We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, fabulous hosts.”
Review of Le Mas des Etoiles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Mas des Etoiles
Ranked #1 of 52 Gordes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Really enjoyed our recent stay at the Mas des Etoiles. Annette and Francois are great hosts and could not have been more helpful. The house has everything you need for a really comfortable stay and has been beautifully decorated, the garden is wonderful. Would definitely love to visit again sometime - it is also in an ideal location for exploring the Luberon valley.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 792lucyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

In the first moment when i saw foto on website and i start correspond with owner of Mas ... i thought that it will be a place like in Peter Mayle but it was absolutly diffrent. Before we came it was arrange with Francois that we will come around 12. He said me that is no problem. And when we came he look at me and said sorry but we just start eat ( he, his wife, daughter with husband) and we must wait. It was about 35 c and i was with my mother bit older woman who can not wait like that. They we came and again best hospitality and organization. My reservation was for room with terras and he try to sell me room in firts floor without terras. We lost around 40 min again in plenty sun to arrange it. Sure it was his mistake. Then during all stay best answer owner was NO. No for all, can we eat breakfast in our teeras ? NO !!! All people must eat together in one table !!! Come one we are at holidays not in prison. Swimming pool - so funny whole stay guy was cleaning and until end of our stay i didnt use swimming pool. Really dirty water with many microb. And again next lie ... for me he said ok u can use swimming pool and for the man who came next day he said dont use it i must clean first !!!!! What again the lady !!!! To much to said so easy example she come to table said hello and ask , where is the place for me,? Then said to use ,oh u see we have some many clients that we have not place to eat, !!!!!! Dear lady its like that when u wanna have hotel . Your guest are firts !! And the end about payment. We took some drink from big fridge ( anyway it was funny cause i took some wine and put the rest and in the moring was nothing Francois said ok somebody maybe russian pepole another guest drink it sorry thats all. Oh guy i paid for it !!!! I am allergic of gluten i wrote him it before and it was nothing for me. He bought me some cakes and it the and said ok u do not need pay for it it was present. Oh u are so cute !!! So sure i never get receipt.
So if u wanna feel like a guest never go there !!!
But if you wanna feel like somebody who disturb and just bring big money to them its the best place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulina1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois84, Propriétaire at Le Mas des Etoiles, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Paulina :
We can see you were very dissatisfied here and we apologize.
This Management Reply is to straighten out the facts for the traveller and make a comment on the impact for us and the traveller.
It took time to think about this answer because the review is very strange and the description totally out of our profile. The ratings, only the worst marks, confirm all the intensity of the problem you encountered.
Our opinion is the narration is unfair but we need to explain. In summary you missed the point we are a B&B and not a full service 5 stars hotel.
BEFORE THE ARRIVAL : Francois spent a lot of time in helping to make the restaurants reservations and anticipate the visits. You were travelling with your mother probably for the first time and you wanted the best of the best. The mails were friendly on both sides. So we were expecting you with a cheerful welcome.
THE ARRIVAL : You took us by surprise arriving at 1:00 PM instead of 3:30, first time we are fully available ( It is said on the booking). This was by a hot day and we were at lunch with our newly-wed last daughter and her first baby. The house is refrigerated, so a few minutes of wait in the main lounge is not a problem. Being pressed by you, and in a hurry, Francois addressed you at first to a wrong room. This was corrected and soon you were in the Birds Room. This one is the best of the B&B with a lovely terrace, a private garden, two air cooling systems at wish etc…
THE BREAKFASTS AND OVERALL COMMUNICATION : As you seemed exhausted and that we were not in the proper timing, we did not do the usual briefing. But we invited you to the evening drinks at 7:00. You did not show-up.
The breakfasts and time together were not easy because you were reluctant to speak with any other guest. I realized you speak very little English. Your mother spoke just Polish and Russian. She remained mute the few times we saw her, with no interest for anything, with fixed (sad) eyes. Later, (I tried to talk) in a mail you explained me she had been enduring some mental disorders at the time and she was now going better.
You spent 3 nights here. We didn’t notice the trouble because the house was filled with guests from the whole world, as usually, New Zealand, Italy, Russia, France and Japan. And you were presumably having good time with your mum on your terrace, away from the main house.
Anyway, the rare time we could socialize, we noticed you had a temper. One episode is when you were screaming on the telephone with the car rental in Marseilles for a component defect after Francois had tried to help you.

THE DIRTY POOL : The pool was in no way dirty, and as you say “full of microbes”. Water was shining green and ultra transparent. What had occur, is because of the heat( we were at the end of July - 85-90 FHT- we had to adjust the level of the cleaning products and change a portion of the water. This lasted several hour and this was not finished when you arrived. Maintenance is easy as we have a brand-new Dolphin cleaner. I also asked you if this was a problem but you said that you came to make visits and good restaurants, not to swim.

OUR B&B IS A PRISON : Here, guests tell they are treated like friends received at home - See the other TA Reviews - This is a open house, with a great garden and a small golf course with stunning views on the countryside and Gordes Hill. Now you had decided to stay in your room with your mother. We did not know there was a problem. You could bring by yourself all the food and drinks you wanted and eat independently on your terrace. We provide a complete set of tableware. You had a unique Video streaming quality WIFI in the room and on the patio. Free bikes to freely wander around etc ...
MY WIFE ATTITUDE WITH GUESTS AT BREAKFAST : We use to eat with our guests as much as possible to exchange conversations, experiences, etc … It is always appreciated as we are able to speak in several key foreign languages. So my wife was just kidding. You could not catch this was a plus. Also, you complained to have to eat with others, which one of the bases of B&B’s all over the world.
ABOUT THE GLUTEN FREE DIET : Sorry for not knowing this was absolutely critical. As we don’t serve full meals, at your request, Francois bought special food for the breakfasts. Apparently, you did not like his choices. At the time, we ignored that the problem was very painful and could be associated with the extreme sensibility you displayed. We sincerely apologize. Would we have known, we would immediately have proposed you to move to a more suitable place at no charge. In the end, as we suspected something wrong had happened, we sent you and your mum two gifts in Poland. We received no acknowledgement.
THIS REVIEW HAS DRAMATIC CONSEQUENCES FOR OUR BUSINESS : Tripadvisor considers your review as a normal one and has been published. We appreciate being able to make a reply. And could check the how Tripadvisor has impact on the traveller. In February, as compared with last year, our visits through Tripadvisor have decreased by 59%. Our equivalent bookings have plunged by almost 50%. It is a reason why we take this matter very seriously.

So, Dear Paulina, we again apologize, are going to adjust our way of doing business and wish you all the good you deserve.

Francois & Annette Forest, owners of Mas des Etoiles in Gordes, France.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My mother and I had a lovely time here. Madame and monsieur are so extremely friendly they make you feel immediately welcomed or perhaps even like a member of the family. Especially after you've stayed a few days and madame says "you are like my daughter now, so open this jar!" We laughed the entire time we were with them.

On our first night there they invited us to sit down with them and have some wine and some snacks. We sat for an hour and got to know each other. It was so perfect to sit out in the garden with nowhere to go and just drink rosé, have cheese and olives and crisps and watch the sun set over the Luberon.

Monsieur found out I was a big fan of goats and went out of his way to set up an appointment for us to visit a nearby goat farm. I know it's really not everyone's cup of tea, but I just loved seeing the goats and talking with the wonderful woman who runs the farm, and seeing them get milked. We bought some fresh cheese for our dinner and some soap and were on our way.

Breakfast each morning was fabulous with fresh croissants, figs from their tree, cheeses, jams and honeys, we were easily full. Oh, and msr. makes the best coffee! He also likes to make sure that you have plenty of information and helps you plan your activities for the day as well as booking restaurants for lunch and dinner. He's full of great suggestions. There is a restaurant within a very short walking distance, L'estellan, which was so good we went back the second night as well!

We stayed in the Les Oiseaux room with a private patio which was perfect as it is one of the only rooms where you can sit out at night, listen to some music and have your baguettes and cheese and just relax and snack the night away. The bathroom is spacious with a separate shower and a huge tub. The room itself is very nice, but it is basic as this is a B&B in the country, not a luxury hotel. Still, we didn't want for anything.

I was hoping for a bit more of a view of the rolling hills of Provence, but des etoiles is more in a flat land area at the bottom of Gordes, so we really only had a view of our hedge from our room. But on the patio near the pool you can catch a bit more of a view. The location is quite nice and a lot of the must-see towns of the Luberon are no more than 20 - 45 mins away.

We really had a great time at this B&B, and the Forests make you feel not only at home and filled with enthusiasm to visit the area, but like you're visiting family that you enjoy spending time with.

Room Tip: Les Oiseaux is in a separate cottage so you have a private entrance. It also has one of the only tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was our second visit to the Luberon region. We enjoyed our first visit so much we decided to return 2 years later. We chose Le Mas des Etoiles based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed.

We spent 4 nights in the Bird's Room. The accommodations were lovely. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was large and modern. The room was separate from the main house with its own entrance and a small terrance in the back with a table and chairs.

Breakfast was yummy with the most delicious croissants we have ever tasted! Oh, and the fresh figs and home-made jams were equally wonderful. Francois and Annette were such gracious hosts and made you feel so welcomed.

We would not hesitate to recommend their B&B breakfast to friends traveling in this region.

Thank you for a wonderful and memorable stay.

Mahalo,

Thomas and Karen Bermel
Honolulu, Hawaii

Room Tip: I like having the room separate from the main house. Also, the owners request you do not eat in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNBDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is an outstanding and spacious B&B, in a quiet location next to a vineyard, yet only a short drive to the renowned hill villages of the Luberon. We stayed for 10 nights in the Dreams Room - spotlessly clean, comfortable and well-equipped, overlooking the main garden. Breakfasts are lavish and included during our stay fresh figs from the garden, grapes from a neighbour's vineyard and home-made jams. Francois and Annette are welcoming, gracious hosts and hugely entertaining, and gladly provide all the necessary advice for enjoying this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandm42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

For those who wish to visit the lovely towns of the Luberon, we highly recommend the luxurious Mas des Etoiles. We spent four wonderful days there in June 2013. The charming owners, Annette and François gave us a superb breakfast each morning in their lovely garden, together with tips regarding the best restaurants and sights of the region.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The best bed&breakfast experience I have ever had. The moment we entered the house Francois welcomed us like an old friend. Every morning Francois and Anette along with other guests from other countries have breakfast together, the atmosphere is very friendly and relaxing.

身为来自中国游客,我对其他华人游客也极力推荐他们的家庭旅馆,不过最好有一定的英语交流基础,他们会提出极好的旅游建议。假如你拿着网上的某某攻略去询问他们而他们建议你不要去这个大名鼎鼎的景点而改去一个名不见经传的地方,请【务必】听从他们的建议,你一定会对这些小山村回味无穷的。

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jingheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gordes
4.5 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
1.9 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
285 reviews
13.6 mi away
Le Parfum Des Collines
Le Parfum Des Collines
#1 of 1 in Auribeau
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Le Mas Jorel
Le Mas Jorel
#1 of 6 in Gargas
337 reviews
11.6 mi away
La Bastide st Victor
La Bastide st Victor
#1 of 2 in Puyvert
196 reviews
17.9 mi away
Mas de Capelou
Mas de Capelou
#1 of 57 in Avignon
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas des Etoiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas des Etoiles

Address: la Dragonne | Les Imberts, 84220, Gordes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Gordes
Price Range: £162 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think twice before making your choice for a B and B !You are going to enjoy our “Chambres d’hôtes de charme”. Gordes is real great place to approach the Luberon Regional Park and most of Provence. For you, we have made it cool: Luxury and still casual. Now it can be classified as a Boutique Hotel. The house itself is stunning : Unique old white stones, a typical Provence garden with all kinds of Mediterranean plants and large views. Of course, the property is in a quiet environment. But it is close from restaurants etc … Decoration is stylish and imaginative, not cold-contemporary as often offered now. Annette has a taste for it. Everything is in tones in pastel, grey and light brown. Comfort is at a high level : Of course a soft air conditioning everywhere, a fair speed WIFi, a salted 12 X 5 swimming pool and many kinds of delicacies. And from 2013, a Pitch and Putt 9 holes golf course just here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Le Mas des Etoiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing