We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice surprise !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise !”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were just looking for one night and found this lovely hotel on our way.
We wanted to “sleep only” but behind the street level we found a very nice spot.
Comfortable and large sea view room with king size bed. Good and full buffet breakfast (try the scrambled eggs & the pancakes), outside on the terrace with tables overlooking the bay and Cap Ferrat.
Staff is so helpful and give a nice atmosphere like “home away from home”.
Instead of 1 night we stayed 5… Need I say more…

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IggyFlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ririlolo, Propriétaire at Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Bonjour,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We always try to do our best and hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Eric DEWILDER
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    81
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
86
141
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

They try but I was disappointed. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at in Southern France and I expected more. The view of the water is lovely from the very high vantage point, but you are on a main drag and it is very difficult to find your way down to the water walking. We never did. This hotel is within a stone's throw of Nice, so if you are looking for a quaint sea village feeling, this is not it. The place is a little tired looking and needs some updating. Room clean but basic. Breakfast average. If you want to experience VilleFranche Sur Mer, find a hotel closer to the coast. The couple that runs the place were very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueMoon122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ririlolo, Propriétaire at Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Bonjour,
We're sorry but we can't please everybody...
Only 2 or 3 things to say:
First we are the cheaper 3 stars hotel in Villefranche sur mer, you can have a look.
May be you chose us for that...
Second for the way to go down to the beach and restaurants, you wrote-not me- but you:"we never did" so you can't know !!! But it's right that we don't have a "hotel feet in the water".
And last thing, we improve the hotel every year and we renovated all the bathrooms and the rooms last winter, sorry if it is not what you like about decoration.
Regards,
Eric DEWILDER
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights last week, after reading the reviews on tripadvisor I was sure it was going to be a nice little place, afterall the place gets good reviews.... God knows why!

So it's soulless to begin with, there's zero atmosphere, and whilst the gentleman was a very pleasant chap the lady was as stern as stern can be, the wifi does not work in the rooms, contrary to what she says it doesn't, a 2 minute use of her computer was strictly forbidden!

Then there's the breakfast for €12 each, well all I can say is get in quick, because once it's gone it's gone, and the amount that is laid out, that doesn't take very long. It's like being on rations, we were asked how we would like our eggs, scrambled was the decision, which came up on a tea saucer with room to spare..

It's clean I will say that, clean and basic is how best to describe it, bit like a clean motel really.

Use it as a base maybe, go out for breakfast unless it's included and if it is then get there early! But do not be going here for any other purpose because you will disappointed believe me.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whitehalljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ririlolo, Propriétaire at Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Bonjour,
When you arrived with your so nice and big BENTLEY we hope that you made the good choice with our hotel...we have a nice charming 3 stars hotel but not a palace or a 5 stars and not also a boutique hotel.
After the first day you seemed like to enjoy your stay and we try to make you happy with our services. The wifi works into all the rooms except the bungalow close to the pool, far from the office. At the office the guests print their boarding pass always free of charge and can have a look on their e-mail if they want...We explained you the first day that the breakfasts is served from 8 to 10.30 and you took it the last day...you arrived at 10.29 but you eat everything you want with the time you need...
We are disappointed with your advise as we thought we made our best for you... but probably not enough.
We have lots of nice guests with Mercedes or Porsche or other big cars and never had problem so I think definitely that the mind or the good manners are not dependent of the car.
Sorry if it was not what you expected.
We will continue to do our best and will hope to satisfy our guests, we are not perfect but nobody...

Regards,
Eric DEWILDER
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

As already mentioned, this hotel has a nice view from the terrace. The breakfast was lovely with nice croissants, bread, cheese, meats, cereals and even eggs and pancakes (although you must pay extra as it is not included in room price). We thought the walk to and from the bay would be fairly easy, in reading past reviews. In reality it is not too bad going down but not much fun coming back up as the roads' pathways are VERY narrow with oncoming traffic and LOTS of stairs. We had to take the little number 80 bus but it is a bit of a wait for it to come and go. Having said that, the location of this hotel is very handy for getting to places like Eze, Monaco and Nice as the bus stop is only a few steps from the front door and we were in Eze within a 15 minute bus drive. The lady and man who run this hotel are very charming. Villafranche is such a gorgeous place to visit as is Eze and Nice. Three of our favourite spots in our tour of Europe. Viva la French Riviera!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frangipani40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend staying in this hotel. A beautifully decorated boutique hotel, with the best breakfast we came across in the South of France - try the pancakes! Lovely pool with plenty of sun loungers. Very friendly and helpful staff. Villefranche sur Mer is 5mins drive or 20 minutes walk down the hill - very scenic on the way down, but would be a challenge to walk up for unfit/elderly/with children. The hotel doesn't serve food other than breakfast, but does serve beverages, wine, coffee etc during the day. There is a nice Bistro 2 minutes walk away, and Villefranche sur Mer has plenty of excellent restaurants. I am definitely planning to stay in this lovely hotel again - it is a pleasure to visit!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is a wonderful place for a relaxing holiday.It is perched on the hillside overlooking the bay of Villefranche.The owners Laurence and Eric are very welcoming and attentive , as are all their staff who go out of their way to advise on local restaurants and places of interest.
The breakfast is superb and can be taken on the terrace with magnificent views of the bay where often cruise ships are at anchor.
The hotel rooms are very comfortable and clean, with effective air conditioning.
Steps lead down through landscaped gardens to a beautiful pool where towels are provided for hotel guests.
Villefranche Sur Mer can be accessed on foot, car or bus. There are numerous good quality restaurants. It is well worth asking Laurence , Eric or Miatthew to advise you. Our favourite was les Garcons.
The boat trip to Monaco(2hours/ 19 euros) is spectacular as is the walk around the headland at Cap Ferrat. Eze, Biot and St Paul de Vence are also worth visiting.

Room Tip: All rooms facing the sea are excellent , some have individual terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 8Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Loved our 3 night stay here - perfect. Ville Franche Sur-Mer is beautiful and this hotel is ideally situated. Matthew was very helpful and went out of his way to guide us on things to do. Would definitely go back - highly recommend !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saleh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villefranche-sur-Mer
0.5 mi away
Hotel Welcome
Hotel Welcome
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel le Versailles
Hotel le Versailles
#5 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Provencal
Hotel le Provencal
#6 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Villa Patricia
Hotel La Villa Patricia
#4 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
215 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Hotel Royal-Riviera
#2 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La FLore
Hotel La FLore
#8 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate

Property: Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
Address: 8 boulevard de la Corne D Or | Moyenne Corniche, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#2 Romantic Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel at Villefranche sur Mer, Cote d'Azur Nice sea view and pool between Nice and Monaco We have double rooms, twin beds rooms, triple rooms, quadruple rooms and two nice bungalows, WIFI gratuit dans tout l'hotel Free WIFI access at the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fiancee Du Pirate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing