We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view is the best part of this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Mas des Romarins
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Gordes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A great location within a short walk of Gordes village centre. A small hotel run by a young couple who need to learn how to please their guests if they want them to return and pass on nice comments. We were booked for five nights but cancelled the fifth night with no refund. Beware of the 7 week cancellation terms of booking. The atmosphere from the owners was less than pleasant - almost as if we were a nuisance. Certainly they missed out on the opportunity of providing us with dinners and drinks because of their manner. They both need to go to charm school and understand about serving guests. There was an adequate breakfast provided but no fruit except for 3 green apples which stayed in the bowl. In an area with an abundance of delicious fruit - it states a 'meaness' which showed up in all aspects of our stay.
The premises were closed early on the Sunday and Monday evenings with no advance warning, or even a mention of "would you like anything more before we close up". Lights off and chairs packed away whilst I was still in the garden area. In my mind a good view is never better than having a good ambience. Rooms were just about adequate in size having high ceilings. Shower room good and everything worked. Two glasses and a room temperature bottle of water provided. There are plenty of other good looking places to stay in the area - take heed and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had just finished a tour of Italy and stayed over to see the Provinces' of Southern France, and had reservations here at Le Mas des Romarins, for 2 nights. It was just wonderful! We were ready to kick back and just relax. The mornings started with a delicious patio breakfast looking over the town of Gordes. The view was beautiful! Sunset was even better! The owners made sure on our last night to fix a special meal for us. Delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Odd themes to room decor and names may have been a warning all is not well here. Rooms adequate size and appointments with a nice pool unfortunately exposed to prevailing wind so too cold even in July to lie on deck after swimming. The staff could on,y be described as cold with an indifferent attitude to guests often no acknowledgment going past the desk and petty rules rules such as no coffee at 2 minutes to 8 as breakfast starts at 8 (even though pot full and was trying to pour it myself!). Some attention to guest needs would go a long way.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank NZKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well maintained however we got given the 'kids dream' room which was small, dark, fall apart (bathroom door kept falling off) and frankly creepy. No adult wants to sleep surrounded by teddy bears and Micky mouse. Really odd way to decorate a hotel room. Could not wait to check out of the room

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nulpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed in the standard rooms on a room only basis.
The rooms were smart and clean with TV and water provided. Outside was a small terrace with two chairs - perhaps a table should also be provided?
The hotel has lovely grounds and a terrific view of Gordes, which is a ten minute walk away.
Private parking is handy.
Recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adihighpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I spent three nights at Mas des Romarins and was extremely happy with my experience. I cannot comment on the decor in individual rooms where I did not stay (and I'm surprised and a bit suspicious that others do) but my room was beautifully appointed. I inquired and learned one difference between rooms is whether it has a tub only or tub and shower so if this is a deal breaker for you be sure to ask before booking. There are rooms both within the main building and in small cottages across the terrace.

Gordes is heavily visited by tourists but there are only a limited number of places to stay that are actually within the village limits. Le Mas des Romarins has the advantage of being a ten minute walk from the center of town, and only 50 meters from the most often visited scenic overlook with the best east-facing view of the village. And the view from the upper level rooms in the main house is achingly beautiful.

The young couple that owns Le Mas des Romarins purchased the property in 2013 and spent nearly a year on their renovation. I find most of the carping about the decor on TripAdvisor unwarranted - there are enough photos of the rooms on this site you can decide in advance whether it is to your taste. Taste is very subjective - the renovation was done with very good quality, so it is strictly opinion whether or not you like the designs of the rooms. Look at the photos - if you don't like it, don't book. It's very simple. To call the design tacky implies the workmanship is shoddy and that is most definitely not the case.

Where I did have some issues is with the size of the staff. The owners do nearly all the work themselves and when the place is crowded they are a bit pressed to meet everyone's needs immediately and service can feel a bit brusque at times. But seriously, do you come to the Luberon to have big city energy? If you do you'll be disappointed. This inn operates in a relaxed and very open manner. I found the owners helpful with advice and very nice. I loved the room, the location and the ambiance of Le Mas des Romarins - I'll definitely book again.

One final word - the restaurant is exceptional, perhaps the best in Gordes. It is small, seating around 20 people. I give it a more complete review in a separate restaurant listing, but will note here that you should dine at Le Mas des Romarins at least once while you are in Gordes whether you stay there or not - the view is spectacular and the culinary skill is absolutely first-rate. The quality is much higher that you would expect at a hostelry of this size. I had dinner there twice and both meals were exemplary - contemporary French without any attitude or pretense, using all locally sourced and extremely fresh ingredients.

Room Tip: You get the best information on room availability and size by using the inn's own website. For t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn_Farmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had very bad experience with reservation and terrible service from this hotel.

I have booked this hotel on their website. Comfort triple room for two people use was available with the same price as comfort double room, so I have booked a triple one, having read information from another reservation site that their triple room is much larger than twin rooms. On my booking confirmation it was very clearly said that it is "comfort triple room", however, they have given us a double room, which was quite small. We have complained but a receptionist said that they have given a triple room to a family with three people, saying that our reservation means just "comfort room" and that "triple" doesn't mean anything if two people are staying, and didn't apologize for that booking mistake and inconvenience, instead she said "You can make a complain.".

To be fair, the view from the hotel is very good and each room has nice small terrace space, however, you have to close the curtain entirely to have privacy (otherwise your room will be totally seen from outside) and then there's no view at all. I didn't expect much from room decoration after reading reviews, but it was indeed not tasty.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gordes hotels
2.8 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
0.2 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
274 reviews
1.3 mi away
Auberge de Carcarille
Auberge de Carcarille
#11 of 24 in Gordes
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Jas de Gordes
Le Jas de Gordes
#5 of 24 in Gordes
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
#9 of 24 in Gordes
495 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 5 in Roussillon
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas des Romarins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas des Romarins

Address: route de Senanque, 84220, Gordes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Gordes
Price Range: £92 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas des Romarins 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Mas des Romarins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Des Romarins Hotel Gordes
Le Mas Des Romarins Gordes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing