We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Syracuse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Syracuse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Villeneuve-Loubet
Carrara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We were disappointed with this hotel. The staff were disinterested and provided little or no assistance to a visitor in the area. The rooms were okay however the balcony was dirty and the general appearance of the property very tired.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    90
    46
    31
    18
See reviews for
42
120
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We had reserved a bungalow ocean front. The location ist great and fantastic. Just a few steps away from the "private" terrace and you are already swimming in the sea, Parking is free and closed during night. No street or road noise. That's the golden side of the medal, especially if you are disabled like me. But for this, you have to take into account a lot of small details which are not OK and would drive you to find something else just after arrival:

Minus points
1. the hotel reception is NOT accessible by wheel chair AT ALL!!
2. You do not feel welcomed at your arrival. and when you depart nobody ask you, how your stay was.....
3. No WIFI reception in the bungalow and on the terrace except at the bathroom room window.....:-(
4. no power plug easy accessible for re charging your mobile phone or notebook in the room.
5. how do you want to use the kitchenette without any crockery, pan, cutlery etc. Nothing of these is available. We got a kettle but was of no use even for making a coffee as no cup was at disposal. Only the fridge could be used although it took more than two day to properly cooling .
6. The bathroom curtain heavily stank. Asked for replacement, but did not get a new one...
7. It took the toilet tank more than 30 minutes to completely refill.....I loved it.
8. The kitchenette (quite old) looked much better once we had cleaned it ourselves a little bit.
9. all screws everywhere would have needed to be screwed up again.
10. The outside table was old and damaged.
11. The gardens between each bungalow are not properly maintained and would probably need to get some water sometimes. Some plants had died and have not been replaced.
12. As the beach path walk goes along the hotel and the bungalow terraces, taking a drink face to the sea, you are quite looking to be "special animals" for all people walking along and making negatve comments must of the times starring like at the zoo.
13. Forget to have a romantic evening with you wife or fiancee under candle lights, as you can be sure to have one or two neighboors preferring to read a bookl until very late in the evening under a very penetrative strong light with more than 100w located above the outside door. According the the hotel management everybody is allowed to use it during the entire night.
14.The safe could not be used as it did not properly work. They re-initialised it without any success for us.
15. On the internet, they say, you can get complementary coffee and tea with a "plateau courtoisie". We asked for it but did not get anything.

If you forget all these, then you will enjoy to be a few steps away from the beach each day !!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frederic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Villeneuve-Loubet hotels

Senigallia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

this hotel doesn't represent the quality and the standard level of Best western.
the room was not with private beach but near the beach.
the room did not have the curtains (so we had to undress in the bath, also broken tv
not multilingual staff
Noisy rooms for hight price

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaolaVega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I work for a travel company with a Head office near Nice and needed somewhere close by but there was limited availability, The hotel is quiet with access to stony beach. Breakfast expensive at 14 Euros so walk down the road to the port and pay 5 Euro. The room was spotlessly clean and well furnished with free wifi. Receptionists were friendly in the main. Personally I wouldn't stay in Villeneuve-lloubet again as there is very little to do and its quite expensive to eat out but as a base its ok 20 mins to Nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DicksterBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Wanted to get away on the Jubilee Weekend and to somewhere where I might find a little bit of sun and close to the beach.

This hotel is just 10 minutes by bus from Nice airport. virtually on the beach, close to the marina and great restaurants. I didn't book bed and breakfast and only had breakfast one morning at 10 euros and definitely not worth it. The breakfast room was very small with not a great selection. My room had a balcony overlooking the sea and was so nice to wake up to in the morning. The room service and cleanliness was good and the room had everything I needed.

There are nice small restaurants on the beach with a great selection on the menu. These are open all day but not in the evenings

All in all I would go back as it is in a great location and as I had visited Nice on a number of occasions, Vileneuve Loubet is a lovely little place to visit.

The train station is a 10 minute walk away as is the bus stop into Nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnTune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We looked at best Western sign, otherwise we wouldn't have ever get into this building, while from outside is very unfriendly, especially for a hotel.Although the site where the hotel is very good, just next to the see. The furniture in the room is very good quality, but then that was all.
The whole hotel night it was a nightmare. Walls are like cigarette paper thin, we couldn't sleep at all.The street noise was like next to our bed.
Our worse surprise was morning the same unfriendly arrogant girl, and then the woman who showed up finally behind the breakfast room. They were trying to sell us breakfast for 12 euro, and there was nothing, but a soluble coffee maschine, and some jogurt and bread rolls.
To my question what is there to eat, i got an arrogant answer just like one day before at the reception, and french ironical remarks about us to her collegue in the kitchen.
We came out from this hotel tired, upset and unfair treated. I think except the logo, there is nothing to do with best western.
If you still choose this hotel, dont tell them that you are from Germany, they dont like them and get a see view, because otherwise will be worse, and make sure there are few guest so you have quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunrise1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stopped here for a night on the way from Italy to France...The hotel was a typical "beach hotel"--blonde, minimalist,spartan, durable furnishings...the balcony with an ocean view was good if you're into views (I am), but the beach is not an American-type tourist beach--very stony, no sand...(there are many sandy beaches in France)..the hotel was quiet at this time of year, but I can imagine that in July and August you would have a hard time finding a stone to call your own. The hotel is located next to the "promenade", a long walk paralleling the ocean. An advantage after driving all day long was that you could walk to the boat basin nearby to eat an overpriced mediocre dinner--I had wanted seafood,(after all, the town is on the ocean!) but the restaurants in the basin only served pizza, crepes, and Thai food...my suggestion is: stay for a night on the way to someplace else if you need to, but this is not a great place to spend more than that!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeneuve-Loubet
0.5 mi away
Villa Azur
Villa Azur
#2 of 14 in Villeneuve-Loubet
114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel Residence Sea Side Park
Inter-Hotel Residence Sea Side P...
#6 of 14 in Villeneuve-Loubet
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia
Hotel Bahia
#4 of 14 in Villeneuve-Loubet
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tierce Beach Hotel
Tierce Beach Hotel
#4 of 15 in Cagnes-sur-Mer
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Villeneuve Loubet Plage
B&B Hotel Villeneuve Loubet Plag...
#8 of 14 in Villeneuve-Loubet
119 reviews
5.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Syracuse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Syracuse Hotel

Property: Syracuse Hotel
Address: 215 Boulevard Eric Tabarly, 06270 Villeneuve-Loubet, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Syracuse)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villeneuve-Loubet
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Villeneuve-Loubet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Syracuse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Syracuse hotel is located by the sea in Villeneuve-Loubet, next to the Marina Baie des Anges port and 1.5Km from Villeneuve-Loubet plage train station. It enjoys thus a strategic location right in the heart of the French Riviera, between Nice (15 km) and Cannes (20km)and represents then and ideal pied-a-terre for you to enjoy the beauties of this amazing area, or for your business trips. There you will enjoy a free of charge wifi connexion, an underground car park (additional cost), a private access to the public beach, and a breakfast service (in the breakfast room as a buffet or in room). All the rooms, renovated in 2017, and air conditioned, are equipped with a flat screen television receiving TNT numeric channels, a telephone, an alarm clock, a safe, and a private bathroom with separate toilets, a hair drier, a towels drier, and a shower (standard rooms) or a bathtub (all the other rooms). The seaside rooms (comfort, and superior rooms) are enjoying a balcony or terrace, as well as the privilege rooms, exceptionally located right behind the sea, and the terrace of which also has sunbeds allowing you to relax while admiring a breathtaking panorama. It will be a great pleasure for the multiingual, welcoming and attentive staff of our reception, open 24/7, answering all your questions during your stay, for it to be as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Syracuse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing