We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food! nice presentation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Figuiere

La Figuiere
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Caromb
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vossem, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent food! nice presentation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Food was excellent. Service good. I would not sit on the terrass because it is on the road. Inside cool clean. But nice. We could combine from the 2 proposed menu's. The olives and breadsticks were very good. The appetizer was wonderfull. Everyone enjoyed is meal. Cheese, desert very good. Little cookie and merengue aux framboise to finish. We will come back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    34
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is one of these meals will be recalled - both due to the creativity - the quality and price.
For € 28 I got appetizer + foie gras "burgers" with large amounts of truffle + risotto with shrimp and scallops + cheeseboard + lemon tart.
All cooked perfectly and visually beautiful.
The wine list is not huge but ok and they have a half liter bottles - very convenient.
Super friendly service.

Their lunch menu we tried too. € 15 for three courses inclusives in a glass of wine. A great bargain.

Will definitely come back if we come to Caromb.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CopenhagenShi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Family run, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Not the most charming of settings (next door to the Renault garage) and the dining room is a little bit austere (all hard surfaces) but the food, service and welcome more than compensate for this.
Isabelle runs the dining room and when we ate there was on her own, taking orders and serving the food, which made for a leisurely and relaxed dinner. Sebastien does the cooking (and I think may also supply the pre-cooked dishes to the butcher in the village). The two (22 Eu and 28 Eu) menus are based on what's on offer in the market and, luckily for us, this was foie gras and truffles.
We had the 28 Eu menu which began with a taster of a ravioli of foie gras: perfectly cooked pasta in, basically, cream.
More foie gras followed, with truffles, served in tiny buns on a salad. As a main course we had the filet mignon de veau which was perfectly cooked, very tender and a lovely flavour. (They display a list of the source of all their meat). Dessert was tarte citron but we doidn't have roome for the cheese, which was a pity as the selection looked magnificent.
We had a carafe of wine from the Caves St Marc, just up the road.

Highly recommended. Open Tuesday to Sunday lunchtime. Parking outside (it's just a bit too far to walk from the centre of the village).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bill_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caromb, France
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We ate on a saturday night - there is a 22 and 28 menu (plus a la carte). Supported by a good local wine list the food really is exceptional. The owners are members of the same family that run the organic butchers in Caromb and have branched out this year from their catering business into opening this restaurant. As one of the other reviewers has said from the outside it does not look special but this really is worth a visit!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 894david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service and food in synch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We went to La Figuiere for lunch and I was so impressed by this meal that I can confidently say that it was my best meal in France. The salmon was outstanding. The cream sauce with garlic was so delicious that I scooped up every last drop. The tomato tart at the beginning of the meal sealed the deal for me. It was delectable and surely one thing that I will try to recreate this summer. Isabelle, our waitress is also the owner was very charming. I am looking forward to going back with my husband. The ambiance is also very nice. It felt like we were in Isabelle's and Sebastien's dining room. Very clean. Felicitations a vous deux!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AP22MTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Figuiere also viewed

 

Been to La Figuiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing