We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and welcoming independent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed - as a family of four - just one night at the Cigaloun as a stopover on our way down to the South Coast from Brussels. Our stay, though, certainly felt like more than just a stopover. The hotel itself is small and in keeping with the other buildings in this picturesque provencal town. The rooms are comfortable, traditionally decorated, clean and with everything you need.

The gentleman who runs the hotel - presumably the owner (?) - is extremely, helpful and thoughtful, obviously eager to make our stay there as pleasant as possible.

Orange itself is a fascinating town to visit. rich in Roman history with the famous theatre, arc de triomphe and museum, there is a lot to see - certainly enough to fill more days than we had available to us.

All in all, we were very pleased with the hotel and destination and would highly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Torrich75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Lovely little hotel! The staff were extremely welcoming, the single room I stayed in was large and very well kept. The bathroom was recently renovated (excellent water pressure!) and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious, and there are many restaurants within a few minutes walk for lunch or dinner (and walking around Orange is like walking around in an Impressionist painting!). Cigaloun is well located for traveling.
I highly recommend this hotel, and would certainly use it again when I return to Provence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was the best night’s sleep that I had on a 12 day multi Country trip. The hotel bathrooms were updated and modern, the beds were comfortable and the hotel was quiet. The hotel courtyard with outdoor tables was beautiful. The breakfast was incredible, with the best warm croissants and the staff/owners were wonderful.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the court yard with the outdoor tables were very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Up_North09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 nights at Lou Cigaloun. The staff were so helpful and friendly, our room was large, beautifully furnished and very quiet. The breakfasts were really good. The hotel is reaaly well placed for the town centre, shops, cafes and sights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This is a really nice place to stay. Excellent in every way. Only pity is no restaurant for the evening meal, but there are plenty of options within a few minutes walk. The breakfast that is provided is really good and useful to have secure car parking. We use this hotel every time and are always pleased.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JNCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in May and had a great time. Centrally located in the historic center of Orange it was a perfect spot to stay while we explored the area. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was nice and recently renovated. WiFi was good in our room on the first floor. The staff were very helpful and recommended restaurants and things to do around town. Would stay here again the next time we are in the region.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpdeyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuelle G, Propriétaire at Hotel Cigaloun-Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thanks a lot for your comment, we'll welcome you with pleasure during your next visit.
Best regards
Emmanuelle et Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was small and unique. It is located in the quiet area in Orange, Provence. There were a few restaurants and bars located around the corner of the hotel. Wifi works very well in the rooms and lobby! They have a small selection of breakfast options.

There is NO elevator or life so you will have drag your heavy and big suitcases up a couple flights of stairs! It is an ancient hotel, so you will have to manually lock and unlock the rooms. The room is small and can barely fit three people!

They have a small terrace that shows how the vines and plants wrapped around the hotel. It is quite lovely, but keep an eye out for the bees and insects.

This is a nice getaway hotel for couples, not tourists.

Room Tip: Room in the first floor, no elevators
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelaround_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuelle G, Propriétaire at Hotel Cigaloun-Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear "Travelaround",

Thanks a lot for your comment.

Because our hotel is an old (but renovated) building, we cannot install an elevator and that's why, normally, every staff member shoud propose you to drag your luggage to your room. We apologize if we did not propose it to you.

For the moment we prefer our homemade key rings with beads and shells enbois rather than keycard. It is a good idea, we could ask our customers if they would prefer a modern facility plius but less charming than our current key rings.

Because of the room's size, all different, we have created 4 types of rooms ; standard, confort, space and suite room and we've indicated on the web sites the square meters.

We are very happy that you've appreciated our patio with all the vines,flowers and plants wrapped around the hotel and in our patio and because we don't use pesticide we have bees, butterflies and insects.

Thanks for the tittle of your comment, we'll be happy to welcome you an other time.

Best regards

Emmanuelle and Stephane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Glacier
Hotel Le Glacier
#2 of 18 in Orange
388 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Orange Centre
Mercure Orange Centre
#3 of 18 in Orange
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Orange Centre
Kyriad Orange Centre
#6 of 18 in Orange
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arene
Hotel Arene
#4 of 18 in Orange
166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Campanile Orange
Campanile Orange
#10 of 18 in Orange
160 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Orange Sud
Ibis Orange Sud
#5 of 18 in Orange
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cigaloun-Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cigaloun-Orange

Address: 4 rue Caristie, 84100 Orange, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Orange
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Orange
Price Range: £65 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cigaloun-Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming destination on the edge of Provence, Orange is the ideal place from which to start discovering the region: prestigious cultural sites, historical heritage, local products and wine-tasting.Ideally located at the heart of the old Roman city, not far from the ancient theatre, Hotel Lou Cigaloun welcomes you to its 17th century building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cigaloun-Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing