rental on trip adviser. It is situated in the heart of the old town, just steps away from restaurants, boutiques, and the water. The owner has fully renovated this 14th century apartment so that the inside is modern, functional, sweet and airy. Lounge, dining and kitchen are on the lower level, with two bedrooms built into an upstairs annex. Air conditioning in all rooms was welcome because it was quite humid while we were there.

Suzanne, the managing agent was excellent, with fast responses, and was very helpful with great advice about shopping, tourist attractions and anything we needed. The only tough part of this rental was the parking and access to the unit as it IS in the old town. It was fine for us as we had 4 people to carry luggage, but it would be more challenging for an elderly person. However Suzanne had warned us about this and it was a small price to pay for the awesome location. TIP: our GPS struggled a bit in this area so ensure you download a good map of the local area so that you can locate it when you arrive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, modern apartment, great service
Liked least: Parking - it was a bit of a pain
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable apt”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

La belle Memoire was just as advertised. My wife, 21 year old daughter and I loved it. Better than a hotel. I loved going to the patisserie in the morning for quiche and croissants. Great restaurants 3 minute walk away. Beach is 10 minutes. Bus or taxi 5 minutes away.

Some quirks to be expected in a 13th century building (steep stairs down from auto street), some low ceiling spots in bedroom, but the unit was clean, quality bed linens, modern appliances, wi-fi etc. Landlord lives in same building. Very nice and quite helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and character
Liked least: steep stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing