We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Reasonably Priced Home Base for Arles, Avignon, Cotes du Rhone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Citotel de Provence
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Reasonably Priced Home Base for Arles, Avignon, Cotes du Rhone”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

First, I must say that the owner and his wife were very nice and very accommodating to us. We arrived very late at night and when we called ahead that morning the owner gave us instructions about how to get into our room after hours. We arrived at the hotel at 12:45 am and had no majors problems getting into our hotel room.

We looked at this hotel because Rick Steves mentioned this in his France 2013 book and we were not disappointed.

Pros:
1) Price
2) Staff - very accommodating!

Cons:
1) Slight sewage smell in the bathroom when we arrived. After running water the smell seemed to disappear. We did not notify the staff because the smell went away.

I would gladly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    49
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
33
52
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Rick Steves recommended this place but the owner has sold it since his 2010 edition of Provence.

Good value and quite comfortable with a 10 minute walk to the theatre antique.

Basic accommodation with a low cost.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilford, New Hampshire, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our stay at the hotel Provence was; 1) well situated to explore the city of Orange, 2) a sweet room with local charm, 3) very attentive staff.
Although our room opened up onto the train station, we did not hear any noise with the windows closed. Parking was also not an issue. We enjoyed the charm of the building and its furnishings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin And Pamel... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is close to the rail station but that does not take away from its charm. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but very nice and clean. Breakfast is great -€8/person per day - all you can eat and superb croissants. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to all of the main attractions in Orange and restaurants are close by.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Northof49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

It is just in front of SNCF station, so convenient for train travelers.
On the other hand, it is a little bit far from city centre.
There is a small small pool.
Room was not so ggod, not so bad, average level.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 村松宏信
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Typical older European hotel in this price range. Rooms and baths are small but clean and having A/C was a bonus.. Right beside the train station, so convenient if traveling by rail. The owners are very nice and welcoming. Had a bit of trouble with the free WiFi- difficult to get access during peak usage hours. This hotel is about a very pleasant 10 minute walk from the city center and attractions Very quiet location at night. Orange is worth a visit- many historical attractions and very nice restaurants...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamlaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Convenient location by railroad station, ample free parking after business hours, pleasant hotel, friendly staff, quiet, clean and reasonable priced. In spite of the unpleasant weather, cold and rainy, Orange is worth a visit because of its well-preserved Roman theatre. It is also in close vicinity to Avignon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Citotel Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank LakeMonk41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Glacier
Hotel Le Glacier
#2 of 18 in Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
#1 of 18 in Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kyriad Orange Centre
Kyriad Orange Centre
#6 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ibis Orange Sud
Ibis Orange Sud
#5 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arene
Hotel Arene
#4 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Orange Centre
Mercure Orange Centre
#3 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citotel de Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citotel de Provence

Property: Citotel de Provence
Address: 60 avenue Frederic Mistral, 84100 Orange, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Citotel de Provence 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in a quiet area. An old house full of charm of Provence with modern comfort will welcome you to your discovery of Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Citotel de Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing