We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in Orange!!”

peperoncino di barbara
Ranked #6 of 105 Restaurants in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: un tres joli restaurant italien sur une petite place avec une fontaine en face du cinema d orange, une vrais cuisine italienne avec produit frais un acceuil chaleureus comme l italie demande,,,, je vous conseille le detour. cordialement
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
“Best food in Orange!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My girlfriend Cheryl and I found this restaurant on Trip Advisor. The food was spectacular!!! Great flavours of Italian and Provençal food. It's worth the find and I would urge everyone to look for this restaurant when in Orange. Great portions too and very well priced. The food is home made, cooked and served by Barbara herself. Well done Barbara!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    63
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Orange 10/7/13”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

After having several not very good for the money meals in the surrounding area we consulted Trip Advisor and found this place. I called and left a message to hold a table in very bad French and a few hours later arrived and found it had worked
The menu is small...like the restaurant but what really makes this place is Barbara herself. The food is simple but tasty and as we sat there it got very busy. Some other tables who all seemed to know Barbara were chatty with us and we left full and happy
The food is mainly pasta and the little sweet pots of Tiramisu etc are really good and finish off your meal well
Would go back in an instant!
Russell, John & NIkos
Manchester UK

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thehairymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Barbara, il mio amore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

After bypassing several other pleasant smelling eateries in Orange we stumbled upon Barbara's restaurant, glanced at the menu, and followed our noses inside (actually to the patio). Though this was the second-to-last night of our trip and we were quite exhausted, Barbara's mother's cooking brought us back to life as we dined on homemade pastas, pesto, buffalo mozzarella, poisson en papillote, and (my favorite) beef carpaccio with a hint of lemon. Though absolutely stuffed, satisfied, and perhaps sauced, we made the right decision and opted for dessert--chocolate cake and chocolate mousse. Both were made with loads of dark chocolate and, accompanied by espresso and homemade limoncello, combined for the punch we needed to roll ourselves home. The service, kindness of our hosts, and food were a memorable experience even amongst the numerous others we'd shared throughout southern Europe. Treat yourself to something delicious and go eat with Barbara!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagykoros, Pest, Hungary
1 review
“Tutto perfetto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

It was a really great meal served by a really kind woman.I enjoyed it so much, and also the lovely little square and surroundings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GabriellaNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
194 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Simple, inexpensive, and we loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is an unassuming little place, hidden away in one of Orange's little squares, just round the block from Lou Cigaloun, where we were staying.

It's a one-woman-band. Barbara takes your order, prepares your meal, and delivers it to your table. Her format is therefore limited by her own time, and basically comprises anti-pasti and pasta. We had a big sharing plate of all her starters, followed by a pasta dish each and dessert. It's all simple and inexpensive, and we loved it.

We would heartily recommend this little place to anyone who enjoys Italian home cooking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grey.dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed peperoncino di barbara also viewed

 

Been to peperoncino di barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing