We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and comfortable rooms with outstanding hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hôtel Lou Cigaloun is a thoughtfully designed and exceptionally managed midrange hotel in a convenient location. It excels at virtually all aspects a traveler would look for from a three-star hotel - location, sanitation, sleep quality, and most of all, hospitality.

Lou Cigaloun is located just inside Blvd Édouard Daladier, a semi-circular traffic artery that surrounds the old town. Orange is small and flat, so anywhere in the old town can be a good location. The proximity to the Blvd adds the convenience for car travel. Gare d’Orange (train station) is about 1Km away, and the bus stop for Avignon across the post office at Blvd Édouard Daladier is 500m away. The main tourist sights of Théâtre Antique d'Orange and Arc de Triomphe are all within easy reach.

The entrance to the hotel leads to a fairly spacious reception hall and a cozy lounge. There are some artworks and antique-like pieces here and there, and an interesting wall painting can be seen at the staircase next to the reception. On the reception desk is a photo book that shows the renovation process of the hotel; it has pictures of the owners working on the rooms, and you can tell that the owners are personally attached to this place.

Indeed, the gentleman who took care of us from the check-in to check-out was among the finest hosts we had the pleasure of meeting with. He was cheerful, courteous, honest, efficient, fluent in English, and most of all, proactive. Upon check-in, he promptly produced a city map and quickly marked half a dozen recommended local restaurants, adding some explanations. It was June, the prime time for the biannual SNCF (French national railway company) strikes (one in June and another in November). Realizing that we will be leaving by train, he checked the SNCF website and found valid connections for us. The SNCF “real-time traffic information” (on http://www.infolignes.com/) turned out to be wrong, and the website would hold onto the wrong information right until the ghost train’s departure time, but that’s another story. As we started going to our room, he quickly grabbed both of our luggage and carried them all the way to the room upstairs, insisting he can handle both. Only when he opened the door for us did we realize that he gave us an upgrade to a lovely quadruple room. Upon checking-out, he offered to keep our luggage until the train time, before we asked. We could clearly see that he genuinely cares about his hotel and his guests.

Our room was not only lovely but clean, quiet, and intimate. It was furnished with firm and comfortable beds, a wooden desk and chairs that go nicely with the room decorations, two built-in closets, a flat-panel TV, and a number of books in French and English. The bathroom was spacious, impeccably clean, and thoughtfully built. Way too many independent hotels, in putting their rooms together, do not think of ergonomics or ease of use or what travelers would need. Here, mirror is at the right height, washbasin minimizes water spills, and toilet paper holder is at the right reach. The large shower booth has two shower heads; one extendable and another for rain shower. The booth also has a water-tight door, ribbed floor to prevent slipping, and a well-functioning drain. No mold, no water stains. Attention to details is apparent everywhere; even the room key ring is cute and artistic.

Simply put, Hôtel Lou Cigaloun is a midrange independent hotel at its best, a true crème de la crème. It is a product of great effort and love, and is meticulously maintained with superb hospitality. As the readers can see from our review score distribution, we reserve the full 5 points to only the truly outstanding. Lou Cigaloun is certainly one such hotel, and we fully recommend this gem that befits the charming atmosphere of Orange.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dessertmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed - as a family of four - just one night at the Cigaloun as a stopover on our way down to the South Coast from Brussels. Our stay, though, certainly felt like more than just a stopover. The hotel itself is small and in keeping with the other buildings in this picturesque provencal town. The rooms are comfortable, traditionally decorated, clean and with everything you need.

The gentleman who runs the hotel - presumably the owner (?) - is extremely, helpful and thoughtful, obviously eager to make our stay there as pleasant as possible.

Orange itself is a fascinating town to visit. rich in Roman history with the famous theatre, arc de triomphe and museum, there is a lot to see - certainly enough to fill more days than we had available to us.

All in all, we were very pleased with the hotel and destination and would highly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Torrich75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Lovely little hotel! The staff were extremely welcoming, the single room I stayed in was large and very well kept. The bathroom was recently renovated (excellent water pressure!) and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious, and there are many restaurants within a few minutes walk for lunch or dinner (and walking around Orange is like walking around in an Impressionist painting!). Cigaloun is well located for traveling.
I highly recommend this hotel, and would certainly use it again when I return to Provence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was the best night’s sleep that I had on a 12 day multi Country trip. The hotel bathrooms were updated and modern, the beds were comfortable and the hotel was quiet. The hotel courtyard with outdoor tables was beautiful. The breakfast was incredible, with the best warm croissants and the staff/owners were wonderful.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the court yard with the outdoor tables were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Up_North09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 nights at Lou Cigaloun. The staff were so helpful and friendly, our room was large, beautifully furnished and very quiet. The breakfasts were really good. The hotel is reaaly well placed for the town centre, shops, cafes and sights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This is a really nice place to stay. Excellent in every way. Only pity is no restaurant for the evening meal, but there are plenty of options within a few minutes walk. The breakfast that is provided is really good and useful to have secure car parking. We use this hotel every time and are always pleased.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JNCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in May and had a great time. Centrally located in the historic center of Orange it was a perfect spot to stay while we explored the area. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was nice and recently renovated. WiFi was good in our room on the first floor. The staff were very helpful and recommended restaurants and things to do around town. Would stay here again the next time we are in the region.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpdeyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuelle G, Propriétaire at Hotel Cigaloun-Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thanks a lot for your comment, we'll welcome you with pleasure during your next visit.
Best regards
Emmanuelle et Stéphane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Glacier
Hotel Le Glacier
#2 of 18 in Orange
391 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Orange Centre
Mercure Orange Centre
#3 of 18 in Orange
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Orange Centre
Kyriad Orange Centre
#5 of 18 in Orange
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arene
Hotel Arene
#4 of 18 in Orange
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Campanile Orange
Campanile Orange
#10 of 18 in Orange
162 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Orange Sud
Ibis Orange Sud
#6 of 18 in Orange
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cigaloun-Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cigaloun-Orange

Address: 4 rue Caristie, 84100 Orange, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Orange
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Orange
Price Range: £57 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cigaloun-Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming destination on the edge of Provence, Orange is the ideal place from which to start discovering the region: prestigious cultural sites, historical heritage, local products and wine-tasting.Ideally located at the heart of the old Roman city, not far from the ancient theatre, Hotel Lou Cigaloun welcomes you to its 17th century building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cigaloun-Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing