We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Saint Jean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Saint Jean
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Orange
Reviewed 6 July 2014

the rooms are small and a little old(fashioned) but all you need is there. liked the courtyard for its quietness (although it is not exactly romantic and also serves as car park it is green and tranquil island on a hot and busy day). in good weather, breakfast is also served in the courtyard (so you really don't have to spend too much time inside), the owners are very very friendly and helpful and fun - made me feel welcome and comfortable. great bike parking (i had a road bike and was allowed to store it in a little workshop, away from another big garage where people on cycle package holidays park theirs).

Room Tip: i stayed twice and i liked the room facing the courtyard better.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Saint Jean
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here en route to the coast. The staff were very welcoming, the room was bright and clean, although the bathroom was very small. The air con worked very efficiently and breakfast in the courtyard next morning was charming.
We were given good advice regarding restaurants, and the hotel is very central so there is no need to use the car (a real bonus after you have been driving all day).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LazyDaisy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a French 2-star, so don't expect glam - but it is what it is, an excellent, clean hotel to stay in if you are staying in Orange for a night or two.
The hotel is ideally located to explore the amphithéâtre and other historic monuments - with everything within a ten minute walk away.
The hotel has valuable private parking and the breakfast is basic but fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CookieBoy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Nice Character room overlooking courtyard, friendly helpful reception, aircon essential in summer.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NicsHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed for one night at Saint Jean. It was a special experience, mostly due to the charm of the old walled courtyard. Great parking. We had an excellent stopover at this hotel. We often prefer hotels new and spotless, but this was different. Breakfast outside in the courtyard was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odd64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stopped for 2 nights on a self-drive trip. We had the choice of rooms which was nice. The owner was very helpful and sent us on a fantastic walk up into the hills and told us some local history. I would come back to this Hotel if I visit the area again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Overnighted here on the way to the Côte d'Azur. Charming old building, very central location. Friendly welcome and courtyard parking (well worth 5 euros) much appreciated on arrival by tired travellers. Double room with wc & shower was quiet (on courtyard side), spotlessly clean, pleasingly decorated and furnished, smallish but more than adequate for 2 adults. Good, comfortable bed and bedding. Excellent location, right next to the Roman theatre and a short stroll away from a good choice of restaurants. It made the ideal break in a long trip - Orange is a lovely little town, easy to get to from the motorway. After visiting nearby Avignon the following day, was very pleased we opted for the much less frenetic Orange. Would definitely stop off here again, and look no further than the Saint Jean.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chryse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
#1 of 18 in Orange
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Glacier
Hotel Le Glacier
#2 of 18 in Orange
388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Orange Centre
Mercure Orange Centre
#3 of 18 in Orange
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Orange Centre
Kyriad Orange Centre
#6 of 18 in Orange
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arene
Hotel Arene
#4 of 18 in Orange
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Herbier d Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Jean

Address: 1 cours Pourtoules, 84100 Orange, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Orange
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Orange
Price Range: £67 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saint Jean 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air-conditioned charming hotel en the city center. 250 M from the Roman Theatre. Shaded terrace. Private parking. Free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing